We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were lucky to get a room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Century Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #169 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We were lucky to get a room!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

First of all, always book your hotel in advance when traveling to China: upon our arrival in Beijing, we went to two hotels and were told there were no vacancies when we knew there were. When we got to the New Century Grand Hotel, I told the ladies at the front desk that we had a reservation and that it was not my problem they lost it, we still needed two rooms. I don't like to tell lies, but I didn't want to spend the night outside! We finally got our rooms and they were really nice: beds and pillows were really comfortable, the room was spacious. The food at the breakfeast buffet was nothing to call home about. It was a nice hotel, but I think it was overpriced considering the bad location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
4
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Figtree, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our hotel room was clean and comfortable, although for a "non-smoking" room the cigarette smell was dreadful. However, the amenities were fine. Buffet breakfast in the Jade Cafe was good, with plenty of choice. Location of the hotel was a bit isolated, but that didn't really bother us as we were on a tour so for excursions we were collected and dropped off. Hotel Staff tried hard to please.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall I had a very comfortable and relaxing stay at the New Century Grand Hotel. True, it was not in a very exciting district. There was nothing I could find to do within several blocks. However, the subway station is one block away and from there one can access the Beijing Zoo, Tianneman Square, etc. The rook was spacious and clean, with a large comfortable bed, sitting area, desk, dressing area and huge bathroom. Everything in the bathroom worked as expected. The Gym facilities were modern, well-maintained and were open from 06:30 until 11:00 pm. The food in the Jade Cafe was buffet style and nothing to write home about. The Modern China Restaurant on the second floor was excellent. Overall, a good place to park for a couple of days as long as I didn't want to get out and wander around too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is located in a sparsely populated area of Beijing so many taxi drivers do not know how to get it there. Benefit is to be located near the metro station.
Hotel at a glance it looks very good. Large and spacious lobby. As for the room, and at first glance it looks very good. Big comfy bed with a view of a flat TV, a desk and a private bath with shower and tub. And that's where the story ends. Shower did not work, bathroom was quite dirty, with hair on the floor, dirt in corners, dirty carpet. Although the room has a terrace it is impossible to get to it because it is locked?! The windows do not open.
All in all, far from the 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanja1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
308 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was chosen for us by Nexus Holiday as we booked a tour with them. The hotel room is fine with nice bath with separate tub and shower. The niceities end there. Supposedly you can adjust the temperature in the room, but that is not true. I am in this room for 2nd night and the temp is 26 C or 82 F which is unacceptable for sleeping and getting ready in the morning. I called and they said air conditioning is broken, however it does seem that the lobby is cool. We cannot open windows in the room. They finally brought tubs of ice, so I can put my feet in ice and also a large bag of ice which they told me I should hug to my chest. In addition there is no hot water in the shower, but that was ok because I wanted to take a cold shower to cool me off anyway. However that leads me to believe that they turn off the hot water and air conditioning during the night so they can save a few pennies. There have been other issues with Nexus Holidays in that we were first sent to the wrong hotel and had to take an hour long cab ride to this hotel. Food in restaurant is adequate, although expensive by Chinese standards.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with window that will open so that you will not be Peking Duck roasted duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timesharetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

stayed here for my first time in Beijing, this is a rather large hotel but service was pretty good. However the shower did not drain well and the water came up over the door lip and got the whole bathroom floor wet.

Room Tip: got a nice corner room, with lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroldHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#98 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#75 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#133 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Grand Hotel Beijing

Property: New Century Grand Hotel Beijing
Address: Building 2, No.1 Caishikou, Xicheng District, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — New Century Grand Hotel Beijing 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Century Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing