We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in western Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Ranked #110 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
L.A.
1 review
“Good Hotel in western Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

My friend recommended me this hotel, and I booked a room in which the hotel called Executive Floor. The main feature of this floor is a study; it is decorated with much age-old china and books to tell us what Chinese culture is look like; I love it.
Generally speaking, the room is nice and the service is professional. The restaurant is pretty good, especially the buffet. It provided various delicious dishes and the price is affordable. What’s more, traffic is convenient. The hotel is nearby subway, and it’s easy to call taxi, and what I think the most convenient thing is the location. It is in the old residential district and there are many other restaurants and shops around it, so maybe you can find your flavor here and buy some articles for daily use, even kill time.
I lived here just few days, but it is easy to be familiar with their staff. In this hotel, you will not feel like a foreigner or even a stranger, everyone here is friendly. According to my experience in Beijing, the hotel is your best choice if you stay in the Western Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hubert86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    160
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
33
26
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

This hotel is on the west side of Beijing. It is a little far from Downtown areas but a quick subway or $7 US taxi ride away. I have to say that the service in this hotel is the best I received anywhere. From the restaurant to the executive lounge to everything in the hotel they make you feel like a king. When you call for something a quick response is usually had in less than 2 minutes. This level of service could not be had in the US for almost any price. Plus, all the workers in this hotel are very professional and go above and beyond for guest.

The rooms in this hotel are very nice. I would recommend paying for the executive floors. The rooms on the executive floor would be comparable to a 5 star hotel in the US. I do not think you could get a room this nice for $400 a night in New York. Plus, a buffet breakfast is included. Western and chinese food are offered and it is incredible the choices they have. Plus, the executive rooms allow 4 peices of laundry to be cleaned free of charge per day, and 6 soft drinks from the wet bar free of charge. You will have access to an amazing executive loung that offers free food at night and drinks. I was upgraded to the executive floor because of my platinum status. The regular rooms are nice, but a little old and not in comparison to the executive rooms.

The main restaurant offers a nightly buffet for 128 RMB about $20 US. It is very elaborate and has Italian food and chinese food. It is vey good and the dishes change nightly. It includes local draft beer and coca cola.

Over the 9 days my family stayed the staff got to know us. They are very friendly and will do everything to make you feel at home.
Upon check out the General Manger came to greet my family.

If you find yourself in westen beijing or do not mind a 20 minute ride to the center of the city stay here. It is half the price of the downtown hotels. remember to stay in an executive room and the extra 150 RMB $23 US or so a day is worth it.

  • Liked — Verty clean and modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 123NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnmichael97355
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

I booked a room, later canceled it, yet charges were on my credit card statement. Holiday Inn informed me that because I booked the room online at a special rate I would not receive any refund. If you book a room here, make sure this is really where you want to stay. I switched to a different hotel because I found much better rates and accommodations though a locally owned and operated hotel.

  • Liked — NA
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmichael97355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
139 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Wanted to stay in Haidian since many of my clients are there so booked this hotel. However, it is some distance from Zhongguancun (sp) but in a typical quiet residential neighborhood. Also, some distance Forbidden City etc. although right off the main thoroughfare that leads to it. Breakfast buffet was ok. Since it is a Western hotel, didn't have problems typical of similarly rated Chinese hotels (e.g., hard bed (like sleeping on concrete), prostitution).

So, if you want a Western hotel in Beijing but are willing to be a distance away from everything, it is a good hotel.

The only thing that really disappointed me was the airport pick up. Had a client meeting within 2 hours of landing so wanted a quick pickup so I could drop off luggage and run to the meeting, but it took 20 minutes for the pickup to arrive. Would have been faster waiting in the taxi line (and a lot cheaper).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2008

I stayed here for 1 night March 15-16 for the the first American baseball games played in China. I choose this hotel because it's only a 10 minute walk from the new Olympic baseball stadium where the games were played. The new arena where the Olympic basketball games will be played is right next to the baseball stadium. The subway is also next to the baseball stadium making it also near the hotel.

It's a very nice hotel with the front desk able to speak decent English. I choose a superior room for the separate shower, which also has an extra large bathroom and an electric pants press in the room. The bed is very comfortable.

I booked the room on the Holiday Inn website and pre-purchaed my room and breakfast which saved me about $20. The breakfast is okay with a cooked to order omelet station. Nothing to brag about but the cost with the pre-booking was only about $8.

BUT, the location is on the far west of Beijing. Sure it's near the subway. However, the subway was ALWAYS crowded whether it be afternoon or evening, Saturday or Sunday. The subway is only 26 cents one way though! A taxi from the airport took 1 hour and $18. Going back took only 45 minutes. The problem with relying with taxis is that the city traffic is so bad that it could take a while to get to this hotel from anywhere not taking the highway. I used the subways all the time except for the airport. To Tiananmen Square by subway took about 15-20 minutes.

If you don't mind crowded but cheap subways, this hotel is half the cost of something more central.

  • Liked — Value for dollar
  • Disliked — location to central Beijing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Nice rooms, friendly staff. Close to the subway which is the fastest way to travel around Beijing. Go out the front, turn left go to the corner turn left again and it's just a few blocks down. Indoor pool is heated in winter so pack the swimsuit, breakfast is good but a little pricey...but it is a buffet with western food as well as Chinese and you can fill up for the day. Massage was cheap at the hotel and very good, though unlike in the US where you totally disrobe and get under a sheet they are not used to this and were a bit shocked. We really liked this hotel and the Chinese people were friendly and go out of their way to help if you need it. Not many people in China speak English but it wasn't a problem for us and most signage was in English too, even the subway makes stop announcements in English as well as Chinese. Overall hotel was great, and China was awsome! Must see's are the Wall, Summer Palace, Forbiden City, Teinamen Square, Temple of Heaven & an acrobat show. The hotel can set up tours to any of these places and more, we used a tour for the wall & acrobat show and explored the others on our own.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ollie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

Stayed in Holiday Inn Chang An West for three nights in Beijing. This particular hotel is a bit far off from the center. It is in the southwestern edge of the city and at least 30 minutes from popular areas such as Wangfujing and the Forbidden City. However, there is a subway station around 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

To be honest, I was initially not expecting much from a Holiday Inn. However, I can probably say that this hotel is of four star quality. Though the interiors weren't any different from other places, this hotel gave off a pretty good ambiance. It could be because it was a relatively new hotel when I stayed there. The staff were helpful and gave me tips on where to go in the city. They knew how to speak good English. Maps of the city were also readily available in the counter.

The rooms were very clean, well-appointed and most importantly, spacious. Standard amenities were included (toiletries, slippers, etc). High-speed internet was also available in the room, though it was certainly not free. I had to call for a technician to set-up my Apple laptop for internet use. Service was prompt and my laptop was ready for in no time.

The breakfast buffet was okay. It was nothing special and the variety was pretty average. Aside from the usual Western fare (bacon, scrambled egg, etc), they also had some standard Chinese breakfast items such as congee, salted vegetables, etc.

This is a good hotel overall. The only real downside is that it is a bit far from the center. Next time I am in Beijing, I would probably stay elsewhere simply because of convenience. Nevertheless, I still recommend the Holiday Inn Chang An for the traveler looking for good value but not really keen on a city center location.

  • Liked — clean and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — location a bit far-off
  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ACChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#119 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#130 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#57 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing South Railway Station
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
#84 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Wanda Realm Beijing
Wanda Realm Beijing
#83 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#120 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West

Property: Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Address: No.66 Yongding Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100039, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Wanshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#51 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#60 Business Hotel in Beijing
#97 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chang An West Beijing is a four star hotel, managed by Intercontinental Hotels Group, which located at the cross-junction of West Chang An Avenue and Yongding Road of Haidian District(downtown area),next to the first line subway and the Armed Police General Hospital.It is a kilometre to West 4 Ring Road, 301 hospital & Wukesong Sports Centre, with easy access to the airport, Beijing West Railway Station, Beijing South Railway Station and other outlying locations(such as Beijing Shooting Range Hall , Happy Water Cube & Laoshan Velodrome).All rooms are equipped with high speed Internet, remote control satellite TV, direct-dial domestic and international telephone service, voice mail, refrigerators and mini bars, among other ameneties. Extensive meeting rooms and banquet facilities cater to a full range of corporate and social events in addition to five meeting rooms of various sizes, a large conference hall and grand ballroom provide ample space for gatherings of up to 300. The comfortable environment & convenient transportation will surely to become your first choice to stay in Beijing.The commitment and effort towards environmental protection have earned Holiday Inn Chang An West Beijing the prestigious Green Globe EarthCheck bronze certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing