We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Rooms, Well Maintained, Classic Luxury, Convenient Location”
Review of The Kunlun Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kunlun Beijing
Ranked #84 of 6,550 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you i have to summarize the review into 1 simple description, it would be: Value for Money.

Here's why:

As a hotel that I've never heard of, this one blows me away. The lobby was huge and impressive, the room is spacious, and as a renovated hotel, I can see they're maintaining the hotel very well. It doesnt feel like an old hotel even though it actually is.

The room I stayed was divided into 3 parts, the 'working room' with table and all connectivity you need to setup a working space conveniently which is located right after you enter the door. Then the bedroom with generous space all around including a set of 2 sofas and small table. Then the bathroom which has separate shower room, bath tub, and toilet room. What makes it even better is that everything is in the right places when you need it. Including the buttons and switches, plugs and everything else.

Breakfast is good with a wide range of selection. A true 5-star breakfast.

Service, as you're in China, dont expect like you're in Indonesia. Just like Hongkong and Singapore, they're just average. But compared to other hotels, this one is above.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor room. And ask for the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damonhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Damonhakim

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel Kunlun on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

It is wonderful to hear that, the style of hotel room you stayed is being to your taste, you did appreciate the hardware and amenities that it provided and also I noted your point about our services which you rated average. I believe our passionate staff try very hard to make our guests happy, but comment like yours make all of them on deep thought on where can be improved , what can they do to make our efforts even more worthwhile.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Sep21, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 731 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went back to Kunlun after the renovation, but it was the same old Kunlun. The facade is changed but the rooms and the service is still a bit "old". The location is great but the rooms are still noisy and the furniture is getting old. Not what I expected.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Kayhan A

Thank you for your taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to the Hotel Kunlun Beijing.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with renovation of facade. As you know, Hotel Kunlun aims to provide excellent service on a consistent basis. Our Hotel Manager, Shaofeng Yang, would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your experience. He values your opinion and looks forward to hearing from you.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The biggest plus of this hotel is the location... additionally, they have a very good Lounge where you can easily have business meetings or even spend quality time along with your friends...
The staffs are definitely very efficient and highly service oriented... I was treated very well... My room was on the 15th floor... it was quite big and nicely decorated... the bed was very comfortable... I stayed for two nights and didn't have any problems in having a sound sleep...
Room service was very good and the quality of food was also very high... the price was very reasonable...
Would definitely come back whenever I get a chance...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Zahid H

Greetings from the Hotel Kunlun Beijing!

Thank you for your kind review, we appreciate your recognition of our service and remembering our staff. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service..

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to Beijing.

Kind regards,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
Sep18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

very nice 5 star hotel, very close to the business areas an San li tun. Personnel are well trained and polite. There are some good resturants. I can recommand it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

"Dear mark h
Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor and we are delighted to receive an almost perfect score.We are very pleased that you like the our location , as well as our Service, wonderful our resturants.
We will continue to work hard , hopefully we can prepare a more comfortable environment for you in your next visit. Once again, our sincere appreciation for your great support extended to Hotel Kunlun Beijing for your most recent stay and we look forward to having more opportunities to serve you in the future.

Kind regards,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
July 31, 2012 "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel is situated at the prime location. 5 star hotel but currently under renovation....
Beijing is very cheapby taxi also.. Even they have nice and amazing Lounge...the main malls are just near by.....Because of renovation the look is not so nice.. but if you are inside, it wont matter to you.... real rich experience in china....even concierge are good and helpfull

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shivang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, Owner at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

"Dear Shivang5,
Thank you for your review! We're delighted that we were able to 'treat you' during your recent stay with us.
We very much value the feedback and comments of our frequent guests as we aim to maintain a high level of service through each day, month, and year; we invite you to contact us at any time, to let us hear your thoughts during future travels.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!"
Kind regards,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
July 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

In other places Kunlun Hotel might be a top-class, but not in Beijing. Has very a nice view, all the attributes of a 5 start hotel, but there were some things i didn't liked so much at that moment (2008): one was the light in the room (very poor light), another was the TV: a 50 kilo old style TV was not really a delight and the windows were not clean (you could see the dried drops of water).
Everything else was great. Hope to go again anytime soon to see if the things above have improved.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ov M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Nonearfear

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your experience with us.It is with great concern that we noted the shortcomings you experienced during your stay on 2008. The issues you highlighted are extremely disappointing to hear and we completely understand the feeling you had. Your kind comments has been passed onto the relevant department and meanwhile the old facilities changing plan would be considered by the senior management.

We are most grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention as it is only through constructive criticism such as yours that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our hotel operation more closely.

We're sorry to hear you disagree with top-class ranking of hotel kunlun. We strive for your absolute satisfaction, which wonderfully reflects on most of our guest reviews. Please contact us directly and we can help you make your next stay more desirable.It would also be my pleasure to offer my assistance for any future requests you may have for our hotel and act as your direct contact if you are in need of any assistance.

Thank you again and we do hope you are able to stay with us for your next visit to Beijing!

Kind regards,

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
June 25, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed in middle April for 4 days, the hotel is obviously in the process of renovation, at least from outside. I can hear the construction noise and see the cables for outside construction platform hangging outside of my windows. The hotel itself is pretty old one, the carpet looks not clean. But the hotel location is very good, the service is satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Park_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKunlun_Beijing, General Manager at The Kunlun Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Park_2006

Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time to write your review! We're sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your experience.

I have to admit that Hotel Kunlun is one of the five-star hotel with a long history in Beijing, in order to meet our guests constantly changing demand, as well as providing more comfortable,more luxury dwelling enviroment, we are in a process of renovating outer wall and rooms at some floors. The renovation is scheduled to end by no later than Auguest this year. This will include a new facades、window、interior, enlarged facilities and the new equipment. We do apologize that you heard some construction noises from the outside of window, we have communicated with the construction team regarding adjusting the project,to reduce the influence of noise as much as possible,also we hope to strive for your understanding and tolerance.For the “the cleanliness of carpet” you mentioned, We have taken your feedback seriously and this has been communicated to the relevant department heads for follow up,to ensure that incidents and shortcomings as such will not recur in the future.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our service as well as our good location in the city.We do pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive staff,which provide excellent service for our guests. Our hotel is located right in the heart of the Chaoyang district, with the major shopping malls, bars and restaurants, as well as embassies and offices in walking distance. The metro stops right in front of the hotel,where next to the No10 subway line,which can take you to the airport or CBD in Chaoyang district within 20 minutes.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to stay with us again during your next visit to Beijing! We are continuously working to improve guests’ service and satisfaction and hopefully on your next visit we will have moved from “Good” to “Excellent”.

Best Regards

Shaofeng Yang
General Manager
May 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,421 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#25 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Boyue Beijing Hotel
Boyue Beijing Hotel
#135 of 6,550 in Beijing
303 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kunlun Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kunlun Beijing

Address: No.2 Xinyuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#65 Business Hotel in Beijing
#74 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#135 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $121 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kunlun Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kunlun Beijing is ideally situated in Beijing Chaoyang Central Business District, with convenient access to the 2nd and 3rd Embassy areas, as well as many of the capital's business and tourist locations. Located on the banks of the beautiful Liangma River in Yansha area, adjacent to International Exhibition Center, the National Agriculture Exhibition Center, surrounding by Sanlitun Tai Koo Li, restaurant and club entertainment venues. The Kunlun Beijing is Jin Jiang Premier Hotels, Kunlun brand flagship property in Beijing, and is the first Chinese-managed hotel to be awarded five-star status. An international-standard luxury business hotel, The Kunlun Beijing boasts 558 guestrooms and suites of differing types, as well 14 unique restaurants and lounges. Function rooms equipped with the state – of – the - art conference facilities. Fitness Center and other leisure facilities are also available. The Kunlun Beijing has long endeavored to provide guests with warm and attentive service. Combined with excellent hardware and facilities, the 5-star luxury hotel in Beijing promises guests a comfortable yet unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kunlun Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kunlun Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing