We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent enough if attending a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Ranked #442 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent enough if attending a conference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed on the 12th floor of the hotel, with a partial view of the Bird's nest stadium. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was big enough for a bathtub. Housekeeping came every day but I don't think they own a vacuum cleaner as the carpet was dirty for the entire stay and had not been cleaned for a long time. There were peanut shells lying on the floor by the window and leaves on the carpet that had not been removed. The only problem I had with the room was that the room temperature seemed to be stuck on 24 degrees, which was a bit too warm for me and could not be lowered. I had to keep the window open for the whole stay but it was still too warm.

The staff were polite but did not speak very much (if any) English, which was a bit surprising since you would think they would have a lot of international travellers coming to the convention centre next door.

Breakfast was a decent choice of cold and hot cooked food.

There was a supermarket nearby, which was handy for buying water as none was provided in the room. At check in they asked if I would require anything from the mini bar. I said no and they came and locked it, which was a bit annoying as I would have liked to buy some things from the supermarket and keep them chilled.

There is free wifi connection in the lobby area but it is not available in the room. There is a cable provided in the room but this internet connection is charged.

It was a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest subway station, which I eventually managed to find. The concierge either couldn't explain the directions in English or didn't want to, and advised me that it was not possible to walk to the subway and that I should take a taxi.

If you are coming from the airport and don't have much luggage, take the airport shuttle bus on route 5 to the second stop, which stops near the back of the Crowne Plaza. The hotel is not far - a 10-15 minute walk to get to the front entrance. Most other delegates came by taxi and paid 4-5 times more than expected.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square (on the left side when coming out of the lifts) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tiny13_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    173
    84
    35
    8
See reviews for
5
5
9
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
383 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is a big hotel, walking distance to the bird nest at the Olympic site. It is connected to a major convention center via an air conditioned enclosed walkway. We had a room with two beds, each a bit wider than a normal twin bed. The beds were very comfortable. The water in Beijing from the tap is not drinkable, so bottled water is provided (and more is available nearby at an underground shopping mall, or a bit further in a large supermarket). Rooms have little refrigerators and are well equipped with all sorts of things that you don't find in hotels in the US. For example, each room as two gas masks that presumably would be useful in case of smoke from a fire.

The bathroom was sparkling clean, and of dimensions that were reasonable by standards in the US, but not large. There was a clothes line in the tub-shower. The TV was on cable, many channels, some English-speaking, and modern. We had the impression that the rug was relatively new because it shed pile when you moved your foot along it. The room was made up every day with fresh towels, but it was not vacuumed during our week-long stay (the pile kept accumulating). Our room was not non-smoking, but the faint smoke smell vanished after about a day. The room was quiet with minimal outside noise. The air conditioner worked.

Communication with the front desk was at times marginal. Typically at least one person behind the desk was able to communicate relatively easily in English, but most had more difficulty. Local directions are available. There is a money exchange in the hotel and a cash machine. The staff is friendly, polite and tries hard to be helpful.

The breakfast was remarkable, with a huge variety of offerings, larger than I have experienced anyplace else. There were cold cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, eggs fried to order, a variety of steamed vegetables, two kinds of juices (including orange), a great coffer machine that ground real beans and made good coffee, a substantial variety of fruits, danish, toast, noodles, rice, etc., etc. This was a remarkable spread, including offerings that would suit Japanese guests, included in the room price (for one person) and purchasable (about $12) for a second person in the room (at least that was the plan we had with the conference I attended). This breakfast buffet turned into a broad buffet for lunch and was also there as a buffet for dinner. Day to day changes in the offering were minimal, but the variety was so large that you never really had a problem with what to eat. Also in the hotel is a Chinese restaurant (that is good and will be separately reviewed) and a Japanese restaurant (that we did not try).

Internet is available in the rooms for a subscription charge, which is not very large and can be purchased by the minute. But, there is no warning when you reach your limit, so keep track of the time or you will be disconnected in the middle of what you are doing.

This was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during a conference and I think the hotel is too expensive. There is no bar, pool. Furthermore, no room to connect to the internet. Everybody is sitting in the reception area. The girls at the reception speak bad English. Rooms don't have complimentary mineral water for brushing your teeth. Next metro station is far away (about 1 km).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
329 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

hotel is very close to the exhibition center, price is acceptable incl.breakfast, interior needs remodelling, internet 60 RMB/day, very slow, breakfast mostly chnese, not much western selection, minibar very basic, close to north star shopping center and good restaurants, everything is in walking distance, nice jogging around a park opposite the entrance, notthe first joice but fits the purpose of a 3 day exhibition stay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a pretty tired hotel in the North of Beijing. It's close to the Olympic Park and conference centres, but it's a 45 min tube ride into the centre so it's not ideally located for sightseeing.

Both the hotel and rooms lack basic amenities that you'd expect in what is a fairly expensive establishment. There was no bar, gym or pool (some sites say that it has fitness amenities, but I was informed by the concierge that guests have to use those in the next door Crowne Plaza at a cost of around £10 per day). Rooms don't have complimentary mineral water for brushing your teeth (tab water isn't drinkable in China), something which the other three hotels on this trip provided. For this and other things the supermarket in the basement of the nearby North Star Times (tall black building) was a godsend.

I spent a bit of time in the Crowne Plaza next door and it's so much nicer. If you need to stay in this area and can get a good deal I'd recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJ_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel is bang in the middle of the Olympic area and part of the convention centre. There's no pool, no bar, nowhere to sit down in the lobby (if there's more than 4 of you) and nothing to do in the neighbourhood. It''s perfectly adequate if you're a conference delegate and the food is excellent but for a holiday it would be depressing.

Internet connection is £6/day.
Coffee in the lounge is £4.50/cup.

There was no minibar in my room altho there was a fridge (empty). No bottled water is provided and you are warned not to drink from the tap, so what you do if you arrive in your room late at night thirsty is a problem.

My advice is, get closer to the city centre, find a more interesting neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank arthawkBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

This is my second stay at this hotel and both times I have been nervous having read negative reviews. Again I was attending a meeting at the convention cente, so the location is good for that. I was grateful for the reviews that mentioned the supermarket. Come out of the hotel and walk to the right past the crowne plaza. Then there is an underground shopping plaza. The supermarket is amazing. All sorts of food, wine, beer, shampoo etc. Don't worry about anything you have forgotten to pack, you can get it here. There is also a chemist and some novelty shops. There is an icecream shop and a food plaza. The Xiabu Xiabu restaurant is a good pick. Sit at benches and order a beer. Then they bring a hot pot and your choice of meat, fish or tofu, and vegetables. Cook your own right at the table. A fabulous meal for less that $6.
The area has definitely come ahead since I was last there and a new shopping centre featuring designer labels is opening up. Meanwhile its fun to peruse the high end chinese fashion labels in the nearby department stores.
During my visit this time I took a taxi to the summer palace. I had a wonderful day enjoying a rare day of blue skies and sunshine.
The hotel room was fine. The bed was hard, but paradoxically comfortable.
The hotel restaurants are not so great (so I was glad to find the food plaza), and I gave up on breakfast after the third day.
I commented on my last trip about the unfriendly unhelpful staff. Sorry to say there has been no improvement there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#480 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#136 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Asian Games Village
Huiyuan Prime Hotel
Huiyuan Prime Hotel
#2,664 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Continental Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Property: North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Address: No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#252 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Star Continental Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Star Continental Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Grand Beijing
Hotel Continental Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing