We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra services are outrageously expensive”
Review of Prime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prime Hotel
Ranked #57 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Thalwil, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Extra services are outrageously expensive”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed with a large group and need 10 envelopes and 48 print copies and had to pay 490 CNY or over 80 USD. The concierge was rather aggressive when i complained about the excessive price. Likewise they charge you 10 USD for an espresso café. Avoid to use their excessively priced services and enjoy the good location of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    473
    143
    42
    27
See reviews for
139
234
74
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week whilst visiting Beijing.

The hotel was clean, staff were polite and most spoke English. I didn't eat there every night but when we had dinner and breakfast there was a good selection. Our room was nice and spacious, the only problem was that we were on a no smoking floor but it still smelt smokey. I don't think this can be avoided in Beijing though, I'm just used to being in the UK where people can't usually smoke indoors?

The hotel is close to the busy shopping street in Beijing, including 'snack street'. We also walked from the hotel to The Forbidden City and the Hutongs but we like to walk a lot whilst on holiday, not everyone will find it an easy walk.

I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I never ended up eating at the hotel or spending much time there in the day, but whatever time I did spend there it was comfortable.

The rooms are clean and the bathrooms, though jazzy looking, are clean too. All kinds of random amenities are there in the bathroom for you to pay for and use if you like.

The staff is very helpful. As I speak English, on two different occasions the staff at the front desk took almost ten minutes to painstakingly write down all the directions in Chinese for me so all I needed to do was show them to the locals and be on my way. This really saved me.
There is an ATM in the lobby which is very convenient.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamifine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few nights while on business in Beijing. The hotel is in good location, 500 m away from underground stop, walking distance from a main shopping area and also a nigh market or at least a modern version of it with interesting food options. 20-25 mins away from Forbidden city and Tianmen Sq. We have found a traditional restaurant 5 mins from the hotel if you are looking for an alternative to hotel dining: http://www.bjliuzhaishifu.com/ ! We went there a couple of times!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent buffet and one block from the pedestrian mall. Well-appointed rooms with multiple electricity options. Very clean and modern. English-speaking front desk was sufficiently easy to communicate with. The

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyFromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked our room online and got a great deal. The hotel is huge, and its close to the Forbidden city, the Wangfujing crept/crawly food-street and Tiannamen square.
The staff is helpful, and will write down everything for you in chinese if you ask. Taxis are no problem, the doorman will get you one in a jiffy. The rooms are clean, the wifi is free and accessible in the rooms which is great. There's an ATM on the recetption floor. We didn't order in because we were out all the time, so I really don't know how the food was. But it is in a good location and good for the price.
Be careful with the safe. Ask them to show you how to use it before you put anything inside it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anushka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at this "old school" hotel whilst on business in Beijing. I found the location to be very central and the hotel is within walking distance of the nearby shops, markets and for a bit of sightseeing, the Forbidden City.

On arrival at the hotel, travellers will be greeted by a very large entrance foyer with a beautiful flowing staircase to the upper level where you will find some fine dining restaurants. Although I didn't eat at these restaurants, they did look very appealing.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, although English was a bit of a problem with certain staff. Make sure you get your receptionist to give you written directions in Chinese for your taxi driver as none of the taxi's I encountered, spoke English.

The hotel rooms are well appointed and have all the amenities you may require. Of the 47 TV Channels in the room, only two are English, so don't plan on a night in.

Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and the variety available was adequate. Service in the restaurant isn't up to standard and I often had to call on a waiter to get more coffee or to have my plates cleared. The food however was great and you wont be found wanting for anything.

Bar prices are a bit steep, so rather pop out to one of the many taverns just down the road.

This hotel is worth a look if you are planning a trip to Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,441 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,891 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,609 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,151 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#79 of 6,522 in Beijing
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime Hotel

Property: Prime Hotel
Address: No.2 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#36 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#52 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#72 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prime Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prime Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing