We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming place but close to airport”

Airport Garden Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Garden Hotel
Ranked #3,496 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Air China sent us to stay here one night when flight cancelled. Free shuttle bus convenient. Ten minutes from airport but long way ( 30 minutes by taxi) from central Beijing. Don't be missled by some hotel descriptions. This is a bleak scruffy place. Filthy corridor carpets. Large but bare reception area. The room itself was clean and comfortable so served its purpose as a convenient place to sleep before returning to airport. TV only had Chinese channels. The meal service was poor. Most guests sat ignored for ages before being served lukewarm food in a partitioned plastic tray. Almost inedible. No choice offered but I suppose it was because we were getting the budget option arranged by Air China.
The sports centre facility is actually in a completely separate building about 300 metres from the hotel. There is a large pool (occupied by training swimmers while we were there) fitness equipment and table tennis tables to hire. Got a phone call at 9pm offering a massage. Not sure from whom.
Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here by choice. The evening restaurant service was dreadful. The hotel has a depressing atmosphere, occupied by people who don't really want to be there. Only good points are convenience for airport and shuttle service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuggsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 67 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2009

Stayed here for a night on transit before catching a morning flight the next day. Great hotel for it's location - only 3 minutes away from T2 and about 10 minutes from T3 using the free hotel shuttle. I booked the hotel online and was pleasantly surprised to see someone from the hotel outside holding up my name on a board to provide the free shuttle service. I read reviews that you had to go to the airport info counter to call the hotel but apparently, this was not the case.
The hotel is a little old but if you're only going to spend the night only to catch some sleep, it's not a problem. The staff were friendly enough and spoke adequate English to get things sorted.
The room was much like the rest of the hotel - tired and old, although I have to give credit to the staff for the upkeep. Air-conditioning was cold and I was puzzled to see a plug-in mosquito repellent on the desk, until a friendly mosquito flying about. Not much of an issue as I hear that mosquitos are common this time of year in Beijing.
All in all, it meets its role as an airport hotel and is good enough for a short layover .

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

The hotel did not pick us up at the airport as promised and scheduled, so we took a taxi which cost 20 RMB. We then asked the hotel to order a taxi for us to go into Beijing City, and the driver was obviously just a friend of theirs who didn't have a taxi license and charged us 200RMB to go to the city and back, far more than it should have been.

Other than the insulting service, the hotel room itself was fairly clean although clearly already falling apart. The shower worked, though.

Also, it was very obvious that there were prostitutes waiting for their clients in the hallways.

As a westerner, I would give this place a 7 out of 10 for the creepy factor, a 7 out of 10 for cleanliness, and a 5 out of 10 for the breakfast. You'll book for two people and only get one free breakfast. The other one you must pay for upon entering (88 RMB).

All in all, I wouldn't say here again unless I couldn't find a vacancy in a dorm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nindubsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

I had to stay here at the last minute because of a flight issue. I found out about this hotel from the hotel information desk in the Beijing Airport. They stated it was a 3 star.

I choose a triple room which was only about $60 U.S. dollars a night (quite cheap). The hotel had a free shuttle that picked me up at the airport. The lobby area is very big and seemed clean. The guy who checked me in was very nice and spoke and understood English very well. There is a small deposit required at check in. The room was OK and seemed cleaned. The bathroom was OK as well, could have been a tad cleaner. I ate at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Waitresses didn't speak much English, the food was OK. There is internet access in the lobby for a small fee per hour. There is also a gift shop, coffee house and small convenience store located in the lobby area. Overall the hotel was OK for the price and distance to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank smitr2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kolding, Denmark
110
Reviewed October 27, 2005

Rooms are large, but never have I seen so dirty rooms and carpets. The hotel claimed over telephone to be 4* but turned out to be only 3* at arrival. The personel are really bad at english, and will do their best to trick you. We were told that a trip to the railway station would take very long time, and they demanded 300RMB for it. In reallity it took 30 min. and hence we had to wait at the station for 2 hours for no reason. Also it turned out that the trip in taxi cost less than 1/3.

Hence don't stay there if you don't really have to!!!

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 15, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed September 21, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Capital International Airport
Jinglin Hotel
Jinglin Hotel
#2,542 of 6,568 in Beijing
39 reviews
Beijing Capital International Airport
Airport YUANHANG International Hotel Beijing
Airport YUANHANG International H...
#1,871 of 6,568 in Beijing
56 reviews
Beijing Capital International Airport
Days Hotel Beijing New Exhibition Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Capital International Airport
Cordis, Beijing Capital Airport
Beijing Capital International Airport
CITIC Hotel Beijing Airport
CITIC Hotel Beijing Airport
#473 of 6,568 in Beijing
412 reviews
Beijing Capital International Airport
Crowne Plaza Beijing International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Garden Hotel

Address: Near Huayi Bridge, Beijing Capital International Airport, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100621, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Capital International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,496 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Garden Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing