We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be good or bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lama Temple (Yonghegong)

Lama Temple (Yonghegong)
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour
Ranked #12 of 1,603 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A series of beautiful pavilions comprise this Mongolian-Tibetan yellow-sect temple, which features an impressive fifty-four-foot high Buddha carved from one piece of Tibetan sandalwood.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be good or bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Depending if its your first or "N" visit to a buddhist temple in China you will find this very attractive and impresive (specially because of the huge buda statue inside of one of the several temples).
Or you will get bored saying "i've seen this already several times", it's not worth the money I payed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank elTalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,614
    1,080
    234
    19
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odense
Level Contributor
215 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A buddhist temple in the middle of Beijing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This temple is quite large but lacks the 'spiritual feel' compared to buddhist temples in Tibet. It's interesting to experience it, but quite frankly I wouldn't want to come back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ulrikb_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Devotion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Despite being a highly touristic place, you can feel a great atmosphere here. I went near the lunar year so lots of people visited and performed rituals. The giant buda is really incredible, but the structure might bore you if you have been to many buddhist temples already. i enjoyed the visit very much!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nekkogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

a feel of manchu, tibetian and mongolian architecture; still a place of worship for believers, and looks like parts of the temple is being used as residence for the monks. i was a bit troubled by the incense/joss stick burning. i hope one day, this will be replaced with something that's environmental & health friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank charmpsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lama Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having lived in Beijing for the past year and half, my wife and I decided to explore the Lama Temple recently.

The Lama Temple is a lovely active Temple that offers a variety of sights. Our favorite parts of the Temple:
1) Seeing monks participate in their rituals 2) The enormous sandal wood carved Buddah (reportedly the largest in the world carved from 1 tree) and 3) Observing visitors of the Temple praying and offering incense

We took the subway as the nearest subway stop is Yonghegong Station (line 2). The Temple is a 5-minute walk from the subway.

The entrance fee is 25 RMB per person (approximately $4.00 USD).

Bottom Line: If you are site-seeing in Beijing and are looking to add a cultural venue to your agenda I would recommend this Temple. In some aspects I prefer the Lama Temple vice the Temple of Heaven, because the Temple of Heaven is roped off. At the Lama Temple you can enter the various Temples making it more enjoyable experience. Enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lama Temple (Yonghegong) also viewed

 

Been to Lama Temple (Yonghegong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing