We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very medicore hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
Ranked #123 of 6,530 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A very tired hotel and room in need of a major refurb.
Totally inadequate wardrobe space.
Wireless and Wired internet was almost unusable, it was that unstable.

Service (reception(checkin), housekeeping and room servive) was poor.

No attention to detail.

Steam room, sauna and gym all OK and there's a Starbucks on site.... sadly, that was the highlight!

Breakfast was good, but pricey and not enough seats. I dont really care to share a table with complete strangers at breakfast.

I will choose a different hotel for my nexy visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren_UK0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 455 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel makes you feel like you are in the 1990's as I don't think it has been updated since. Rooms are clean and a quiet, breakfast buffet is good and service was friendly. I stayed in late Feb 2014 and my room faced the construction of an office building which they worked til 10:00pm and started at 6:00am. Request an internal room not facing construction sites.

They are building a brand new Crowne Plaza next door which should give this property a run for their money.

Room Tip: Request an internal room not facing construction sites.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetwrldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

As this is not my first time to Beijing, I was a little concerned at not being able to choose my own accomodation. I was in Beijing for a trade show and the hotel is quite soem distnace from the NCIEC where the show was to be held. The hotel reception is nice and the staff seemed a little dissinterested that I was even standing there waiting to be checked in (Not the sort of thing you want after 18 hours travelling from Australia. Once checked in i had to ask about a lift where i recieved the finger pointing in a general direction as they all spoke little english (Note to managers of this hotel - If you are to use this hotel to book in English speaking guests then ensure you have some staff that understand this language - I dont expect the locals to know English however when you pay for a service i dont think its too much to ask). The decor is very very dated and the rooms are exactly the same, the amenaties are ok and brekfast was a short stroll to the reception area - they do have a Starbucks in the premesis which was handy to start each morning off and the house breakfast is sparce to say the least. Would I stay here when i return next year - probably not however I would consider the Crown next door.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank 8Aussietravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My first hotel in China was rated as 3-stars - by what standards? It was more like a U.S. Motel 6 or EconoLodge. In contrast, the Metropark Lido really deserves 4-stars by western standards (5-stars being a destination resort). My rating is based on other Chinese hotels in the 4-star class. What sets this hotel apart is it has almost every room amenity you can think of:
* iron, ironing board and 2-hour laundry service;
* cable TV with channels in English, French and Chinese;
* room service and several on-site restaurants;
* black out curtains, individual room lights and sufficient desk lighting;
* low nightlight and automatic closet light;
* wake-up service;
* wi-fi (I had to call the tech desk to get the password, then the tech had to change a few other things to get it to work; Bad: needed tech help Good: the tech spoke English well, and made the necessary changes to give me access;
* bath and desk items including toothbrush/paste, body lotion, sewing kit, pencil sharpener, postcards and stationery, etc.;
* bottle opener, mini-fridge, coffee/tea bar;
* functional shower/bath and western-style toilet;
* bath robe & slippers.

I did miss having a microwave. There was also no ice bucket; I didn't need one, so perhaps one is available upon request.

BIGGIE: The bed was okay, but not great. As usual, it was too short (best for people 6'0"/ 183cm and shorter, like most things in China), but more comfortable than many Chinese beds. GOOD: The hotel offers a choice of 5 (five!) pillow types. BAD: The room was too warm when I entered. I changed from heating to cooling, moved the thermostat all the way down, and set the fan to low. It took too long to cool to have a good sleep. There was no top sheet, only a duvet. If I'd slept in pajamas on top of the bed the temperature might have been okay. The hotel could save money and increase guests' comfort by not setting the temperature so high!

The door, like all I saw, had a no smoking symbol, yet the room had an ashtray and matches. I think the management would prefer non-smoking guests, but prefers paying smokers to vacancies. It would be nice if hotels set aside rooms for smokers, then enforced the arrangement through appropriate amenities, (no ashtrays in non-smoking rooms, extra smoke alarms in smoking rooms).

My room did not smell, and noise was mostly from outside (Chinese New Year fireworks) and the guest on the floor above. There is construction on one side of the hotel, but it was shut down for the holiday so there was no noise. The outside windows are overdue to be cleaned.

Other info: The hotel has several shops. I didn't have time to exercise, so don't know if it has a good spa, pool or exercise room. Besides the Irish restaurant/bar and Sichuan restaurants across the street and the Ganges about 200 meters down the street, you can walk to the 798 Art District in 15-20 minutes, or take a taxi (14 RMB as of Feb. 2014). The nearest subway stations are Liangmaqiao and Sanyuanqiao. A taxi from the former to the hotel was 18 RMB; a taxi to Xidan (in Xicheng district) was 57 RMB.
One concierge spoke English quite well; the other spoke some English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bacalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Starbucks onsite, a couple of nice restaurants nearby including a great Indian called 'Ganges'. There is also a huge new shopping centre called 'Indogo' or Ittiga as the Chinese say it where you will find all the major clothing brands/ hairdressers etc

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank AdrianCGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel several times since it is in walking distance to our office in beijing. I booked the executive floor all times since they are offering a fee additional services like free laundry, lounge etc. The standard is really good and the staff is friendly and most if them are speaking at least some english. There is a shopping center, restaurants, pub but nothing mote.

1  Thank MausisSpatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've been staying at the Lido for more than 15 years each trip to Beijing. The hotel is nice with good services and clean. The location is great and it is a great value. I stay on the executive floor. The perks are good. Also Ms Wang has worked on the 5th floor desk for many of these 15 years. She is very professional and efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#50 of 6,530 in Beijing
283 reviews
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#70 of 6,530 in Beijing
389 reviews
Jiuxianqiao
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
Rosedale Hotel & Suites Beijing
#2,062 of 6,530 in Beijing
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Wangjing
Donghuang Hotel
Donghuang Hotel
#660 of 6,530 in Beijing
68 reviews
China International Exhibition Centre
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan
Novotel Beijing Sanyuan
#152 of 6,530 in Beijing
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing

Address: No.6 Jiangtai Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Formerly Holiday Inn Lido)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Jiuxianqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#76 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#107 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $61 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropark Lido Hotel,Beijing (Former Holiday Inn Lido Beijing), was established in 1984. On January 1st 2011, the hotel changed the name to Metropark Lido Hote (former Holiday Inn Lido Beijing). It is a comprehensive 4-star-hotel integrating Accommodations, Restaurants & Bars, Apartment, Office Tower, Sports Club, Leisure Facilities, International School & Kindergarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing