We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Garden Hotel
Ranked #1,793 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 5, 2007

A lovely hotel, very comfortable rooms - ours had an outlook of the courtyard and others in our group looked out into the gardens. Beds were the most comfortable of the trip. Breakfasts were very busy and staff were not able to keep up with the needs of the customers, the coffee machine broke down every day and we always had to go in search of cutlery and napkins. Food served was nice though and the 'egg chef' cooked a mean omlette. We were able to check in early which was a nice touch having just gotten off the train from Xi'an (11 hours) and able to freshen up and eat breakfast. Check out was a nightmare, very disorganised. Our tour guide received a phone call advising of all sorts of issues after check out such as missing keys and unpaid bills - everyone had paid and returned their keys the hotel just had no idea what was going on. Plus, the most disappointing thing was that there was no complimentary bottled water (as promised by the tour guide/operator) - we had to pay 8 yuan a bottle (special price). This was the only hotel on the tour where this occurred and it was supposed to be a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank tafawke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Grand View Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2007

stayed here for 3 nights as part of our kuoni tour - gorges of the yangtze.we were met at the airport by our tour manager Hong (who was excellent) and transfered to the hotel within 90 mins.this hotel is in the middle of nowhere so if you are not on an escorted tour i would stay away as there are no attractions within walking distance.the rooms were of a good size and clean . the buffet breakfast and restaurants were very good although the bar let the place down.only 2 draught beers and the decor was dull and outdated.our excursions included tiananmen square,the forbidden city,great wall(mutianyu section),summer palace and the temple of heaven.we arrived at the wall at 10.00 and had 2 hours to ourselves. it was very hot but not overcrowded.i would not advise arriving at midday with babies as some people did. the cablecar saved the legs and time.the walk around tiananmen square was very thought provoking.there are a few buildings closed in the forbidden city (including the palace of supreme harmony) but as there are so many others this did not detract from the visit.the kung fu show at the red theatre is worth a look. the hotel staff were polite and helpful. overall an enjoyable stay in beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SMCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed here as part of our Kuoni tour, China Highlights. Perfectly adequate hotel with a good breakfast. The breakfast rooms tend to be busy as everyone wants to leave at the same time but it's not a problem.

The swimming pool is around the back and changing rooms are in desperate need of renovation but apart from that no complaints.

Garden at the back is well worth a visit after breakfast.

It is some distance from the attractions so if you are not on a tour this might be a problem for you but it was fine for us.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Clean, tidy hotel but stuck out in the middle of nowhere. Some 'gardens' out the back of the hotel (reached through the hotel, follow the signs), entrance for the public is up the road and they have to pay. A few drinking establishments located outside by the more adventurous in our group and also a couple of restaurants, not much else.

Standard rooms adequate, miniscule bathroom with thin towels which did not get you dry but well enough equipped. We opened our curtains to find the biggest satellite dish in the Guiness Book of Records! Ghastly, no wonder the curtains were closed when we arrived in the middle of the day.

Buffet breakfast was fine, taken in 1 of 2 rooms. A staff member will indicate which one you should use with a grunt and a toss of her head. Didn't eat anything else there so no idea of standard. Waitresses looked bored and tired though not impolite particularly, didn't take much notice of the customers just cleared the tables. Find own table, bit of a scrum and you share with anyone/everyone else. Take something to leave on the chair when you've bagged your seat or someone else will sit there while you're getting your brekky!

On an organised tour so trips out were arranged already, if DiY I wouldn't stay here - uninteresting outside and location pretty much rubbish. All in all a fairly mediocre hotel, neither good nor bad, doesn't really stand in any area really.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SagaLout1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed at Grand View Garden Hotel in Beijing as part of our 14 days group tour of China in May from Alberta, Canada. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the renovated hotel rooms had met our travel expectations: clean room, clean bathroom, hot shower, and working air conditioning. The rooms were small and the lighting was dim. Hotel staff did not have good command of spoken English, but it did not create a big problem for us. ATM machine was available in the hotel lobby.The quality of the Western and Chinese buffet breakfast was average. Grand View Garden is a Chinese style hotel located in a typical Beijing neighbourhood on Nan Cai Yuan Street. There are shops and restaurants along the street. I don't believe there are any hotels in Beijing, a city of 16 millions people, that is within walking distance to tourist attractions. Traffic conjestion is a daily reality in any major Chinese city including Beijing. Taxi fare is cheap; the most we paid for a taxi ride in China was 26 RMB, which was less than $4.00 Canadian. Behind the hotel is the famous Chinese garden, Daguanyuan, based on the Chinese classic "The Dream of the Red Mansion," and entrance fee for hotel guests is free. It was very relaxing to visit the garden in the morning watching groups of local Chinese doing their tai chi and exercise routine. This hotel is pretty good value for someone who wants to be a traveller in China. If you want to be a typical Western tourist, look for an American style hotel in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 2CanadianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Must have stayed in a different hotel from the last review. We were here as part of a Kuoni tour and we were delighted with this hotel. Our room had recently been refurbished and was lovely with even a drinking water tap. Very clean and comfortable and a good size The garden was fantastic - really peaceful when you think you are in the middle of Beijing. The breakfast was excellent with a bril choice of either western of chinese food

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank debea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 days in the start of April, 2007. The hotel is nice-looking, but have some major flaws.
First, the hotel is situated a long way from the - ANY attractions, and so therefore you will have to grab a cab, which is no problem. But in a city like Beijing with heavy traffic problems during rush hour, it will take you a long time to get just a few km away from Grand View Garden Hotel.
Don't go here if you just NEED to have an english or western-like breakfast - the one at the hotel is absolutely terrible! And VERY, VERY expensive! I believe we payed 135 RMB for the two of us for 1 meal...! The food was cold, and probably not made today - only a few hundred metres north of the hotel is a little 'shop', selling some kind of pancake (chinese fastfood) out the window, which is very good. 2 RMB...
Furthermore, we weren't lucky with our room, which had a GRAND view to a giant satellite dish - and the tone in the windows made the room where dark, I guess we would just have loved to wake up with the sun in our eyes. On the other hand, the bathroom was fine, fine and there was always hot water available for making your own tea.
At last, the receptionists were indeed not very good at their job; not very helpful, not very good at english or worldwide finger alphabet, and, some of them, rather arrogant.
We never got to try the hotels swimmingpool.
Our advice: Do not choose this hotel if you're in Beijing on a tourists holiday, but it might be okay if you're there on business - still you will have to order breakfast from outside, though...

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Hjalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,476 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,628 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,469 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Capital International Airport
Days Hotel Beijing New Exhibition Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Garden Hotel

Address: No.88 South Caiyuan Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100054, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing South Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $60 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand View Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand View Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Garden Beijing
Hotel Grand View Garden
Grand View Garden Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing