We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Beijing North
Ranked #77 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is located in the Chang Ping district and is close to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs and institutions such as Peking University. If you want to go to downtown Beijing, it is a 30 minute journey in a reasonably priced hotel car or a cab. The hotel has excellent facilities including indoor tennis courts, a bowling alley, well equipped recreation centre/ gymnasium, pool and a very good massage / spa. The restaurants are very good with an excellent range of cuisines and the Japanese restaurant is outstanding. The rooms are spacious and clean. For what you get, this is excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DownunderDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Beijing North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 402 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2009

The hotel is phenominal, but the problem is that it is in the middle of nowhere, thus as my colleagues call it "the Lonely Palace." Why? This location is outside of the 5th ring highway (anything beyond the 5th ring is considered the boon-docks). But when I first moved to China, my company housed me at the Loong Palace for a month, and I enjoyed my stay, but being so far away, almost everywhere I wanted to go was a 40-50 RMB (6-7 USD) cab ride away. Although for the US people, 6-7 USD seems like nothing for a cab right, the equivalent for cost of living is that the cab ride is like 35 USD. So if you think about it, cab rides start off at 10 RMB for the first 2.9 KM, and then 1 RMB for every KM you travel. So if you do the math, you will realize how far the place is. I think from Tienneman Square to the Great Wall (Badaling section which is the area that you should go to), this is the halfway point. So if you're thinking in US, if you're going from LA to Vegas, this place would be Barstow. But this hotel is truly a 5-star hotel (as in Ritz Carlton standards). The manager there is Dutch, speaks fluent english and fluent Chinese. And since I had a corporate rate, the month that I stayed there, the total bill for the month came out to 900 USD. Now that's cheaper than the price of rent in NY city for a studio in the city.

Like I said, it's not the most convenient of places, but the place is definitely a hidden gem. Also, with all the development going on by there is a new gigantic Japanese mall just north of the hotel which has a Korean Lotteria (burger joint), a Korean restaurant chain, a Sports Authority, and some other international brands.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

The Hotel is very new. Clean, very western in terms of the bathrooms and room furnishings. Traveled with a very large group (350). The breakfasts we had at the Hotel were a mix of western and Chinese dishes.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dane_the_dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

others who had traveled to beijing warned us that a 5 star hotel in china might not be up to our usual standards. this is an exception. should be rated 5-1/2 stars. great room, outstanding common area facilities.

the staff was always ready to help. money exchange, extra towels, business center and written chinese directions for taxi drivers, just a few of the great services.

they try hard with english, but the difficulties encountered just added to the interest of traveling in china. my wife and i stayed for 8 days, and for someone who had traveled extensively, this hotel, and china, rated as one of our best travel experiences.

john k, modesto ca

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johnKCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I stayed at the Loong Palace while on a business trip for over 1 1/2 weeks. For business travelers, the club rooms are quite good, spacious clean and great respite from the day's work.

The hotel is out in the middle of nowhere, for leisure purposes, its probably better to stay closer to the city either in the Financial District or the Choyang district.

Food is good to excellent, the japanese restaurant providing excellent value.

Staff was quite courteous and accomodating. Unfortunately, many didn't have sufficient english skills to be of true help.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank igolfchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We booked our trip through our local community center. They were going through Collette Vacations. At first, I was a bit disappointed that this hotel was a bit far from the city, but it turned out to be centrally located to all of the sites on our trip.

The hotel was just beautiful! There were doormen that greeted us each day. The staircase in the lobby was remarkable. Our rooms were perfect...I just can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel was!

Room - The bathroom was black marble, with toothbrush, toothpaste, everything you could need. We used our room key to turn on the lights. The room was spotless. They had cans of Coke in the minibar, the kind with the "pull off" tab. I typically do not hit the mini bar - but I had to have one - it reminded me of when I was a kid...before the new fangled tabs that do not come off the can.

Dining - We had the breakfast buffet each day. We had PLENTY of western dishes to choose from - omlets, cereal, fresh fruit, hot cereal, the list goes on. There were also Chinese options. The Chinese do not eat eggs/pancakes for breakfast. They eat lunch and dinner type foods for breakfast - and there were a lot of those options as well. We even had a Western Night dinner with Chocolate Cake and ICE CREAM! It was great!

On the day we flew to Xian, we had to leave before dawn, and the hotel had boxed up "breakfast" for us. They packed yogurt, a delicious apple, that tasted like a pear, a hard boiled egg, a sandwich, etc. so that we did not go hungry.

We had 2 "fancy" dinners at the hotel. One was the "meet and greet" dinner. Lots of chinese cuisine served on lazy susan's. Mostly appetizer types choices...but very good. The other was on our last night. We had a lovely sit down dinner with choice of entrees.

Service - The hotel delivered and picked up our luggage for us, we did not have to transport our luggage at all. They were very helpful with exchanging our money and mailing our post cards. The staff spoke plenty of Engish.

I did visit the business center to send email to my teenagers who stayed behind with their dad. (calling and emailing hit my wallet the hardest!)

I cannot say anything bad about our visit to this hotel. It was truly an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank abasketcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for ten days on a combined business/sightseeing trip. We were attending a conference held at this hotel; otherwise we probably would not have booked it since it is is very far from the city center.

However, we found the hotel to be an excellent choice. The property is beautiful and has all the amenities expected of a good five-star hotel (pool, spa, shopping, gym, tennis, bowling...). There are many excellent restaurants on-site, which is good since there is not much else in this area. The restaurants were generally rather pricey by Beijing standards, but still much cheaper than we were used to so we didn't mind.

The rooms were very spacious, immaculately clean and well-decorated. The bathrooms were very large with lovely furnishings. Free bottled water was provided in the rooms since the tap water isn't safe to drink. In-room internet access is available for a cost - however you pay only when logged on, and while we were online frequently the total cost for the stay was negligible.

We paid a very reasonable 650 yuan per night, including the buffet breakfast which was very extensive, and excellent quality. There are of course much cheaper hotels in Beijing, but this seems to be a good price for a five-star hotel.

The location is the main downside, since it does take some time to get into the center. However we found it to be simple and inexpensive: a five-minute taxi to LongZe station (12 yuan every time), followed by the line 13 train and the line 2 subway (5 yuan total). It took up to an hour but again, was quite simple. Note that it's not really possible to walk anywhere from this hotel, since the highway is very close.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kymberand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Olympic Village
Ramada Beijing North
Ramada Beijing North
#132 of 6,531 in Beijing
80 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#93 of 6,531 in Beijing
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#73 of 6,531 in Beijing
314 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Fangzhuang
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
Holiday Inn Temple of Heaven
#129 of 6,531 in Beijing
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Beijing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Beijing North

Address: No.317 Changping Road, Beijing 102208, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel North Beijing)
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#40 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#68 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $82 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Beijing North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Beijing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loong Palace Hotel Beijing
Loong Palace Hotel And Resort
Loong Palace Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing