We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,719)
Filter reviews
1,719 results
Traveler rating
546
720
307
100
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
720
307
100
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsangus grillforbidden cityclub floorwalking distanceexcellent locationcentral locationwangfujing areanight marketconcierge teamchinese restaurantbreakfast buffetshopping streetbit datedfree internetlobby barhotel is greattourist attractions
Filter
Updating list...
1,066 - 1,071 of 1,719 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days, and was mostly happy with the experience. You can't get a better location - this is just a few mins drive from the Forbidden City, and next to the popular pedestrian shopping street Wanfujing. My room price included the breakfast, which was fantastic. The rooms very clean and comfortable, and the staff very professional, helpful and English-speaking.

But there were some issues:
- Organized prostitution. Upon arrival at the hotel, I wanted to have a jetlag-massage...the spa promised to send me a masseuse to my room. I was pretty surprised when the lady turned out to be a prostitute. I was almost certain of this already when I saw her - she was wearing a mini-skirt and high heels, and, indeed, after a few minutes of rubbing she went right into the business. I sent her back, refused to pay anything, and was sent a real massause after a few minutes. The Spa apologized the "confusion". Prostitution is a crime in China and not something an international 4-star hotel should be involved with.
- A/C. This hotel has big issues with the A/C. It is ice cold and there is no way to turn it warm enough. Fortunately I did not need any the A/C in mid-September. Many guests have complained about the A/C in previous reviews so the hotel should really do something about this.
- Internet price. I had to use internet for business and in the end of my stay paid $200 USD for it (i.e. $20/day). Just ridiculous!

Despite this few issues, I am willing to consider staying there again...if the A/C would just work...!

Room Tip: Top Floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hulivili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is most definitely not worth the money. I will not return, Firstly we were not greeted by reception when we arrived. Secondly, room not cleaned to european 5 star standard. Thirdly food/drink prices in hotel are ridiculously high. Fourtly very rude and unfriendly nordic resteraunt manager who appeared to spend his time eating and not servicing guests. Much nicer hotel across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience. And here we want to extend our sincerely apologies. We have taken up your comments with our operations team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps have been taken to avoid any recurrence.

Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. We hope this incident did not mar your overall impression of Crown Plaza Brand and you can afford us an opportunity of welcoming you back.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks recently at the Crowne Plaza due to its proximity to Wangfujing Street. On positive side the breakfast was lovely, concierge were quite helpful, room was pleasant and gym was a bonus. Unfortunately the negatives far outweight the positives- where do i start! on arrival we received no welcome from a very abrupt front of staff office male member. Welcome package states breakfast ends at 11am, we went down on first morning at 10.35 to be told breakfast was over and we could not be facilitated, this is disgraceful treatment. On the 2nd day we arrived for breakfast at 10.20 and were told that we only have 10 mins to eat our breakfast- again this is unacceptable treatment. One day we arrived back tired from day trip to great wall looking forward to sleep in clean room at 1.15pm to find that the room had not been cleaned, we reported this to front desk- duty manager who informed us that we had a do not disturb light on door, this was incorrect as our light never worked from day 1. The blonde european resteraunt manager was extremely unfriendly and never once greeted us or asked could he assist. On checkout we were never asked after 2 wk stay if we had a nice time, nor did we receive a receipt - very bad customer care. Overall nice comfortable room and convenient location but management should pay alot more attention to customer care.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank alebebe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities available here. This is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer. I am pleased our concierge was helpful to you and you did find your room, breakfast and the gym to your liking.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for couple of nights in Aug 2011.
Location was excellent. Staff spoke perfect English.
Hotel room was nice and well maintained.
Overall it has similar quality and value in compare
to other Crowne Plaza hotels in other countries.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Travel_reviews_12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Thank you for your fantastic comments. We are delighted to note that the hotel’s location and service was perfect for you, it is always our aim to provide all of our guests the feeling like home. We hope that our hotel will become your choice for your future visits to Beijing. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the last 4 days of our 17 day trip to China. It was a great choice. We enjoyed hanging out in the comfortable lobby, the breakfast buffet was wonderful, and my kids (9,9,11,&13) were thrilled to swim every day in the indoor pool. The staff spoke perfect English; one young man was a Chinese American college student spending his summer there. The concierge was incredibly helpful, arranging a car and driver for a trip to the Great Wall, with 12 hours notice! It was the only hotel on our trip that had wifi. Wangfujing is a great location, with lots of stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear guest, Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your end of trip away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the facility and location of hotel impressed you deeply. We also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay .Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews