We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, pity about the awful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Ranked #40 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, pity about the awful breakfast”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lots of good things about this hotel including great location, excellent well-trained staff, proximity to tourist sights and shopping, if that is your thing. Off season rates are very good -- much cheaper than you'd imagine. A big plus is the excellent in-house VPN which means access to Facebook.

On the down side, the breakfast was very poor. A very cramped dining area with woeful service and guests almost fighting to get to the meagre buffet. For two days in a row there was no bacon and despite promises that "more' is being made and will be here shortly" it never materialised. Trying to get a cup of tea was a joke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for your complimentary review on Grand Hyatt Beijing's strategic location and highly trained employees. We are sorry to hear about your breakfast experience, but are pleased to inform you that we have recently launched a new and even more extensive buffet menu, and hope you will be able to experience the new Grand Cafe buffet spread during your next trip to Beijing. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    988
    260
    69
    31
See reviews for
427
288
133
932
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great hotel in a superb location that is ideal for meetings. This is the second year we have run a meeting here and the staff go out of their way to help. Probably not an ideal tourist hotel as it is so large but really worked well for me and my colleagues.
Despite lots of changes in attendees there was never a problem changing rooming and meeting room was rearranged at last minute. Always good to know you can run a meeting and not worry about the logistics, takes such a weight off.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GasMans_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Hyatt Beijing on Tripadvisor. Congratulations on the success of your meeting! Thank you so much for complimenting our staff, in particular our event management team. Grand Hyatt Beijing has more than a decade long experience in delivering personalised event services and we certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villar Perosa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

excellent reception , good service , perfect location downtown , good service for tours of the main monuments . Good chinese restaurant , nice lobby . Good rooms in the club section , a little smaller the normal ones . A few problems with staff not speaking English .

Room Tip: rooms are all quiet , better to select club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drvelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for reviewing Grand Hyatt Beijing on Tripadvisor. Your positive review certainly goes a long way in helping to promote our hotel to guests, both in China and around the world. Once again, thank you for selecting Grand Hyatt Beijing. Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was quiet and they had the best peeking duck in all of beijing apparently although my brother did choke on a chile and he didn't have enough water to stop him almost burning away. It was really funny. The swimming pool was really cool as it was in the basement and a tile came of and i kept it to this day. The taxi service was terrible though make sure you get the concierge to write down your location on a piece of paper for the taxi driver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are thrilled to hear you had enjoyed the Peking Duck at Made in China; however sorry to hear about your brother's encounter. Thank you for complimenting on Grand Hyatt Beijing's resort-style swimming pool, which is also the top of the list among many other guests. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its convenient, very central location.

It is also clean and has all the required features. Everything functions.

On the "issues" side:
- small, older rooms; especially compared to what competition offers in Asia. Clearly an impression of a bygone era
- upon entering, rooms smelled of smoke. When I complained, the staff offered to "refresh" the rooms, but nobody came. Eventually, air improved after about a day of air conditioning running
- service clearly to be improved. Employees often do not quite understand English and all requests are a real hit and miss
- prices were high, based on a comparison with similar hotels in the vicinity.

Overall, a comfortable stay, but definitely could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and on complimenting Grand Hyatt Beijing's strategic location. With regards to your feedback on the guestrooms, we are very pleased to inform you that the hotel has embarked on a remodelling programme and apart from the Grand Premium rooms that were launched in the first quarter of this year, we will also be introducing new room products by next quarter and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the rooms. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel for work on at least half a dozen ocassions over the past 2 years, and cant find fault with it. Its a brilliant location right next to one of the main shopping streets ( and walking distance to Tiannament Square, the Forbidden city etc). The hotel looks good, rooms are not huge but very comfortable, the service is excellent, beautiful indoor pool area and gym, lots of dining options in the hotel ( as well as being above a shopping mall), and the breakfast there is beyond amazing. Overall, you cant go wrong choosing this hotel and i can highly recommend it

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your ongoing support and for recommending Grand Hyatt Beijing on Tripadvisor. We are truly appreciative as your complimentary review goes a long way in helping to promote our hotel both locally and internationally. Looking forward to be of service during your next trip to Beijing. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is virtually brand new forming part of a new development including offices, shops etc.

Rooms good size, food great and service as you would expect.

Only issue - if you are in a club room you have to have your breakfast in one of 2 specified restaurant, if you go the main restaurant they try and charge you for it. A quiet word normally sorts this... would expect ability to have a cup of coffee and a croissant wherever, especially at £350/night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,432 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#33 of 6,520 in Beijing
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,423 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,520 in Beijing
538 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#27 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Property: Grand Hyatt Beijing
Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#38 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#140 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing