We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Business Travel”
Review of Hotel Kunlun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kunlun
Ranked #75 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for Business Travel”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel November 6, 11, and 14. It was clean and the staff was helpful. I also enjoyed the buffet breakfast. On the flip side, every time I left my room the door key would not work. The first night I was exhausted and found that my key didn't work. After three trips to the front desk, they decided the lock was broken. Maintenance man and more staff came to my room but it could not be fixed. It was finally fixed the next day but again the door key would not work. Very frustrating. Also, the pool was under renovation. That was disappointing. Overall, I was satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlight1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    340
    75
    12
    3
See reviews for
6
22
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had stayed in the hotel for 6 days in mid Nov, before our trip, I did send 2 enquiries to the hotel web site to check if the pool, gym and sauna were under renovation, there wasn't any feedback at all even we were back to our own country, that's made us really disappointed! For the room, the floor was not clean at all, our slippers were stained with many many hairs everyday, a bit disgusting! However the bathroom was spacious and equipped. Breakfast in the club house at the top floor has a glorious view but the taste of food was not up to standard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for the first time since Landmark and Guanming was sold out.
Overall, it is OK.

(Probable discomforts)
1) Very dated building
2) 1st floor (around breakfast area) was under construction and was surrounded with awkward "asbestos"-ish smell.

(Comforts)
1) Nice espresso. You should ask the waiter to bring you one rather than serving yourself. Somehow there is a difference.
2) Nice "open-air" and bright breakfast area
3) Equipped with many elavators. You only wait for 1 minute most of the time!
4) Walking distance to the mall (facing the hotel), Fat Burger, Starbucks, etc,
5) Last not but least.. They did not ask for a deposit!!!

I will denifely choose this hotel if Landmark is sold out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constant Traveller
Level Contributor
412 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in October 2013 and paid about 750RMB (US$140) a night. It is an excellent choice and I have no reservations about recommending it to you. The building is modern, perhaps 20 years old, and the hotel itself is huge -- i'd guess 500+ rooms. The lobby is giant, with a convenient cafe for sitting and waiting; the check-in desks are on the left and the staff does a fine job there. Walking further to the left, there is a very large restaurant which also serves as the breakfast buffet. There are so many elevators you never have to wait, and there are other restaurants, spas and amenities throughout the facility. The number of staff waiting to serve you is eye-popping -- there are people in their black suits everywhere, just waiting to smile at you and help. It was quite impressive.

One minor item about the food -- the breakfast buffet is large, but it never changes. I stayed for five days and the same types of food were offered again and again. It's also difficult to get a cup of coffee -- how about just putting the pot on the table, and I'll pour it? No, can't do that....

The room itself is medium-sized, well-decorated and easy to use. The access to electricity was a little bit difficult -- crawling under the desk again -- but that's a function of the slightly older building. Service was great, the bathroom was clean, functional and nicely appointed; and about the only complaint I might have is the lack of a good selection of TV channels. Come on guys -- no CNN? No BBC? Lets get with the program, you know?

But other than that, this is a good choice for a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the first hotels which was open to foreigners who visited Beijing. Luckily we reserved a room early enough to get a good price. The location is very good - near the embassy area and within walking distance to the metro station. The Jiayi market is also nearby. The interior design is quite luxurious and accouring to my friend, the chief cook of the hotels restaurant was the cook for the headquarter of the government. However those are some of the biggest strengths; other than that, this hotel does not particularly stand out in any respect. All in all: Very goof value for money.

Room Tip: Book early enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jukka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Asked for a non smoking room and King bed. It looks like it was newly furbished and everything is still new. Bed is big and comfy, not the normal Asian size king bed.

Breakfast spread is huge and reception/concierge is very helpful with information and cab is easy to hail at anytime of the day.

30mins walk to Sanlitun Village or RMB15 on cab ride. There isn't a local attraction nearby so if you're there for tourist itinerary, find another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Located in the Chaoyang District, not too far from the airport. Many other large hotels close by. Nicely furnished rooms (I stayed twice within a couple of days in Beijing and chose to come back to Kunlun Hotel). Very attentive & friendly staff. I also went to their spa, which also provided a very good service. Breakfast a little light on Western style food, but when one travels one obviously needs to be a bit flexible, so I don´t want to hold that against them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmopolitoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#48 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#31 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Boyue Beijing Hotel
Boyue Beijing Hotel
#129 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Yansha
Guangming Hotel
Guangming Hotel
#164 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kunlun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kunlun

Property: Hotel Kunlun
Address: No.2 Xinyuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#65 Business Hotel in Beijing
#154 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kunlun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 589
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kunlun is China's first 5-star hotel, fusing modern luxury with Chinese hospitality. As Jinjiang International Hotels' northern region flagship property and a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts LVX collection, Hotel Kunlun offers a warm dose of Chinese hospitality combined with international experience:-Over 500 guestrooms and suites catering to both business and leisure travelers -9 dining outlets offering cuisines from a plethora of flavors from around the world -4 lounges to kick back and relax -15 banquet and meeting rooms -1 800sqm grand ballroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kunlun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunlun Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing