We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,238)
Filter reviews
3,238 results
Traveler rating
1,704
1,098
298
86
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,704
1,098
298
86
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews china restaurant forbidden city oriental plaza bedroom suite amazing pool peking duck shopping mall club level walking distance high end mall swimming pool is excellent location central location wangfujing street business trip concierge desk jet lag
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 3,238 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Had a wonderful three night stay in late October along with my 10 year old son. Staff were very professional and helpful. Visit to Beijing started rough when a crooked airport taxi driver try to overcharge us upon our late-night arrival. I simply walked into the hotel without paying him and asked the desk staff to deal with him. Jake Wang, the night Manager, sent us up to our room and took charge of dealing with the driver. Jake even sent up a note to our room the next morning saying everything was taken car of and that they had banned the driver from collecting passengers from the hotel.

At every point, the staff seemed eager to serve. And the hotel was lovely. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Yes, it's not a brand new hotel, but everything was well maintained and comfortable.

In particular, my son was crazy about the pool. We made a point to use it every day of our stay. It was never crowded, which was a great break from time on the streets of Beijing.

And the hotel location couldn't be better. The Wangfujing shopping street is just outside the connected mall. Metro stop was easy to use and connected too, which was nice during cool October mornings. Lots of great dining options nearby.

I'd stay at the Grand Hyatt Beijing again in a heartbeat. Hope we'll be able to.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DCTexan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017

If this is your first time visiting Beijing, this hotel would be a great choice. It is situated within walking distance of the Forbidden City (20 minutes walk), it sits atop a large shopping center (with Starbucks), you can walk out to the major pedestrian shopping street Wang Fu Shin and most importantly, it is also connected to Wang Fu Shin metro stop.

Hotel has great customer service and reception staff speak fluent English. I would like to caution that the door access to the metro stop (via the shopping center) closes at 10:30pm.

Room tip: Great views of the city with rooms in the rear
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTR72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

As others have mentioned here, the hotel is attached to a shopping mall and there is a metro stop in that shopping mall as well. Being right on the #1 line (Wangfujing Stop) is very convenient, although Tiananmen Square and everything that is located there is a pretty easy 10-15 minute walk as well. The #5 metro (Dongdan Stop) is also located outside of the hotel too so you have easy access to two main tourist lines since the #5 goes to the Temple of Heaven.

I would have given the hotel a 4 star review if it weren't for the front desk employee Jason Liu though. During check-in he was super friendly and provided us a lot of information about the area and went way above and beyond what most hotel employees do. The first night of our stay, we had someone checking in who was apparently given the wrong room number so they kept trying to get into our room which woke us up from our sleep as they kept trying to get the door open. After a minute or so I went to the door and told them they had the wrong room. We ended up getting two phone calls from the front desk while we were trying to get back to sleep trying to resolve the situation and make sure we were in the right room I guess...while it was an honest mistake of them giving the wrong room to someone at checkin it was still a little frustrating to get woken up twice. The next morning Jason contacted us to apologize (which he did about 20 times), sent a box of chocolates to the room after we declined his offer of wine, and gave us free breakfast the following morning. When we checked out, another person (missed the name) also apologized repeatedly over the issue too.

Overall the room was fine, although the two beds were a little small for my liking. Our room was clean, the breakfast was good...although a lot of the food on the buffet wasn't kept warm enough in my opinion. The pool also looks amazing and the spa area is really nice, but like the food it could have been warmer. We also had two small children with us and it wasn't an issue at all. I would stay here again if in Beijing.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooterpie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Here on business for the marathon. The hotel is nicely located, but getting a taxi can be challenging. Our weekend here had problems with internet access. Just trying to log on proved difficult. They did give lounge access for our difficulties. Food is good, happy hour is good with lots of snacks and drink. The swimming pool is is fantastic !!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank f2titan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights on vacation, and had an outstanding stay. The large and modern hotel is in a nice area of Beijing, not far from Tiananmen's Square and The Forbidden City. (Note if you do go to Tiananmen's Square on your own you need to take your passport and there are security checks, so pack lightly).

The Hyatt is attached to a large an upscale multi-level mall with plenty of shopping and restaurants, although it's not really a place to buy souvenirs; rather high end clothing brands, although they do have a grocery and food court.

As a Hyatt Globalist member, we had complimentary access to an excellent 17th floor Concierge Lounge, which is one of the nicer lounges in the Hyatt chain of hotels. The staff was wonderful and attentive, and spoke good English. The breakfast had a nice buffet spread, and you could also order items off a menu they provided. The lounge had both traditional Chinese dishes as well as westernized dishes as well.

In the evening complimentary drinks were served in the Concierge Lounge from 5 - 8pm, as well as hors d'ourves, which some people made a meal out of, but not us, preferring to eat dinner in one of the hotels 7 restaurants instead.

We ate in the Grand Cafe the first night (Sunday) and it was good, but not wonderful. The buffet offered a lot of selections, however it was a slow night, and the food didn't turn over much as a result, and the service was adequate.

We much preferred the Italian Restaurant adjacent to the Grand Cafe, Da Giorgio, and went there there times during our stay as we enjoyed it so much. The food and service were outstanding, and they had some nice wines as well. We really enjoyed the service June provided us each night, and made us feel very welcome. The entire staff was very attentive, and the atmosphere is very intimate.

The Grand Spa on the lower level is spectacular. You would think you're on a Caribbean Island rather than in the middle of Beijing! Bring your swimsuit! Likewise the adjoining fitness center is well equipped. We didn't use any of the premium spa services, but the indoor pool and whirlpools were quite a nice surprise and were not crowded when we went.

We also went to the Japanese bar and grille a couple times for a nightcap, and/or light tapas. We enjoyed the service and atmosphere there very much.

The Grand Hyatt overall exceeded our expectations and would definitely recommend this hotel to both the business and leisure traveler visiting Beijing.

Room tip: Concierge Lounge access is worth the upgrade
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Like2cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews