We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to Beijing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #68 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my first time in Asia ever and I could not have picked a better hotel to stay in Beijing!
Pros:
*location is perfect! 7 eleven half a block down, shopping stores like Gucci, Zara, Adidas, etc on the same street.
*breakfast is very tasty: omellets, sushi, bakery, fruits, noodles! If you are a coffee lover there is a real coffee machine where you can make your own espresso.
*staff speaks decent English (very much appreciated)
*the electrical plugs at the room are suited for American and european plugs. No need to buy converters.
*very well equipped gym

Cons:
*free wifi only at the lobby. Wifi in your room is $20 dollars a day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaViajeraSolitaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,
We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel and were satisfied with both our location, staff service and our breakfast. Your comments will encourage us to keep our high standard service quality and aim even higher. We look forward to welcome you again soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Service was five-star all the time. The food is great, the rooms are clean. We stayed a week and had no issues. Check out the night market about a block from the apple store. It's a must see. The hotel is in a pretty good spot, close to most attractions and markets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave2003069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well I am gonna start with some constructive feedback for the hotel.I think having stayed with luxury hotel brands worldwide, the difference was quite felt.This feedback needs no money but just staff training.

- First the staff (Reception,F&B, Kitchen,Housekeeping,etc) needs to know that they are in hospitality industry. So they need to do something very basic with the guests called "SMILE".None of the Receptionists or the hosts at the restaurant or any staff for that matter, ever Smiles.

- Second in the hospitality industry you also need to do something called "Greet the guest" like "Good Morning" or a "Good Evening" when they pass by or when you pass by them. None of the staffs ever bothered to wish - not us okay but not to any guests that we came across too.

- When guests leave the restaurant, the servers or the hosts needs to say something like "Thank You" or "Thank you for coming". Forget "Thank You", nobody bothers to even look up to you when you are leaving the restaurant.

- Even if you have no work, the option for staff is NOT to sit at the guest area and play games on their mobile phones. When we walked up to the Spa Reception area, we found 2-3 girls sitting at Spa Reception playing games on their mobile and others laughing and chitty chatting to glory.

- The staff needs to show an inclination to help the guests. Any staff you approach from any department for that matter, will look at you as if they are doing some kind of favor.Their tone of voice/attitude is not something that they are doing from their heart for the guests except the Concierge.

- At breakfast, the kitchen staff/omellete station chef ALWAYS will do the following:-
1. Give you a very sad look in the morning as if he has been forced to cook omelets for the guests. No Smile, no wishing, no eye contact,etc.
2. Will definitely either NOT know English or pretend to NOT know English, so there is no way you can communicate to them how you wish your omelette to be prepared.
3. It is difficult to get any F&B staff attention during breakfast service as they all seem to be too busy although the only service that they do at your table is give you a cup of tea/coffee and clear you plates. Anyways even when you manage to get a staff to communicate in Chinese to the Chef what you want, your omelette will still be wrong with not the correct ingredients you wanted to have or totally tasteless.
4. When you finally manage to tell the chef what you want, he will ALWAYS say this to you " It will take 5 minutes to prepare the omelette". So then you say Okay take that 5 minutes post which the look that you get from the Chef will make you feel "Oh God! Why did I ask him to prepare it? I might would have done my breakfast without an omellette".

- There are some very important departments where you NEED staff to speak English. When you are staying with Crowne Plaza, you are paying not only for the room but also for the 5 star service and specially in China, you are also paying for English Speaking staff.The door man doesn't know how to speak English. How on earth is he gonna help the guests get a taxi or give them directions??? A lot of servers don't speak English. How on earth will you place the order or tell them your dietary preferences???

- The staff needs to learn NOT to say "NO" on the face to the guest but give options. When we asked for a taxi to be called since it was raining, the Bell boy said "No cannot call a taxi now as it is raining".Okay so what are my options?? Should I take a metro or should I just walk?? Maybe a better way to put it would been "Sorry a taxi won't be available now as it is raining but if you wish I can direct you towards the metro station".No such thing said or done.

The staff clearly looks demotivated or untrained on guest interaction.To me, when I get into a hotel it is not the marble or the flower decoration that makes a difference. It is clearly the staff and their willingness to help is what makes the difference and Crowne Plaza failed miserably in that field.

Now to start with some hotel features that needs improvement:-

- Serving paper napkins during breakfast for a 5 star hotel is just not acceptable.C'mon even a 3 star hotel puts serviette on the table.
- Internet in the room is really really bad. I had very slow internet connection (although I was paying for it) for the entire stay.
- The room is good but definitely looks worn out.Needs renovation I guess.
- Restaurant closes at 10PM and In room dining has a very very limited choice of food, basically some sandwiches and some Chinese dishes. For a city hotel, 10 PM is too early. You need to have the restaurants open at least until 11 PM or have a wider choice of food available through In Room Dining.

Now the positives:-

- Location,Location and Location. It is in a damn good location with everything accessible nearby.
- The Metro is a little far though but you can reach by 10-15 mins walking from the hotel.
- Ask for Leo in Concierge. He was so very good in planning our trip. It just made our stay.
- The duty manager Aaron tried to help us out when we were having trouble with internet.Thanks to him for that.
- Check In was smooth and we didn't had to wait for long and so was with our C/Out as well.
- Housekeeping did a good job cleaning our room although our room had no dustbin.

I actually wished to send this feedback to the GM of the hotel, but when I asked for his contact details at the desk, it looked as if I have asked something realllly BIG. The Receptionist called up his manager, who in turn gave somebody else's e-mail id to me. So I just let it be.This was my first Crowne Plaza experience and I am not too sure if I would prefer to stay again.

I feel if you have opened a 5 star hotel and you feel you should charge X amount of money for it, you need to be prepared to give service as well.I personally won't mind to pay a little extra provided you give me the value for my money in terms of the product and the service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priyanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing for your recent stay and sharing your experience. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. And here we want to extend our sincere apologies. We have taken up the matter you mentioned with the hotel operation team. We will continue to provide training, as we always do to the staff to keep improving the service standard, food quality and English communication ability. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We also appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest. We hope to welcome you again in Beijing. And we promise your next stay will be a great experience.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Checked into this hotel hassle free in under 6 minutes. Everything was ready and very much appreciated since I had just come off a very long flight. The Hotel is a little aged, but has all the amenities you could expect. The location is great, its right in the middle of the shopping scene and less than 2km from Forbidden City.

I will stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Top floor, west side or main street side of hotel. Forbidden City View on a clear day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmaousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A truly excellent hotel. Very comfortable room, perfect temperature, with great service. The (Western) breakfast was excellent and light bites unavoidable. If in any doubt where to stay, stay here. Asia I think could have 6 star hotels. This may not be a palace but it's pretty close and a solid 4 star hotel.

The hotel is in a great location one metro stop from Tiananmen square. It is central with pretty good shopping all around. Be sure to travel the area as there is so much more! No complaints about the hotel but as it was my first night in China I've come to see how some hotels are really exceptional. Currently in the Sofitel in Xi'an.. very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here one night while on tour , very spacious room , superb location for up market shopping , staff where helpful sorting wifi problem even allowing use off there PC. I always enjoy crowne plaza hotels never a let down....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaggie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ended our south east asia trip in Beijing and spent 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza. After a long day of travelling from Hong Kong to Beijing my first impression of the Crowne Plaza was impressive ( with the exception of the doorman who made all 24 of us and our luggage use the small revolving door to get in instead of using the side door!). The lobby dotted with lights is clean and spacious with a small pond and water feature and the big glass elevators all overlooking the main area. The staff were brilliant and our check in was quick and efficient.

Our room on the 6th floor was a nice size although smelt of smoke. The bed was clean and comfortable with a glass dressing table in the other corner. we had a view out onto the main street which was nice and it didnt seem to be to noisy. The only downside was the decor of the bedroom and bathroom looked like it had seen better days. The carpet could of done with being replaced, the bathroom a lick of paint and perhaps a new bit of furnature would of bought this hotel in line with others. Water is chargeable but you do get one free bottle in the room which should be clearly lablled.

Our first night it was late so our large party went down to the bar in the lobby for a drink and some food. The staff coped well and bought our drinks and food ( we ate a burger from the bar menu) as best they could. Drinks are a little pricey but sort of what we expected for a main hotel in a big city.

The next morning we were up early for the buffet breakfast and we pleasently suprised at the choice and quality of the food.

After a long ( and cold) day out at the great wall of china and with another early start planned for the following day we decided to eat at one of the restaurants inside the hotel. My partner and i had the fillet steak and a jacket potato. The steak was huge and cooked to perfection :) followed by a few glasses of wine was a nice end to a busy day.

Our last day day we visited the ming tombs and a chinese acrobat show so again decided to eat in the hotel opting this time for the chinese restaurant and its famous Peking duck. We were a little disappointed as despite being the only couple dining staff were quite slow and the duck was very greasy and fatty. Having dinned out in other restaurants for lunch during our stay in Beijing we found most of our dishes in this restaurant rather bland and all tasted the same ( we expected something more for the price of it). Sharkfin soup was on the menu for £300 a go which gave a miss! Some of the others in our party went down the road to the night markets and sampled the local delights of spider and crickets! i wish we had of joined them more for entertainment then anything else.
We also found out after having already eaten that there is another all you can eat buffet restaurant at the hotel. After finishing our meal we went down to have a look and wish we had known of this sooner as the scallops and prawns we saw looked amazing and at a bargain price - should advertise this to people upon check in Crowne Plaza!

The following morning we were up early thanks to an organised wake up call arranged by our brilliant tour guide Roger ( thank you Roger!) . We enjoyed one last breakfast and said goodbye to Beijing and the Crown Plaza.

Would recommend for service and location. The main area of the hotel is lovley and the piano playing whilst relaxing in the bar sets a nice atmosphere. The rooms could do with being updated though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel.
And one thing I want to explain to you that the Chinese Restaurant is operated and managed independently from hotel. I will pass your suggestion to the restaurant management.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,528 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,690 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#60 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $84 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing