We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #144 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at this wonderful hotel last year with my family and the experience was fantastic. The management was first-rate and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a top-notch suite with excellent accomodations and a great view of the Bird's Nest Stadium. The next time we are going to Beijing we are definetely staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
First of all,we would like to extend our sincerest thanks for your wonderful support of our Hotel.We highly appreciated your time and efforts for giving us your kind feedbacks of our services.As always,we will be looking forward for your next visit and will remain at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
5
4
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Overall the hotel is nice. The lobby is impressive, with a pianist playing in the evenings. Apart from the lobby and the restaurant area the hotel gives an outmoded impression for some interior renovation is lacking, or maybe it is just its style.

The personnel try to be helpful, but the language barrier is obvious.

There are no paper *don’t disturb* signs in the room that you can put on the door, but a switch on a bedside table which turns on a small electric sign on the wall outside of the room. Personnel enter the room to close curtains for you in the evenings.

My room had a couple of nice bath robes and disposable slippers along with two respirators in a closet. The hotel provides two small water bottles in the bathroom for free so that you don’t use tap water to wash your mouth etc. They also provide bottled drinking water for purchase, but it is hugely overpriced. You can buy the same water in the nearby supermarket just across the street for much less along with other food items. The room had European electric outlets (no need for an adapter) and a kettle to boil water.

Very disappointing was a fact that they separately charged for the internet per traffic. The fee is not enormous if you just check your emails, but makes a difference if you are to use the Internet (Skype, download files) for the whole day. In addition the Internet speed noticeably slows down in the evenings, sometimes up to a point that you have to give up.

The bathroom looked old, in a very outmoded fashion, but still it was nice looking. There was a bit of mould in the corners though. You can also figure out how much your weight is since there are weighing scales in the bathroom. The toilet bowl was disturbingly wide and flat with humongous amounts of water in it, which when flushed moved rather slowly. Shower assembly was wall-mount, non-movable.

The restaurant food was great. There were items from Chinese cuisine of course, but also lots of European cuisine dishes, which is great for people on non-spicy diet and restricted diet. Lots of warm dishes, the greatest bacon I have ever tried, bakery, sausages, eggs etc. I did not see any cheese spreads though.

The hotel location is very good. Very close to the Beijing International Convention center (within walking distance) and the Beijing National Stadium (the Bird’s Nest). Unfortunately the subway line #8 (the green line with Olympic Sports Center station on it) was closed at the time I visited for some repair works. Anyway another subway station Huixinxijie Beikou is within 15 min of walk (purple line #5) which makes the hotel location very convenient. The subway single entrance is 2 Yuan.

Would stay here again because it is a decent hotel plus the language barrier might be an obstacle when trying to familiarize myself with a new hotel’s surrounding area (how to find a subway station, a bus etc).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

i went on a business trip with my collegue and this hotel turned out to be a very good choice for the trip, the location of the hotel is so convinient if one has to go to the china national convention centre,bus depot is very nearby and so transportation is very good,enough local shops nearby for your daily needs.breakfast was good and had lot of variety esp. for a vegeterian person like me.rooms were quiet big and very clean.though language is a bit problem but the front desk staff was courteous enough to help as much as they could.there is a big park nearby for morning walk which was a boon

Room Tip: rooms on the back side gives u a nice view of the bus terminal showing small toy like buses moving i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drvksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hotel is nice, service is good but there is a language barrier even at the reception. Elevators with parfume were interesting. Room was clean, nice but nothing super fancy. I found great carbonara pasta to be served to the room! Morning breakfast was great, very nice service there and good food with great variety. Price was very convenient. Overall a good stay but I bet you can find better in Beijing if you are looking for luxury hotels. Hotel is at walking distance from the Olympic village. The gym was not very nice and equipment was run down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xplorthwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

This hotel does not live up to it's 4 star status for many reasons. The price is quite high, not only for the location, which is in the northern section of Beijing away from just about everything except the Olympic village, but also too high for the quality of the stay. Though the lobby is pretty and the second floor casual dining area is comfortable and does serve decent food (and if you sit in the right spot you can get spotty/intermittent free wi-fi), the actual rooms and overall service were a disappointment. As other reviewers have mentioned, this is a country of smokers, so even if your room is "nonsmoking", you will smell smoke throughout the hotel, and/or the lingering chemical attempt to cover it up. This was not a big deal for us, just an observation.

Upon checking in, exhausted from an 18hr trip, we were told a king was not available even though we had reserved a king room. After 15 minutes of discussion/waiting, a manager finally was able to "find" a king room for us. This was the first of several tricky maneuvers the front desk attempted throughout our conference/tour stay. Also, for an "international" hotel, virtually no one at the front desk/concierge/restaurants spoke even the most basic english (the most I had hoped for). There was one gentleman that was routinely sought out to handle any english question, causing a rather frustrating experience for even the most simple question. Don't even consider calling from your room to ask for a corkscrew, just wander down to the first floor souvenir boutique with your bottle, where the very nice girls that work there will open it for you.
The king bedroom is a good size with an adjoining sitting room with TV and desk, a closet and safe, and a clean bathroom, which was nice. There are large windows in both areas which let in a lot of light. The room itself overall, though, is in need of a good sprucing up/carpet cleaning, feeling a bit dingy. The biggest concern, however, was the bed. Wow. I can and have slept on many surfaces, but never on a bed this hard. It was like sleeping on the box spring, but a box spring made of cement. I can't stress enough that this is not an exaggeration. Most uncomfortable. We found a spare comforter in the the sitting room which when placed on top of the box spring helped ever so slightly.

One night, upon returning to the hotel late from an all day tour of Beijing, our key cards would not work for our room. Upon going to the front desk to get replacements, we were told that we were to have checked out that day and would have to pay additional money to continue our stay. This was apparently a mix up with the room payment through the conference we were with, and was eventually resolved, but only after we were "escorted" to our room, allowed in only to fetch the copy we had of our reservation to prove the dates of our stay, followed by phone calls and a half hour wait at the font desk, resulting in no additional expense, but again, handled very poorly by the front desk. Is that really how someone should find out that they have been checked out of their room?
Overall, the experience of our stay just left us feeling more stressed out than relaxed as one should be staying at a four star hotel on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MininaCantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Nice, but somewhat overpriced. Close walking distance to shopping and the now-famous Beijing "bird's nest" stadium.

Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank notthemaniusedtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

After been shown to our room apparently a smoking room, we asked to change to a non smoking but where told that there was no available. Housekeeping came and sprayed some lemon parfym and removed ash trays...

After a rest we planned to go out for dinner. While making us ready in the bathroom the toilet was fuddling. Before leaving the hotel we asked housekeeping to cleaning of our room. NOTHING was done. And no apologize to the inconvenience.

Don't go here if you do not like smoke. The lobby, the bar and the hallways smelled.

Something is wrong if this hotel is classified as a five star hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#569 of 6,483 in Beijing
160 reviews
Asian Games Village
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#137 of 6,483 in Beijing
400 reviews
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Asian Games Village
Beidahuang Hotel
Beidahuang Hotel
#407 of 6,483 in Beijing
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing

Property: Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Address: No.99 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Location: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Beijing
#61 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#113 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#121 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity International Grand Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing