We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Garden Hotel
Ranked #2,192 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Been to Beijing many times and picked this hotel because of its proximity to Wangfujing Street and a short stroll to Forbidden Palace, etc.
Heaps of shopping and plenty to see and do out in the streets so no chance of being bored.
The hotel is excellent and we were very satisfied with the rooms and facilities. Our room was at the rear and very quiet.
Would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Rear room maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    77
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
23
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

No regret in staying here. The details are as follows:
1. Staff & service
All staffs were well-trained and their services were up to standard. Their response of service was fast and good which was comparable to Malaysia 5 star hotel. Most of the frontdesk staff can converse in English. Beijing map can be obtained from the concierge.
2. Room
My room was situated at 10th floor & twin sharing. The room was clean and comfortable. Standard amenities were provided. All snacks and beverages were charged except for the two bottles of complimentary water(250ml).
3. Location
The hotel has the best location since Wangfujing shopping and food street were just nearby. Subway Wangfujing(line 1) was also a few step away and can be accessed from the Oriental Shopping Mall(behind the hotel and next to bookstore). Other place of interest can be reached by taking the subway or the best is to join the local tour. The tour guide will fetch you directly from the hotel.
4. Food
Foods can be obtained in any corner of the area. Famous food street was just the other end of Wangfujing Street. While international restaurants, bistro and fast food can be seen along the street or in the shopping mall. If you plan for Beijing Roast Duck, I suggested BianYiFang Restaurant (in New World Shopping Mall) which can be reached by Chongwenmen subway(line 5). Assure to make a reservation since the sitting place was limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

For our first visit to Beijing in May, I selected to stay at this hotel mainly for its location and its relatively reasonable room rate. We were there for 5 nites and booked the standard room since checked beforehand only the standard room in this hotel has twin single beds which we wanted.
We took the metered taxi to the hotel from airport around midday which cost us total of 96 Yuan. As per advised in this travel website, we shown the print out of this hotel address in Mandarin together with the print out its location and the taxi driver has no problem in locating this hotel. It is located beside the Wangfujing Bookstore and just off the famous walking Wangfujing Street. Our returned trip from hotel to airport by metered taxi was also around this price.

Found reception staff friendly during the check-in. I tried to communicate with them in English but found they have poor command in speaking English. But observed they do understand when we spoke in English with them. Hence my friend who can speak simple Mandarin language later did all the talking with them on our pre-paid room booking. They requested for deposit of 300 Yuan and used my credit card for it and it was fully cancelled when checking out since we didn’t consume or take any of the chargeable items inside the room. We didn’t take our breakfast in the hotel since there are lots of food outlets around Wangfujing Street. But bear in mind that this walking street will be very quiet after all outlets closed around 10 pm, except for two McDonald’s outlets and a KFC outlet on this street.

Our room 801, which is a smoking room, has a window view of the road in front of this hotel and surrounding buildings in front of this hotel. Found the room and washroom was clean. Housekeeping was good where towels and hand towels were changed every day. Washroom amenities provided are very well sufficient including the chargeable ‘novelty’ items kept inside the washroom. 2 small water bottles FOC were provided inside the washroom every day. The other bigger drinking water bottles, other drinks and some tidbits inside the room are chargeable and noticed they were the usual hotel price standard. We got our supply for our water and drinks from nearby shops as they were cheaper. There is a very small wardrobe cabinet, a small writing table where the flat screen TV is also placed, a small fridge stock with chargeable drinks and a chair inside this room. A collapsible baggage rack is also provided.
For accessing free internet wifi in the hotel lobby, get the connection password from hotel reception counter. Found the free internet wifi signals in our room very weak and good access to internet connection inside the room is through the room provided LAN cable.
The beds are hard and it took me sometimes to get use to this type of bed. At night I always felt asleep after lying down on the bed due to my tiredness from walking the around the various tourists places and in subway stations/interchange. We walk a lot every day since we explored Beijing tourists’ places of interest on our own by mostly using subway trains and also most of these tourists’ places of interest are huge. Checked out the spa services at basement level for foot reflexology since my legs were very sore and tired but found outlet was locked up. Found two ‘nearby’ foot reflexology outlets, walked up north to the end of this walking Wangfujing Street until the roads junction. At this junction, turned to the right side and walked along Jinyu Hutong road. Less than 100 meters from the junction there are 2 outlets where they are across the road from each other.
The location for the famous night stalls which sell these ‘exotic’ foods are also located at this north end of this walking street, turned to your left side into Jinyu Hutong road and you can see the uniform colour stalls along this road.
If you continue to walk straight up after this junction into the non-pedestrian Wangfujing Street, less than 100 meters is the St Joseph's Cathedral. The Sunday English mass is at 4 pm.
What I like about this hotel is its close proximity to Wangfujing subway station and access to it is via one of the entrance of nearby Oriental Plaza Mall which will lead you to this underground station. This was very convenient to us as we travelled around mostly by the subway trains.

Overall find this hotel more of a 3-star rated hotel with average services but with clean room/washroom, good LAN connection and its close proximity to Wangfujing station, near to the popular Tiananmen Square & Forbidden City.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have view of the street in front of hotel and surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bencj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent location, only 10 meters to Wangfujing shopping street. Some taxi drivers might not recognize the hotel, tho. Its's exactly behind Wangfujing Bookstore and right next to Grand Hyatt. Rooms are small, bathroom are small but clean. Beds are hard, carpets are old and most furniture looks outdated, looks like 3ish stars hotel, and they put condoms in the bathroom. The housekeeping are ok tho. Heater/aircon control a little confusing, room can be very cold at times due to outside weather. Breakfast are not included but eating outside is much better. There's free wifi but during my time, there's a time when it's off. Only 1 or so English TV channel. Doorman & check in staff speak little English but ok. If you wanna have The Great Wall tour, I suggest go outside and tour agencies on wangfujing instead of using the one in the hotel, it's twice the price. Tiananmen looks like in walking distance, but better take taxi I think, taxis are quite affordable.

Tips: if you want the room facing the street/outside, ask for smoking room.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Syifa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and twelve year old daughter for 3 days after returning from Xian where we were visiting my husband's family. We thought we'd do things in style for the few days that we were in Beijing. It is a very nice hotel with a beautiful lobby and the bedroom was very clean and comfortable. It was in an excellent location just on the corner of Wangfujing Street, one of the main shopping streets in Beijing and only about 10 minutes walk to Tiananmen Square. We didn't go for the breakfast option and went out for breakfast, so can't comment on that. My husband who is Chinese did most of the dealing with reception etc. Of course they would speak English too but I left all enquiries etc. to him! They seemed to be very pleasant. I would definitely recommend this very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandMarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent location. One minute walking to the Wang Fujin walking street, and within 8-10 minutes walking distance to Forbidden City.

The Concierge staff was very helpful.

Room is nice and facilities is adequate for the price that I paid. Comfortable bed, hot shower, air cond, WiFi free....

Overall Very Good!

Room Tip: No swimming pool. Spa service is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeijingTrip2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Mainland, BC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Excellent location right beside the Beijing Bookstore and the Wangfujing pedestrian only street. It is also steps from the Oriental Plaza, a huge indoor shopping mall with large food fair inside. A 10 minute walk to Tiananmen Square, Mao's Mausoleum, Chinese Museum of History and the Forbidden City. Also steps away from the Wangfujing Metro Station. The hotel requires a 300 Yuan deposit upon check in but refunded on check out if one does not make use of the drinks in the room. My room has a window but it is deceiving as it actually looks out onto the central courtyard housing a restaurant and not outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the courtyard restaurant and not the street. These rooms are probably quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShilohinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xin Tian Di Hotel
Xin Tian Di Hotel
#2,628 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#109 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
Wangfujing Ocean Hotel
#1,817 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
East Sacred Hotel
East Sacred Hotel
#1,938 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#63 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Garden Hotel

Property: North Garden Hotel
Address: No.218-1 Wangfujing Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,192 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your North Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Garden Beijing
North Garden Hotel Beijing
Hotel North Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing