We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of The Kunlun Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kunlun Beijing
Ranked #79 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to avoid traffic jams in Beijing, book yourself in this luxurious hotel. It will take about 20 minutes to get to Terminal 3. Situated in the east of the capital means you are at close proximity to the business centre and the majority of sights as well. Excellent services, the rooms are clean and best of all, there are so many restaurants with different international cuisines to choose from. free wifi in the lobby, a rotating restaurant at the top gives you a good view of the city, not bad at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnabas_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Barnabas_12

Thank you for spending your time and sharing your Hotel Kunlun experience with our friends at Tripadvisor.com. We are fortunate with our location being close to the airport but also quite centrally in Beijing. We are also glad that you enjoy our excellent services and multiple selection of delicious cuisines. We look forward to be of service should your future travels bring you back through the capital.

Best regards

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Nov 28, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    340
    75
    12
    3
See reviews for
6
23
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

After spending many lunches and dinners during my trips to Beijing at the Kunlun I decided to stay there on my last trip to Beijing.

I was not disappointed. Friendly service from doorman, to front desk and ..... where ever I met some staff. It was a great start.

the room was very spacious with a bathroom bigger than most hotel rooms. Separate WC area, big shower cabin, a big tub and lots of space to walk around.

Then bed was comfortable and I slept very good.

The room has a desk separated from the main room with a big enough desk, internet and office supplies in the drawer. Very nice space to do some work. Only downside is that you can't see the TV from there.

I will be back and enjoy the hospitality of the Kunlun again.

Room Tip: Great hotel, with friendly and attentive service. Large rooms with everything you need. All that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YanXunLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear CW-Chuba

Thank you for choosing Hotel Kunlun Beijing in your previous trip, and most important of all, sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our room and facilities, as well as the high-level service provided by our friendly staffs. I also recommented that you could try taste our delicious food from our a series of Chinese and Western restaurants on your next staying at Hotel Kunlun.
Once again, thank you for your support and hopefully to see you soon again in Beijing.

Best regards

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Nov 28, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely upscale Chinese hotel, moderate english spoken, rooms were large and luxurious, service exemplary. Breakfast wwas extremely expensive and not worth the price; the mall across the road has a food court where we ate much cheaper. Dinner buffet was bland and overcooked compared to most Chinese restaurants on the trip that served excellent food. There are excellent Chinese restaurants around the corner from the hotel that are recommended. Location was superb as hotel was on subway line 10, making it easy to go anywhere in Beijing without facing traffic.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mary C

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, Chineses restaurants as well as our convenient location in the city. However, it is regretful to learn that our breakfast and dinner buffet did not turn out to meet your expectation.

We really believe that every day should start with a magnificent breakfast, and we do receive many positive comments from our guests regarding the variety of choice offered on our breakfast. From Continental breakfast options, such as cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, cereals and pastries, to American breakfast, Chinese breakfast, Japanese breakfast and Southeast of Asia breakfast, everything is freshly prepared and of the highest quality. It only cost RMB193 compared to RMB 240 in Westin just opposite kunlun

Regarding the dinner buffet you mentioned, we always strive to have the best and varied selection of cuisine on our buffet. Seven theme of cuisine could be tasted through seven days of week. I have already passed your comments to the chef and discussed where improvement can be found.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to stay with us again during your next visit to Beijing.

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Oct 26, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very good business hotel, certainly worth 4 1/2 star. Stylish, old grandeur, real big rooms and many good restaurants.
I stayed at the 17th floor. The rooms (also colleagues at floors 14, 15, 16) were big. Nice "study" in the room at the entrance with desk, big bedroom (good bed) and real big bathroom with bath, separate big shower and separate toilet. Very convenient. But the airco in the rooms only work worked to heat the rooms up (second half October), while the room was really getting hot.
Excellent breakfast with enormous choice for all tastes and nationalities. Restaurants (4 Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Vietnamese, international) were good but expensive. Good bars. Excellent club restaurant. Sauna, gym.
Unfortunately, renovation works were ongoing causing some noise but not too much and not at night. Still, the swimming was closed due to renovation. Sauna, massage available.
Excellent hotel for experienced travelers demanding more than average service and luxury.
The only real minus point was the limited wifi availability (basically only lobby/ground floor) while also the wired internet in the rooms was really slow. Should be better above F17, but not tested.
Still recommended!

Room Tip: Certainly during renovation choose upper rooms for optimal comfort (17 and above). Also for better I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarmSittard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mr. HarmSittard

Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing the Hotel Kunlun. We were especially pleased to hear your feedback on our breakfast and the room we chose for you.

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed in the noise of renovation . We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused in your previous stay. In order to meet the changing needs of the guests, Hotel constantly updated equipment and facilities to make more easy environment and relaxed atmosphere in the future. It will be greatly appreciated for your understanding and tolerance. We hope that you will experience the changes in the near future.

Regarding the net speed you mention, we have already contacted with telecom companies to find a way to solve this problem, unfortunately, the earlier reported by press to show many enterprise and individuals in china are suffering from the fake net high-speed. We try our best to look for solutions to this.

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Beijing

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Oct 25, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This is as good as it gets in terms of quality and value. Large luxurious hotel with great attention to detail, plush towels, choice of pillows, extraordinarily friendly service, breakfast at the level of the Paris Ritz (included in price), smiles everywhere.... all for nothing in terms of price. Highly recommended. Two drawbacks that do not change the opinión: terrible coffee and smell of smoke even in non-smoking rooms but this is normal in China.... don't think twice, stay here in Beijing!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Gazap0

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Kunlun Beijing in your previous trip, and most important of all, sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast selection, as well as the leisure facilities around the hotel.
Yet it is sorry to learn that you are not completely satisfied with your stay. We have already notified Housekeeping departments to ensure that every guest room is properly maintained and hopefully we can prepare a more comfortable environment for you in your next visit.
In the meantime, if there is any further question, or any assistance needed, please feel free to contact us directly.
Once again, thank you for your support and hopefully to see you soon again in Beijing.


Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Oct17, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Arrived jetlagged to room in early afternoon trying to grab an hour's sleep- found noisy due to building work on floors above. I was moved at no extra cost to higher class room with beautiful views over parkland. Found one blackout curtain did not draw properly advised staff at desk. 1/2 hr later returned to room to pick up something: they were already fixing it. As I was getting something from my luggage one of the ladies politely asked me for my room access card and checked I was who I said I was- this is impressive attitude to security!
Asked for a latte coffee over breakfast- a weak cappucino arrived but after explanation briskly removed and a good effort ( for PRC) coffee produced. Staff all really friendly and helpful. I had to check out one night early to catch different flight- they agreed to refund part of night (though unlikely would get anyone in room) which I had not expected but then they noted hotel had been paid for by my employer and politely advised the refund would go directly back to employer. Again that is excellent policy.

Dont order tea in lobby it is extremely expensive at RMB140 I could not believe it- across the road at tea rooms I paid rmb 50. drinks like gin and tonic were about rmb50 9even thats expensive but this is directly opposite an international hotel) so I cant understand this price! also dont order the chinese red wine by the glass it is truly awful :-)

breakfast is excellent even the pastries!!! the room v comfortable with cable access fast internet, central swithch by bed turns off all the lights in the rooms.. my room had expansive views over the park also from the bath!!! and you could watch tv in bath though I didnt try that. bed v comfortable. all sockets fit all plugs- why can the chinese do that and not the rest of the world??? plumbing all works and the toiltets flush well ( a problem in some parts of china...) staff at check-in fantastic. exchanged currencies for v reasonable rate.

recommended

Room Tip: further up is better but costs more..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thorstenvilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mr. thorstenvilliers

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for the Hotel Kunlun Beijing and for your comments about our hotel facilities and friendly staffs.
I would like to say something about the tea you mentioned, the YINJUNMEI, one kind of lapsang-souchong from 1500 meters of Wuyi Mountain on the Fujian province of china, unique flavor, which is a mixed comprehensive floral and fruity, taste sweet. In recent years, lapsang-souchong has begun to grow in popularity and has become the favorite tea of many who also appreciate single-malt Scotch whisky and fine cigars. It was once known as a man’s tea but more and more women are drnking it as well. Many tea lovers report that they enjoy drinking it outdoors, especially after any intense activity. So The price of tea is consistent with its value

Once again, our sincere appreciation for your great support extended to Hotel Kunlun Beijing for your most recent stay and we look forward to having more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Oct17, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you i have to summarize the review into 1 simple description, it would be: Value for Money.

Here's why:

As a hotel that I've never heard of, this one blows me away. The lobby was huge and impressive, the room is spacious, and as a renovated hotel, I can see they're maintaining the hotel very well. It doesnt feel like an old hotel even though it actually is.

The room I stayed was divided into 3 parts, the 'working room' with table and all connectivity you need to setup a working space conveniently which is located right after you enter the door. Then the bedroom with generous space all around including a set of 2 sofas and small table. Then the bathroom which has separate shower room, bath tub, and toilet room. What makes it even better is that everything is in the right places when you need it. Including the buttons and switches, plugs and everything else.

Breakfast is good with a wide range of selection. A true 5-star breakfast.

Service, as you're in China, dont expect like you're in Indonesia. Just like Hongkong and Singapore, they're just average. But compared to other hotels, this one is above.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room. And ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damonhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Damonhakim

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel Kunlun on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

It is wonderful to hear that, the style of hotel room you stayed is being to your taste, you did appreciate the hardware and amenities that it provided and also I noted your point about our services which you rated average. I believe our passionate staff try very hard to make our guests happy, but comment like yours make all of them on deep thought on where can be improved , what can they do to make our efforts even more worthwhile.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Sep21, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#50 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,397 reviews
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#27 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Boyue Beijing Hotel
Boyue Beijing Hotel
#134 of 6,516 in Beijing
298 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Zhaolong Hotel
Zhaolong Hotel
#172 of 6,516 in Beijing
340 reviews
Guomao
Conrad Beijing
Conrad Beijing
#40 of 6,516 in Beijing
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunlun Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunlun Beijing

Property: The Kunlun Beijing
Address: No.2 Xinyuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#65 Business Hotel in Beijing
#69 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#148 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunlun Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kunlun Beijing is ideally situated in Beijing Chaoyang Central Business District, with convenient access to the 2nd and 3rd Embassy areas, as well as many of the capital's business and tourist locations. Located on the banks of the beautiful Liangma River in Yansha area, adjacent to International Exhibition Center, the National Agriculture Exhibition Center, surrounding by Sanlitun Tai Koo Li, restaurant and club entertainment venues. The Kunlun Beijing is Jin Jiang Premier Hotels, Kunlun brand flagship property in Beijing, and is the first Chinese-managed hotel to be awarded five-star status. An international-standard luxury business hotel, The Kunlun Beijing boasts 558 guestrooms and suites of differing types, as well 14 unique restaurants and lounges. Function rooms equipped with the state – of – the - art conference facilities. Fitness Center and other leisure facilities are also available. The Kunlun Beijing has long endeavored to provide guests with warm and attentive service. Combined with excellent hardware and facilities, the 5-star luxury hotel in Beijing promises guests a comfortable yet unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kunlun Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunlun Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing