We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but look under the beds!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Friendship Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beijing Friendship Hotel
Ranked #187 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Orpington
Level Contributor
371 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Good hotel but look under the beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

I arrived at ~1120 local time after a lively 60 minute taxi ride from the airport (86 yuan). First experience of congestion in Beijing and driving style! No problems checking in to room. On 4th floor of #3 building with balcony. Good facilities, including BBC and CNN on TV. TV did not have Sleep facility. Some staining around bath in bathroom. Two bottles of complimentary water plus kettle & teabags. Warning about not drinking the water – some buildings are claimed to have drinkable water but not #3. Also toiletries, combined bath/shower, mini-bar, air-conditioning. One major limitation was lack of storage space in terms of drawers. Need to put room card in slot by door to get the electricity to work – seems common in Chinese hotels.

Bed turned down every night, curtains drawn and towels, toiletries, etc replaced. Good Night card left on pillow together with weather forecast for following day – invariably correct. Bed was firm – just what I like. Lights in room perfectly OK for reading – been in worse and few better.

I was a member of a paper selection committee for a forthcoming conference so I had a tour of other buildings including the main one – certainly more luxurious with larger family and business rooms. Interesting feature is glass panel between bedroom and bathroom! Not all rooms have baths – those without baths have a spacious purpose-built shower.

Reception staff were efficient though rarely smiling. Chamber maids were much more pleasant, friendly and polite.

Didn’t bother with breakfast – at £12-14 it was expensive. Other restaurants were great – didn’t try TG Fridays as I wanted ‘proper’ Chinese food but it seemed popular with non-westerners.

Post Office and shop on hotel complex. Staff at PO did not speak good English but we managed to communicate and she was friendly. In general the staff seemed to speak and understand English as long as it was not too complicated.

Metro station was about 15 minutes walk away, across a busy road, but watch the locals and cross when they do. Soon a new metro line will be open which will have a station just outside the hotel door. Using the metro was easy, 2 yuan for any distance and any number of changes. The metro is very modern and efficient, but don’t expect to get a seat. Took about an hour to get to Tiananmen Square.

On departure, after 2 nights, I found a pill and packet of paper hankies on the floor underneath my bed so cleanliness could be improved.

The hotel is opposite a big shopping complex but across a busy road – watch how the locals cross and copy them, though there is a pedestrian bridge ~10 minutes walk down the road.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    306
    135
    29
    10
See reviews for
8
27
17
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Beijing Friendship Hotel was well-priced (in part due to our getting the "conference rate" because my husband was attending an international jurisprudence conference) and clean. The staff was personable and helpful and the room-service food was stellar (if you like tofu and some serious spice, try the "bean curd with chile paste"--fantastic!). The hotel was a bit outside the city core, but the surrounds were pretty, the included breakfast was very good, and it was an overall nice stay. Only thing that could use improvement: the beds. Extremely hard.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mesotirhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

The hotel is situated right on the third ring road of Beijing and is not the obvious choice for visitors who plan to visit different sites in Beijing. Taxi is the only realistic means of getting anyway. The nearest subway station at the moment is a good 15 minutes' walk from the hotel but a brand new subway line (Line 4) will start to operate from 28 September 2009 with the Renmin University Station just 50M from the Friendship Hotel.

My room on the executive floor of building 1 is spacious with the usual amenities including a trouser-press and an exercise bike in the bathroom. There is a fax machine which I did not use. It seems that the hotel does not offer Wifi anymore but the cable connection is fast. It is not free and one has the option of paying per hour, per day or per month. It is very reasonable with 160 RMB per month and it is worth taking this option if you are staying more than two days.

Since I am here for a conference, all the meals are included. The food is average but there is a reasonable variety from which to choose. Otherwise, the price is rather high for F&B and there is a 15% serive charge on top of the listed price in the printed menus. There are however plenty of restaurants just about 10 minutes' from the hotel (around the cinema on the map at the back of the room key card).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I was here for a week attending a conference at the hotel.

The hotel complex is huge and the quality of the accommodation seems to vary considerably depending on how recently a particular accommodation block has been refurbished. I stayed in Building 4 and it was beginning to look a little tired - particularly the bathroom - however otherwise it was absolutely fine and better than many 4 star hotels I've stayed at in other cities.

Breakfast was served in a central dining hall and was a strange mixture of Western and Chinese.

I used to TGI Fridays in the complex on a couple of occasions for eating and drinking. It was pretty unremarkable and pricey.

Only downside is the distance out of central Beijing, although at around 30 Yuan the taxis into and out of town are pretty cheap..........drivers are absolutely crazy though!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

On arrival, we were greeted with a wonderful facade, giving the hotel an air of importance.
The hotel is split between a number of individual blocks, connected by underground walkways which were well signposted.
Our room was spacious but hanging space was at a premium in one small cupboard.
We had a problem with a leaking air con system, this was reported to the concierge and by the time we returned from our day out the problem hed been rectified with no fuss.
Breakfast was served until a decent hour and there was a large choice at the buffet, dinner was the usual 'round table' affair but I must admit that after 2 weeks of Chinese food I craved a big steaming plate of Roast beef and Yorkshire pudding!!
The hotel was clean and airy with attentive staff and situated at a reasonable distance from the sights of Beijing.

  • Liked — Clean and well laid out
  • Disliked — Air con took a long time to heat up.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chubbs403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Our 80 person high school tour group was part of hundreds of high school and adult musicians staying at the hotel while performing around Beijing. The location was about 40 minutes by bus from Tian An Men Square when the traffic was good. It is a huge complex with multiple buildings connected by underground passageways with multiple restaurants including a TGI Friday. Best of all is a minisupermarket with batteries, toiletries, souvenirs, fresh fruit and even kosher bagels, french bread, European chocolates, many kinds of Pocky and Canadian maple popcorn. My husband bought lots of granola bars for when the kids tired of Chinese food. There are ATMs everywhere that had no trouble accepting our American bank card (of course, call your bank before you leave your home country and tell them your travel plans). Interestingly, the machines also made change, if you had a large denomination bill. There was also a cashier in the lobby of our Building, 3.
Our rooms had windows that opened, and the showers were combo showers/toilets so you cannot use the toilet and the shower at the same time. There was a tap that sid drinking water; we didn't trust it. Electric kettles, teabags,Soap and shampoo, toothbrushes, and toothpaste, cotton robes and slippers were amenities. Bring a battery powered booklamp-room lights are dim for reading. Rooms were very quiet.

  • Liked — room to roam thru long corridors; great little supermarket
  • Disliked — room window leaked, they put a towel there and it stayed there for 5 days
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sundevilmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

My wife, 7 year old son, and I just returned from a 10 day stay at the BF hotel. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in Building 1 on the second floor. Evidently, the higher up you are in this building, the better the rooms (hard to imagine).

The room: The room was very nice, with marble, wood, nice bedding, flat screen TV, free wireless (network connection is not free), and many other amenities. You get three free bottles of water per day. There is also a small mini-bar fridge with room to store a few drinks and water bottles. Beijing was hot and humid the week we were there. The A/C worked very well in our room. We had a 'queen' sized bed, which is a king size in the US. Cots are available for our child.

The hotel is a campus, with many different buildings. The best feature of the hotel is the park-like setting. If this is your first trip to Beijing (as it was for us), it is hard to express in words just how chaotic the city can be. You have to experience it for yourself. The BF hotel is a haven.

The hotel has 6 restaurants, including a Friday's, which looks just like a Fridays in the US. We ate their twice. It was decent. There is a pool and fitness center, spa, and a small supermarket, adequately staffed with water, snacks, soft drinks, etc. There is a breakfast buffet in the Friendship Palace and on the 6th floor of Building 1. The buffet was interesting, a mixture of traditional and western dishes. It is a little pricey for Beijing ($14 US per person). We ate lunch and dinner around town. The swimming pool is 'free', but you must wear a swimming cap. Bring your own, or be prepared to pay 100 yuan per person (app. $15 US) for a cap. There is a business center that charges by the minute for computer use. You can get a cup of to-go coffee at any of the hotel restaurants, but it costs 50 yuan and China is a tea culture. The Starbucks across the street opens at 7:30.


The Staff/service: They are very friendly. The concierge and front desk staff are best at speaking English. The concierge made a reservation for us at a show. She really went the extra mile to make sure everything was in order. Service was very good. I had laundry done twice. No problems.

The setting: I was in Beijing on business at Renmin University. The BF and Yanshan are the closest hotels to Renmin U. If you are visiting this university, I would strongly urge you to stay at the BF. The hotel is across the street from a major department store, complete with Starbucks, Baskin Robbins, and Papa John's Pizza. One block down there is a shopping mall with restaurants on the 6th floor, and a supermarket (with much better prices) in the basement. Walk three or four blocks in any direction and you will pass plenty of restaurants.

The BF hotel is not near the tourist attractions. Cheap taxis are everywhere, use the gold stripe taxis.

I had a hard time booking my room through the BF website. I used bookings dot com.

I am returning in October and will stay in the same hotel.

  • Liked — Great place to stay if doing business in NW Beijing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fcm_baylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Zoo
Beijing Friendship Hotel Grand Building
Wudaokou
Park Plaza Beijing Science Park
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
Beijing Yanshan Hotel
#371 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Xiyuan Hotel
Xiyuan Hotel
#191 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#180 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Friendship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Friendship Hotel

Property: Beijing Friendship Hotel
Address: No.1 Zhongguancun South Main Street, Haidian District, Beijing 100873, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Zoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#184 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Friendship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1092
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Beijing Friendship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing