We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience overall, room a bit weary..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Ranked #39 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Calvi, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good experience overall, room a bit weary..”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a limousine pick-up at the airport which worked well. We asked the driver to drop us off at a good restaurant and to bring our luggage to the hotel and that worked perfectly. Check in was ok but not particularly friendly.
We had a suite on the executive floor. The room was large indeed but the overall impression was mixed. It fell old...the shower was nothing special and had no pressure..toiletries are substandard and will only be replaced on request....Internet is cumbersome: quite slow and you have to log in almost every time.
Breakfast was quite good and the spa area as already mentioned several time is absolutely awesome. The locker rooms should also be mentioned, they are just beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zelal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you dear reviewer for your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your feedback on the guestroom is well-noted and we are very pleased to update that the hotel has embarked on a complete remodelling programme for its guestrooms and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to experience our new rooms. As for the limousine pick-up from the airport, we would like to inform you that all limousines now offer complimentary wi-fi service for your journey to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    975
    250
    67
    29
See reviews for
410
279
129
902
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are on a business trip and can afford it (basic room around 250USD) .... then it is the place to be.

Great location for going either East or West side of Beijing ....... Few minutes on foot from the forbidden city ...... and great restaurants for your casual brunch or more formal meetings.

I did not even talk about their weekend afternoon tea or the luxurious mall attached.

In few words .... do not hesitate :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerarfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Wow, thank you reviewer for this excellent review on Grand Hyatt Beijing for its location and restaurants, on Tripadvisor. Thank you for selecting Grand Hyatt Beijing and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed in Grand Hyatt Beijing on August 31 to Sept 2. Overall it is a nice hotel with very good location. If you want to visit great wall; hotel provides private car and tour bus with guide (we opted tour bus to Beijing via hotel concierge and please dont go for outside hotel tour services in Beijing even if they give surprizing rates--many of them are frauds; may put u in tough situation. Hotel staff is excellent; I recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagan_Bhatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for recommending Grand Hyatt Beijing on Tripadvisor and for complimenting the hotel's location, customer service, concierge services and hotel-arranged city tours. It is an honour to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in every aspect. Location fabulous. Walking distance to Forbidden city and Square. Opposite direction is Silk Market. Shopping mall with food under hotel. Pool fabulous. I stayed for one night on business , perfect. The staff went above and beyond for us. I will make it my hotel of choice on next visits

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brucegurfein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the 5-star rating, we are truly humbled. We are thrilled to hear that you had a splendid experience at Made in China and had thoroughly enjoyed the Peking Duck. Thank you for recommending Grand Hyatt Beijing for its fine restaurants and surroundings. Very warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently dined at the Grand Hyatt's Signature Restaurant "Made in China" for lunch and the Peking Duck was the best I have ever had. The whole dining experience was sensational and most definitely the best meal I had while I was in China. Would certainly recommend this as a place to enjoy and indulge in an array of fine food and surroundings.

Thanks Grand Hyatt for a such a pleasurable moment and one that I will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you reviewer for selecting Made in China. We are thrilled to hear that you had a sensational dining experience with us and had thoroughly enjoyed the food and restaurant ambiance. Made in China, our signature restaurant recently celebrated its 10th birthday and we are also very pleased to update you that it recently won a spot in “Elite Traveler & Laurent-Perrier Top 100 Restaurants in the world” list. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent hotel in every aspect. Location fabulous. Walking distance to Forbidden city and Square. Opposite direction is Silk Market. Shopping mall with food under hotel. Pool fabulous. We stayed here three nights in the family two bedroom suite, perfect. The staff went above and beyond for us. We left expensive camera in coffee shop in mall and then left on a tour. The hotel went down and retrieved it for us. Then when we checked out and flew home. My daughter realized that she had left her brand new eye glasses in the hotel. They had them and couriered them back to the US for us. Hotel was worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are truly humbled by your superb review of Grand Hyatt Beijing's location, customer service and Two-Bedroom Suite. It was our pleasure to be of service and to ensure only the best Beijing memory and the smoothest trip for you and your family. Look forward to serving you in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here as the final stop on our honeymoon trip in China. It didn't disappoint. We arrived really early from the overnight train in Xian, 8am, there was absolutely no problem for the reception (excellent English) to check us into our room at that time which was great. We were even able to make use of the breakfast in the excellent club lounge. The room was on the smaller size, but given the excellent, central location of the hotel (10 mins to Tiananmen square and Wangfujing on the doorstep this is to be expected) The room itself is modern, bright and very clean. Complimentary water daily provided. The swimming pool is like no other as mentioned in many previous reviews.

Room Tip: Would definitely pay extra again for a club room, the lounge is a great pit stop to get away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you reviewer for the 5-star rating. We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your honeymoon trip with us. Your complimentary review of Grand Hyatt Beijing's Grand Club Lounge, and the hotel's strategic location goes a long way in helping to promote our hotel internationally. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#29 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Property: Grand Hyatt Beijing
Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#144 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing