We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveler rating
545
720
307
100
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
720
307
100
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsangus grillforbidden cityclub floorwalking distanceexcellent locationcentral locationwangfujing areanight marketconcierge teamchinese restaurantbreakfast buffetshopping streetbit datedfree internetlobby barhotel is greattourist attractions
Filter
Updating list...
1,102 - 1,107 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The location of this hotel, and the hotel itself are excellent. You are right in the midst of everything and a short walk to Forbidden City and T'Square. The sta are not overly helpful and communication is a big problem.
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n5371856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed here with 2 friends, and loved the location. It is within walking distance to the Forbidden City and the lots of other sights within Beijing. The room we had was more than acceptable with a nice bathroom. Even though we had an extra bed in there, we still had room to move even though we were three twenty soemthing girls with suitcases!

We never ate at the hotel, but did have drinks. It is expensive and I would advise going elsewhere as there are many places just outside the hotel where drinks are far less pricey. We used concierge to book a chinese acrobat show and a beijing duck restaurant, both of which were absolutley superb. We always got the concierge to write the name of the places we were going in chinese characters for the taxi drivers as they speak NO English at all, so is can be very hard to explain where you are going when you don't actualyl know yourself and share no language!

Very pleasant hotel which looks and feels quite luxurious. Excellent location for the food market down the road and many sights in Beijing. Tour companies can also be found just down the road.

We never had breakfast here, as we ate at one of the many local places which was more than adequate and much cheaper. On our last day we left our luggage with the hotel as our overnight train wasn't until the evening - no problems at all.

Overall a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twickenhamteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Crown Plaza hotel at Wangfujing is located brilliantly in the heart of Beijing, very close to the famous food street at Wanfujing that offers a lovely walk in the evening. The place is not very far off from Tianenmen square and The Forbidden City as well. The hotel staff was very warm and helpful. The staff helped us deal with the language problem by providing us translations for English to Chinese on paper slips and also guided us for moving around in the neighborhood. Conversing with the hotel staff in English was not a problem at all. The food and drinks were great and there was ample variety. Though the vegetarian options were limited but it was still way better than the vegetarian options available outside the hotel. The rooms were cozy and quite. Although the in-room entertainment was limited as majority channels were showing programmes in local language. Internet connectivity was ok (though not very great speed) though most sites such as facebook were not accessible. The hotel also arranged for our travel to the Great Wall of China and other tourist sites around. Overall the 4 night stay at Crowne Plaza made the trip a wonderful first time experience in China.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ritumittal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

we have stayed in this hotel 1 night and while there were not major complains, we did not like the front desk staff as they were very rude and unfriendly and just tossed the keys across the counter without even half smile or a word. The bell boy who also helps the consierge is very sneaky and tries to earn a bit of money on teh side by offering his friend's taxi services to go touring or to the great wall and undermines any official tourist companies including the one that we ended up using for our tour.
Rooms are OK though sound proffing was a bit of an issue with some wild chinese party happening next door.
the Angus steak restaurant was totally empty in the evening and they do not know how to make cocktails there.
Overall, not exactly a 5* hotel that we are used to, rather 4* at best, but great location makes it up for it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlenKa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed for a night during one of the business trips and while the location of hotel is decent, overall hotel look & feel is very run down. Rooms, carpets, lobby, check-in experience was mediocre. Hotel’s proximity with the “Wangfujing” makes it a bearable hotel. Otherwise, avoid if you can.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qaiser B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews