We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Ranked #85 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Park Plaza Beijing Science Park and always find it to be very comfortable. The rooms are clean and quiet. The restaurants offer a wide variety of choices. My favorite was the Kobe. I don't ever eat Sushi while traveling in China but had it twice here and it was excellent.

There are a few things they could do that would make the stay better:

1. There's only 4 English TV stations. If they could add Discovery Channel, Travel Channel, National Geographic, etc., it would make the few hours you have to be in your room much more enjoyable. You can only watch so much MSNBC, BBC, etc. ESPN would also be appreciated.
2. The hotel was very warm (the outside temps were in the 90's while I was there). For some reason, the AC was not working in the restaurant level or in my room.
3. The bed in my room was very hard. It takes a while to get used to it but it felt as if the mattress was very thin and there was a board directly beneath it.

Room Tip: Our company is headquartered in Beijing and their negotiated rate was less than we could find via th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 427 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Hotel facilities include bar, Japanese and Chinese restaurants, and the bistro Cafe 25. Staff were friendly and generally provided very good service, with many having good English skills. The breakfast choices were excellent with a variety of both Chinese and Western selections.
Location is handy to universities, the metro, 7/11, pharmacy, ATMs etc. Free in-room wifi is available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalinya_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Park Plaza Science Park hotel was a good choice for our needs. The rooms were adequate, price competitive, and location convenient. Their we're a few inconveniences because the lobby was under construction. Also, there was no heat so the hotel staff brought a heating unit to our room. The Internet was very inconsistent and the password changed daily. The restaurant and bar menus were extremely expensive. Fortunately, there was a bakery around the corner which was perfect for a bite to eat in the AM. The hotel staff was outstanding! They availed themselves to any of our needs. "Bobby" was exceptional! He followed through with pleasure to all of our requests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popcorncjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Location: I stayed here because of work, but if I were coming to Beijing for sight-seeing, I would not stay here again. It's a solid hour from here to any of the main attractions, by subway or by taxi. It's pretty much only close to the Summer Palace and the Olympic Park.
If you don't have cash to exchange with the front desk, there's an ATM to the right of the hotel. There's a 7-11 a few minutes more to the right of the hotel where you can buy water and other basics, with the subway station just a few minutes beyond it. If you want to buy a Yikatong card though, you'll need to go across the street to the "G" entrance. There's plenty of breakfast food and quick noodle places to the right and directly across the street.

Room: It's like $70 for a "four star" hotel, but there's European four star and then there's China four star. Be aware of this. This hotel looks good, but the walls are shoddily constructed, and you'll totally be able to hear your neighbor's TV every night and morning. The hotel has fancy little doorbells and electronic signals for "do not disturb," but you will also hear these doorbells, along with the muttered conversations your neighbor is having with whoever is at the door. The bathtubs are all bafflingly elevated off the floor, which means that *every* time you lift your leg to get in the shower, you don't go high enough and end up banging your knee on the edge of the tub. Every time. This happened to everyone in my party.

Language: I'm Asian so I look Chinese, but I am definitely Asian American. This is one of those places where communicating in Chinese is more effective, but speaking English will get you more respect. It's actually pretty shocking how stark the divide was. They do have a guy on staff who speaks English, the well-known Erik (see below), but I didn't always see him on staff. Everyone else will know basic English, but you won't be able to get by super well with just that.

Services: Housekeeping, weirdly, makes their rounds early in the morning before most people are up, but when you have a plethora of labor, what does it matter? I know that they vacuum because I've seen them do it, but the carpet still has that downtrodden quality of motel carpets, where you're never quite sure if they're clean. They have a beauty salon (never saw anyone in it), decent gym (treadmills, weights, a mat, an exercise ball, elliptical-like things), a massage parlor ($108 RMB for an over the clothes massage, more for the oil ones), front desk money changing (very helpful), and an in-house cafe (overpriced but decent when you really just need a meal). Voltage adapters and converters/transformers are available on request. Heating, as I learned, is state-controlled in China, meaning when the heat is on, it's on, with the same deal for the A/C. That means that if it is happens to be ridiculously warm outside when it's still wintertime, _the only thing your vents will put out is heat._ I learned this the hard way, when they told me my options were to open the window (no way when I could see the smog just looking across the street) or borrow a fan (available on request).

I never had trouble getting a cab with the help of the concierge, and they were always willing to help translate with the Beijing cab drivers, whom nobody understands (including Beijing-ers).

They provide 2 free bottles of water, which is nice, and they replace all of the free toiletries (toothbrush, comb, sewing kit, cotton balls) every day if you remove one, even if you haven't used it. This meant that by the end of the trip, I had combs on every conceivable flat surface and had amassed dozens of cottonballs and Q-tips. I used the free toothbrush once, but it tasted weirdly chemical, and I just used it to clean my shoes after that.

Random cute note: they gave my friend a cake on his birthday. It took us a while to figure out that they had his info from his passport, but it was sweet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caywow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had an adequate room that met our needs. The Concierge were all very friendly and attentive to our requests. The hotel is an easy walk to the subways which we found were an excellent way to navigate the city. The buffet breakfast was fine - a little pricey so would recommend you eat in a restaurant for better value. Nice restaurants nearby. Most of the staff seemed to manage english enough to get by. Loved Beijing!

Room Tip: you can't change the temperature in the room which is kept on the cool side (great for sleeping...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A group of us including 48 children aged 10 - 17 years old stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. The staff were extremely helpful, facilities great and the staff were extremely understanding about the needs of younger clientel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Overall a quite OK hotel which looks quite fancy. The shortcomings are on the operation side.

Quite far away from the downtown area.

They could not provide me with a non-smoking room when I arrived which I found to be very bad. To change to a non-smoking room I had to contact the front desk several times the day after and a got different responses when it would be possible. Once I got a new room that rooms smelled very bad and I had to change once again.
Once I received a new room it was quite good.

Most of the staff could not speak English very well. Many could speak English, but on just a very basic level. This was a big limitation in general.

Quite many smaller restaurants in the vicinity, including several (more expensive) restaurants inside the hotel. Two examples are Pizza Hut and KFC.

It's extremely difficult to order a taxi to the hotel, and they have to send a guy out on the street to try to grab one for you, and this sometimes took 30 minutes in the morning and made the morning schedule very unpredictable.

A few minutes walk to the closes subway station.

A big breakfast buffet which was OK. However, if you want a European or American kind of breakfast, there's not that much to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattiasLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wudaokou
Vision Hotel
Vision Hotel
#144 of 6,531 in Beijing
141 reviews
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#68 of 6,531 in Beijing
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Wudaokou
Liaoning International Hotel
Liaoning International Hotel
#227 of 6,531 in Beijing
126 reviews
Madian
Jingyi Hotel Beijing
Jingyi Hotel Beijing
#3,214 of 6,531 in Beijing
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Beijing Science Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Beijing Science Park

Address: No.25 Zhichun Road, Haiden District, Beijing 100191, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#55 Business Hotel in Beijing
#75 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $73 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Beijing Science Park 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Beijing Science Park features 388 well appointed guest rooms including 28 suites, providing contemporary, comfortable accommodation. 5 Outstanding restaurants and bars present the best of Asian and Western cuisine and for business there are 12 fully-equipped meeting rooms. Conveniently located in Zhongguancun - Beijing's Silicon Valley, surrounded by scientific institutes, universities and hi-tech companies and within easy reach of many of Beijing's cultural and historical sites. Easy access to the CBD, China National Convention Center and Beijing Capital Airport, 2 minutes walk to Zhichunlu subway station lines 10 and 13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Beijing Science Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park Hotel Beijing
Beijing Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing