We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Presidential Beijing
Ranked #165 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fine, but nothing special.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here on a 10 day business trip in 2012.

My room was a double, with two big beds. Very, very, comfortable beds and duvets/pillows. Bathroom was clean and all worked. The room had a desk, all worked, internet was ok. Some stains on wall, carpets, it was a bit tired overall, but everything was fine.

Hotel breakfast was good, plenty of choice, fresh fruits, cereals, Chinese, Western etc.

Staff were ok, neither rude nor super friendly.

Location wasn't great, but then Beijing is so big you need to take transport to most places anyway, so it was ok. I had a car so never had to use public transport, so can't vouch how far the metro is. There was no problem getting a taxi.

Overall the hotel was fine, if I was put there again it'd be ok, but it wouldn't be my first choice. This year I stayed in the Chan Ang Grand Hotel, and it was preferable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    123
    78
    30
    7
See reviews for
20
54
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Overall the staff were extremely courteous, polite and helpful to a high maintenance traveler like myself. As other travelers said it's close to the subway and markets, and priced very well. I will say that I wasn't real impressed by the restaurants, but the spa was quite nice, and the lobby was very impressive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid corner rooms, I got one on the 9th floor and my laptop and iPad couldn't reach the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awb2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is not the same as I remember it. Welcoming friendly staff, new facilities such as the Spa Center and the newly renovated executive lounge. Excellent value and great service from the hotel's various restaurants. The wifi service is excellent. And that all impressive lobby lounge.....completely transformed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 664John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel with a group of fellow adoptive families in May, 2012. Close to international bank, excellent supermarket, and subway which is all very convenient when you have just adopted a little one. It is slightly run down, but the reason we have rated it "very good" is that they did look after us very well thanks to our guide and Group Leader, upgrading us to a suite when we had health issues with our baby. If travelling to adopt or with children, we can highly recommend this hotel as being conveniently located and suitably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank canadianaussie707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We liked the location, close to subway and easy walking to shopping (both bargain and upscale). We ended up needing a hospital and there was and international hospital about 20 min away which was a life saver. Sometimes it was difficult communicating with staff, but they were always helpful. One of our rooms was not clean, but that was quickly taken care of. The kids spent hours in the pool, which was great.
The lobby is very nice, but you're not allowed to sit there unless you are ordering something. There is a small seating area at the door with about 4 seats and they are usually taken. If you're waiting in the lobby for someone be prepared to stand.
Explore the surrounding neighbourhood, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelandnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The only reason to stay there is if you MUST be close to western Beijin. Traffic is terrible, pick a hotel in area you want to be...

The hotel used to be nice, the lobby is grand, but it is really run down. The staff is very friendly, and tries to be helpful. There are limits though. The biggest issue is people smoking.

No smoking signs mean nothing. People smoke everywhere. A surprisingly high number of guests smoke in their rooms. They keep the door open to bring in the fresh air from the corridor! Really unbelievable.

When we arrived, we saw at least four rooms before settling. I am sure the fourth room was just as smoky as the first one (all on non smoking floors...) but we probably got used to the smell.

The hotel has all the four star amenities, minibar, safe, bathrobes, nice amenities, etc.

The concierge was very helpful.

They have a great buffet restaurant with asian and western specialties. Great breakfast.

A plus is a very large pool...

Room Tip: Asking for non-smoking room wont be enough. Insist on seeing as many rooms as needed before you set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

i was in this hotel for 9 nights and i think they are trying to be better. at first when i saw the negative comments about this hotel i thought i cant stay there and i must change my hotel when i go there but when i arrived there everything has been changed and i saw a perfect improvement in the rooms and buildings .rooms were clean and beautiful .anyway i suggest everybody to residence in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms in the north hotel(6 floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dr_rmstomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#111 of 6,520 in Beijing
349 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
#146 of 6,520 in Beijing
478 reviews
Xizhimen
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
#211 of 6,520 in Beijing
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
InterContinental Beijing Financial Street
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#34 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,686 reviews
Yuanda Road
Four Points by Sheraton Beijing, Haidian Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidential Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Beijing

Property: Presidential Beijing
Address: No.9 Fuchengmenwai Road Xicheng D,, Beijing 100037, China (Formerly "Presidential Plaza")
Location: China > Beijing > Xidan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#133 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Presidential Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Beijing Hotel Beijing
Presidential Hotel Beijing
Beijing Presidential Hotel
Presidential Plaza Hotel Beijing
Presidential Plaza Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing