We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing International Hotel
Ranked #95 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is well-located. A 5 min. walk to Jiangguomen Metro (line 1), 2 stops to Wanfujing, 3 stops to Tian'anmen Sq.; with each ticket costing 2 RMB (20p), there's no point in walking. The hotel lobby is impressive, large and airy with a seating area on the right - as long as there isn't a conference next door, when they replace the seats with a 'reception' area. Our room was very clean and spacious, with large, comfortable twin beds, armchair, desk and tv. The aircon was not very efficient and the bathroom was tired and tatty and in need of attention. The door had obviously been damaged, and had been fixed with filler and a splash of paint, and the sealant round the bath and basin unit was dirty and needed replacing. And take a spare loo roll, they seem reluctant to replace even an almost empty one, and there are no spares. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of food but as other reviewers have noted, hot food is generally never more than tepid. However, the most disappointing part was the revolving restaurant. We had drinks in the 2nd floor bar on the first night, and drinks in the revolving bar on the second night, charging both to our room. We booked a table in the revolving restaurant for 8p.m. on the second night. All was fine at first; the views are spectacular and the service was good, although we had expected that in a 5* hotel, the staff would have a better understanding/command of English. The food is fine, although not spectacular, but the ambience was very pleasant. The problem started at about 9.20 when were told that as the area was a performance bar after 10, all bills should be settled by then, if we wanted to charge it to our room. Not a problem. We ordered dessert, and the waitress said she would bring the bill, and then came back again after 5 minutes repeating that she would bring the bill. We pointed out that there was still over 30 minutes to the witching hour, and we would pay by 10. When she brought the desserts, once again she said she would bring the bill now. This was beginning to get rather tiresome. After seeing her hovering in the background while we were finishing dessert, we asked for the bill at 9.45, charged it to our room, and were then told this could not be done. We asked to speak to the Manager, who repeated the same thing, saying that there wasn't enough credit on the room. So we then asked to speak to the Service Manager, who finally confirmed that the charge had been made to our room. We were not asked to provide a credit card imprint when we checked in, which we have assumed caused the problem. But what started off as an enjoyable evening was spoiled by this exchange at the end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel has a very good location. The rooms are nice and the breakfast buffet is very good. You have a variety of chinese and western food.
The only thing I did not like is that there are many parts of the hotel that stinks... People smoke inside the hotel and rooms and since I am not a smoker I hate this smell and it even gives me allergies.
We had to ask to change rooms, because the smell was unbearable. The new room did not smell, however the towels stank... The smell of cigarrette had permeated.
That was the only thing I did not like, but the rest was pretty good.

Room Tip: It is very important that if you don´t smoke to tell the hotel to give you a room in the non-smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Walking into the impressive and expansive lobby, with excellent reception staff, who were kind enough to upgrade us, one had high hopes for this hotel, but sadly it was a letdown.

I have hence upgraded my experience from Poor to Average , in thanks to reception team,

The rooms were dated from the mid eighties, with everything, especially the badly nicked wooden surfaces, clearly showing their age.

It was very hot in Beijing and the aged central aircon struggled to cope. I woke up every night drenched in sweat.A complaint was made, but nothing was done about it.

The breakfast restaurant was abysmal. The restaurant itself was impressive, and appeared newly renovated, with lovely views over the central courtyard and pond.
The buffet selections were numerous, and well topped up, but all the hot food was stone cold. . The burners at the bottom of the hot pans were insufficient to come with the volume of the food in there.
The service staff were clueless, and there did not appear to have any manager or supervisor in control. We were led to our table one morning , and when we got up to pick our selections from the buffet, our table was given away to another guest.
Tea and Coffee had to be requested, and served without teaspoons. It took long minutes of miming, and gesticulating for the waitstaff to understand what a teaspoon was, and then only one was proffered on a table of 2.
More than poor English skills, there appeared to be poor comprehension skills among the staff,
There is no shortage of wait staff around, but all appear to be roaming around in circles, quite clueless,
We were not tempted to try any other outlets for meals, given the chaos we experienced at breakfast.
The wi fi in the room worked sporadically, and appeared to be free.
Our driver also experienced issues with the car park attendant to charged him for entering the premises to pick us up. Apparently only the first few minutes are free, and they then start charging for parking.
Housekeeping did a great job with what they had to contend with, and our room, and all common areas were always clean.
Checkout was a breeze, and no issues were experienced there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a renovated floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gus116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely place to stay. The Service is excellent, the people on the front desk very helpful. Perfect location, close to tourist attractions and food. The lobby is big and spacious. The perfect place for the international traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I think the title of this review just about covers it, but as I am obliged to write a minimum of 200 characters, I will just mention that this isn't a very good hotel for the money we paid. A number of things in the room either didn't work well or didn't work at all. We were charged for things that we hadn't used (i.e. the internet TV, because after we logged on using the mouse, the keyboard didn't work). in fairness the hotel did back down on that one eventually!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

me and my mother stayed 7 nights there because we could not book another good Hotel.

a 3.5 Star Hotel !

very Old Hotel, Staff don't know English at all except reception, dirty breakfast.

0- Hotel Staffs can't speaks English, you ask : is this water ? in Chinese you here something that she means I don't understand. you ask is Tap water drinkable ? you hear what ??

1- Breakfast was very dirty, lots of bugs (fly) on foods, the waiter who clean's others finished dishes, same person serve's fork, knife and plate for you with same wet hand !

2- If you missed your military service, try Beijing International Pool. you are not 1 minute alone, one personnel is chasing you at all time. you can not enter without cap (that it is a good thing) you think, wow what a good quality, but there are blood on the towels of the sauna.
they ask you to take off your swimwear to enter to the cold jacuzzi (it was not hot, wrote 45 degrees centigrade , was 20).

Bath tub was for 100 years ago !

Water Tap, you have to be Rocky to open it and you will get wet by compliments.

Lobby is very noisy, you can visit 100 people each time you enter the Lobby.

---------------------------------

Positive :

Very Fast and Good house Keeping Services.

5 minute to Metro Station but you have to go down 182 Steps, there is no Escalator !!!!

There is an automatic money Exchange Machine in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Don't Stay at this Hotel ! Not a five Star Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hossein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while travelling around china and what a great place this is. Buzzing with life and a fantastic location to get into the city. Can't go wrong with the price you pay for it! Also Beijing is a great city and easy to get to the great wall

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmartin199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#175 of 6,606 in Beijing
350 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing West Railway Station
Tangla Hotel Beijing
Tangla Hotel Beijing
#57 of 6,606 in Beijing
351 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#97 of 6,606 in Beijing
256 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#35 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $94 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beijing International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing