We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Place to stay while in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beijing International Hotel
Ranked #94 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed here everytime we have visited Beijing. We love this hotel!! So central to everything from the Silk Market to the Forbbiden City. THe buffet breakfast downstairs is not to be missed. I can't say enough about this hotel. It's our famiies favorite!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanrorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel late June after missing a flight and being accidentally stranded in Beijing. It is a decent hotel with good service. Despite that its age starts to show here and there, the hotel has a certain charm from the 70s and 80s.

Pros:
- The location is pretty central, 3 subway stops to Tienanmen Square/Forbidden City (you can actually walk to Tienanmen, it takes about 20-25 minutes), plenty of taxis at the entrance, and some major bus lines stop right in front. Also, Beijing's main railway station is just 3 minutes by walk.
- It is easy to get here from the airport via Airport Shuttle Bus no. 3, that drops you off right at the hotel.
- Free, relatively fast wireless internet is available in the rooms.
- Reception staff/Concierge are helpful and friendly.
- Huge, American-style breakfast is served in the morning - a great way to start your day.
-

Cons:
- Bathroom needs some upgrading - the one in my room was clean, but clearly showed its age.
- They give 2 small bottles of water as complimentary (which is nice), but put a few bottles of Evian next to your bed - with a price tag of RMB 60 (which is a ripoff, as even at the airport you can buy bottled water for RMB 3-4). Buy your water elsewhere!

Overall a nice experience - I would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: - Get a southward-looking room at at higher floor to have a great view. - You can buy bottled water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donor_kebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. It might be billed as 5 star Chinese but 5 Star Chinese often lags significantly behind 5 star western style hotels (unless you are staying at somewhere like the China World Summit Wing). Rooms were a good size but a little outdated. Common areas are also somewhat outdated. Nice garden in the middle of the hotel that you can look out from the breakfast area. Prices are obviously good compared to the Western 5 star brands in China. If you are looking for a decent place to stay from which you will go out and explore Beijing then would be a good option (but not the right place if you are looking for a place where you can stay in the hotel and chill out).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justbobhrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

For China, this hotel was very good, we have stayed at better hotels in China, however for Beijing, this hotel was overall very nice and clean. The rooms were spacious with great views. Staff helpful and very friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The rooms at the Beijing International Hotel are spacious and the bathroom is old and outdated. However, the products for the hair they provided are fantastic! Room service was good, but the rotating restaurant on the top floor had horrible service. I didn’t manage to actually eat, because the waitress had an issue with my request to change the wine that tasted like vinegar. The safe in my room wasn’t working that well and for some reason it didn’t feel comfortable to leave my personal belongings and money in there. The breakfast buffet was very good and with a very broad selection. The customer service at this hotel was generally quite terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4theluvoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here on a business/ leisure trip. Found one of the staff in the lobby where a bit in your face looking for a tip, whilst the staff on reception where quite friendly and helpful and the tours desk staff extremely helpful in suggesting and arranging tours. Room was spacious and clean. First night went to the second floor restaurant and after been left sitting for ten minutes walked out in disgust. went up to the revolving restaurant and found the staff there extremely friendly and efficient and provided a very nice dining experience, highly recommend a visit. Views over this area of Beijing also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

If a big American-style breakfast buffet is a good way to start the day, this hotel has it "hands-down." Also available are Asian-style items, from soups to corn on the cob, along with freshly-baked pastries.

The staff is unfailingly courteous; the beds are comfortable (not board-hard); the room, itself was well-appointed with bottles of free water, nice toiletries, fluffy towels, and enough hot water for a decent shower; the location on Chang'an Avenue is quite convenient. Check in and check out is a breeze.

We liked the shops on the 2nd floor (luggage, clothing, and antiques). As expected, the prices were high, but when one needs an extra suitcase, one cannot be terribly choosy (around US $450 per carry-on piece was the lowest we saw).

Would we stay there again? This was our 3rd time in Beijing, but the first time we have stayed n this hotel. It was the best of the three. So, yes, we would.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel provide excellent views of Chang'an Avenue and the traffic, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#163 of 6,599 in Beijing
348 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#65 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,546 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $95 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beijing International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing