We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hotel in China”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #69 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first hotel in China -- it was very nice and the breakfast was delicious. Interesting to see a gas mask as an amenity! We were grateful for the lobby bar -- hard to find good beer and wine in China!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here in late February. The hotel was standard. A few details could make a big difference, the bathroom needed new grouting and the carpeting had seen better days. But the staff was great! I am an ambassador status, received free WiFi. Breakfast was quite reasonable. We enjoyed the street life. Walked to a nice place for duck dinner. My nephew wanted to get a haircut, staff found him a place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank palrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Regarding your comments to our bathroom and carpet, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel benefits from location but lacks any kind of lustre. rooms are on the small side and surround the atrium ( where a piano plays from early evening very audible in the room!). Furniture is very dated and in our damanged. One day the beds were not made up after the room had been cleaned.
We walked down one flight of stairs from our room to the chinese restaurant and discovered on the emergency stirs on each landing there was a rodent trap and a proliferation of cigarette butts.
I asked for boarding passes to be printed in the business centre - RMB 10 per page!!!!!!!!!
This was my last stop on a "5 star" tour of China - thankfully the other hotels lived up to the 5 star image

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guest.
We would like to apologies for the discomfort and unhappiness experienced in our hotel. We have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of the Crown Plaza Brand and that you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you back. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nothing like checking to a hotel at 1am receiving a room upgrade and a friendly employee wanting you to feel welcome.

Close by to tourist sites and great shopping area.

Would recommend without hesitation..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. And we are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Crowne Plaza Wangfujing
I stayed at this hotel with my wife for our 4 nights that we were in Beijing. Overall the hotel was spacious, rooms were clean and had good gym facilities. We ended up catching a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was about 100RMB we were expecting to pay about 150RMB as listed on the hotels website so that was a nice surprise.
THE LOCATION The hotel was in a really good location walking distance to Tiananmen square and the forbidden city about 20-25 minutes. The Subway was about a 10-15 Minute walk away but to both of these places you walk down Wangfujing St which is like a mall filled with shops either side so not exactly a boring walk. Donghuamen night market is a 5 minute walk if that. The best restaurant we came across Du Wan Fu is also about a 5 minute walk away. All the high end shopping is around here and quite a few of the fancy hotels are in the same area.
SERVICE The service that we got at the hotel was fairly average it wasn’t anything special and we didn’t have any problems with it at all. Staff where quite attentive and most could speak fairly good English. The concierge were able to speak good English and nothing was a problem for them providing us with plenty of information on things to do and what was around in the area.
FOOD Food at the hotel was again nothing special but nothing wrong with it. We did have a look at the buffet that was available but didn’t eat it while we were there, for the price and for what was on it we couldn’t justify paying what they were asking even though we were told they could give us a special promotion price if we ate there. There is about 3 different restaurants at the hotel a Steak Restaurant a Chinese restaurant and also the nightly buffet however there are plenty of other options around the hotel that we found much cheaper. There is also KFC and Mcdonald’s nearby.
FACILITIES
After a long day sightseeing everyday we ended up in the spa and the pool, the spa was kept at 38 degrees and the pool was about 26 I think it was nice to be able to relax in that at the end of the day. There was also a fully equipped gym that had weights, treadmill, exercise bike, step machine etc and was fine to have a little workout.
THE ROOM
The room was spacious and the bed was a good king size, there was also a pillow menu which was available. The bathroom included a bath and was again a decent size. The bathroom however had transparent glass so if someone was in there with the light on the whole room was lit up.
There was a selection of about 3 watchable English channels on the TV 2 movie channels and National Geographic. Room was serviced daily and was never any problems. The mini bar is ridiculously priced so we avoided that.
The hotel did have free wifi in the lobby and wifi that you had to pay for was available in the room, it was priced quite highly so we only used it in the lobby. The lobby was quite slow however did the job for what we were after.

Overall if going back to Beijing I wouldn’t hesitate staying at this hotel it was quite decently priced was in a great location and was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twindadtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After finally reaching Beijing, we were jaw dropping impressed when we reach the hotel lobby. Wonderful grand lobby with free internet access. Bellstaff and front desk was very hospitable and seemed genuinely concerned that all of our needs were met. Very helpful at all times of the day. After a long trip the indoor heated pool and whirlpool in the spa was a treat on the top floor of the hotel. It is very close to several of the main "must do" spots of Beijing. Be sure to sign up for Priority Club prior to arrival to get free drink tickets in the lounge. They had live entertainment nightly and an affordable happy hour deal. For massage service, a half a block away is a better option. The weird food market a street away you must see and do. Be sure to get the cross street directions in Mandarin for the driver so you are sure to get there.

Room Tip: Probably not a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel s located in a fantastic location. It us near the shopping area and night market street and the Tiananmen Square. The staff from the time we walked into the lobby are helpful and always smiling. They are always ready to help and speak rather good English. The quality of breakfast is another attraction and it makes a perfect start for the day. What a great place to start our winter vacation in China. If we are to come back to Beijing, we will sure stay here again. One thing for improvement is the Internet. This is not up to standard.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kokeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. And we are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Regarding your comment to our WIFI service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#61 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $89 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing