We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #65 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We travelled as a family and chose the hotel due to location and a recommendation from a friend. We were more than impressed with the service we upgraded our accommodation to the club floor well worth the premium, as it included breakfast tea and per dinner cocktails and canapés.
the first evening we had dinner in the steak restaurant Argus which was excellent quality and very efficient
The concierge were most helpful if securing the tickets we needed the car transfers and our restaurant reservations
We met the Manager who was highly visible throughout our stay which was good to see but unusual in chain hotels today.
All in all I think that the hotel with its excellent service great location should be on everybody's short list when looking for a quality hotel in Beijing

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Asunama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    652
    269
    83
    37
See reviews for
295
355
113
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It stated 5 star hotel, but everything is so old and dirty, it is a 2 star quality. Not worth by paying so much. When I checked in, I went to room, it is so old and dirty, especially the chair, it should be changed many many year ago, but they never done it. I went to the front desk to complaint, and the answer from them is "our hotel is like this", every room the same. After discussing for a while, they decide to upgrade me to a better room. When I open the door, the room is an old design and all furniture is so old. When you see the bath tube, you do not even want to use. Not because of their location, I do not think they can survive till today. In term of Service, please do not expect you will have a 5 star hotel service, then you will be happier

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tungjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing for your recent stay and sharing your experience. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. We certainly take all of your comments very seriously indeed. Please rest assure that you experience has been discussed with our management for their needed improvements. Again we will pay serious attention on our facility and really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Beijing for two (2) nights after asking my tour operator for a high rated hotel that is centrally located to restaurants and shops. We are very pleased with this hotel selection because it met all of our expectations. The Wangfujing Shopping Street is right in front of the hotel and we just a few steps away from some large shopping malls and many restaurants. This hotel is also close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden Palace.

As for the accommodations, the room size is adequate - with comfortable Queen-size bed, 2-night stands, desk, easy chair, LCD TV, etc. We slept well for the 2-nights that we stayed in Beijing. The breakfast buffet was good in both quality and selection. Most of the hotel staff - front desk, bell boy, waitresses, etc - spoke English fairly well (not all hotels in China have as many staff members who speaks English).

I would definitely recommend this hotel for stays in Beijing because of its central location, comfortable rooms and good English speaking staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,
We are glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel and were satisfied with both our room facilities, breakfast and service. Your comments will encourage us to keep our high standard service quality and aim even higher. We look forward to welcome you again soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at many places during my professional career but I was gobsmacked by the excellent service at this hotel in Beijing. From the General Manager (Michael) to his very friendly staff (includes Samantha, Joyce & Yahn) we felt as though we were family. We dined at the Angus Grill and enjoyed the sumptous breakfasts. This hotel is spotless and the staff really do enjoy thier work and are genually interested in the guests. My only complaint is that my stay was too short.

I have no commercial connection with Crown Plaza - I paid for my accomodation.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked colourful Wangfujing Street but little or no noise came in through the shut wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our second time staying at The Crowne Plaza in Beijing. Our first visit was in 2007 when we were touring China before we adopted our daughter. Both times we have been pleased.
Rooms and bathroom were clean. Linens were soft and we had had plenty of comfortable pillows.
Beds were firm as all are in China.
There is free wifi in the lobby and a fee to use it in our room.

We opted to upgrade to Club level and it was very well worth the money. Each evening we were treated with heavy Hors d'oeuvre and wine. It also included beer or mixed drinks. The evening we returned from climbing the Jingshanling Great Wall this was our dinner.

Our favorite treat was walking to the Wangfujing shopping area. It has a market for Chinese trinkets to bring home and exotic food items all served on a stick. My husband and his coworker tried scorpion, snake, and octopus on a stick. Best part was neither one got sick!:)

Within walking distance we ate at a local dumpling house that was delicious! You can actually watch the dumplings being handmade.
We also revisited a Peking Duck restaurant. You cannot travel to Beijing without a Peking duck!

Room Tip: On our second visit we stayed higher up requiring the elevators. We did not have to wait long to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniewyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
The positive feedback we receive is an encouragement for our team to do even better for
guests who seek the comforts and hospitality of a great hotel.
Thank you very much for the compliments.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights during our tour of China. All of the employees were very friendly. They have an Exchange machine so if you have US dollars you can trade them for yuan. The rooms are nice, but a little dated. This hotel had the best breakfast out of all the other ones we stayed in. They have Eastern and Western selection - we loved the bacon there. They have a fantastic pastry chef - lots of goodies and wonderful croissants.
Our beds were hard, but housekeeping brought up extra blankets for us to pad our mattresses. The location is really close to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden city. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgrrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Property is in a central location, shops, banks, restaurants that is the absolute best thing about this hotel. Lobby is shared with a restaurant that throws off the usual "Asian" fare smells that are locked into the hallways. No wi-fi, marginal comfort nothing special for $140 USD a night.....
old furnishing, room faced an alley, windows did not open to get the smell out....staff was OK.....
My opinion for that money there are better options and my overall experience with Crown Plaza overall is there is better value elsewhere. Just a note I used PriceLine the Negotiator feature and this hotel was chosen and I could not cancel..lesson learned...use travel sites for research then call the property directly they often meet internet prices or better yet visit the property before committing....

Room Tip: Find better value at other properties...the only good about this Crown is its location...but a bad v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing for your recent stay and sharing your experience. At the same time, we would like to apologies for the discomfort and unhappiness experienced in our hotel. We have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of the Crown Plaza Brand and that you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you back.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#60 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#74 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#75 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Beijing
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#81 Business Hotel in Beijing
#93 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing