We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“signs of old Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Beijing
Ranked #156 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“signs of old Beijing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

I stayed at this hotel because of a conference i was attending here.
The location was excellent, but the hotel is a bit old and dated, without particular charm to compensate. The hard beds were a real problem!
Although the food was good, the breakfast arrangements were a bit of a shambles. I wouldn't have classed this as 5 star as it is advertised.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank radicalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    93
    40
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
22
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2006

We stayed here for several nights as part of a tour of China, so as the hotel was included in the tour, I have no idea of the price and whether or not it is value for money.

The public areas are not as spacious as some hotels we stayed at in China, and the room was adequate rather than enormous. It was clean and well presented, however.

The staff were helpful, and I used the internet in the business centre without diffculty and at a reasonable price.

We only had a set "Western" dinner here, organised by the tour company, and this was a mistake as there was no choice and difficulties in getting alternative dishes. Buffet breakfast was very good though.

The neighbourhood is a building site at present, and Beijing at this time of year was full of pollution, especially dust blown in from the Gobi desert.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jj-the-jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

I stayed at the Plaza Hotel from 30 Nov 2005 till 5 Dec 2005, while on a business trip to Beijing. The hotel is rated 4*. The hotel is very modern, well kept and certainly very clean.

There is free high speed broadband available, both wired and wireless. The wireless beacon signal is somewhat odd. I could get the signal in one position, but if I were to move my laptop by just a centimeters, I would lose signal. Wired connection was great.

As for food availability in the hotel, if you want to have room service, there are effectively 2 Oriental dishes available only (wonton noodles and tempura), even though the menu lists much more,

As I stayed up till quite late each night to talk to people back in the UK, I often got hungry and became a regular for their late night wonton noodles. The noodles were OK, though I have had better in various parts of SE Asia.

The hotel has 2 restaurants, one serving Western food and another serving Chinese food. In the Chinese restaurant, which was open from 1200 till 1400 and 1700 till 2100, some items on the menu were always "sold out" though the items available were excellent.

Their laundry service was excellent. The stated "regular service" was return of clothes by 1800, though I got mine much earlier, by about 1300 for clothes that left my room at about 0930.

I paid approx GBP 38 per night for the room.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

We stayed at this hotel for three days and were very impressed. Very clean, comfortable and modern rooms. The food was uniformly excellent, particularly the breakfasts which were some of the best we've ever had - juices, fruit, toast, bacon, eggs, cereals, tea and coffee, plus cold meats and cheeses or oriental foods.I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Helpful?
21 Thank Gracie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Super House International
Super House International
#477 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Fangzhuang
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
#176 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panjiayuan
Beijing Guangxi Plaza
Beijing Guangxi Plaza
#195 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Beijing

Property: Plaza Hotel Beijing
Address: No.100 Dongsanhuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100021, China
Location: China > Beijing > Panjiayuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#125 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing