We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking traditional hotel in a relaxed neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamboo Garden Hotel
Ranked #142 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cracking traditional hotel in a relaxed neighbourhood”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Bambooo Garden hotel is 100 yards up Xiaoshiqiao Alley which is off Jiugulou Street. You need to pass McDonalds on your left then turn left. My taxi driver had the devil's own job finding it and was not a happy chappie when he eventually got there after 3 phone calls to reception. The ride gave me a good chance to get my bearings in the locality and cost 85 Yuan (less than £9 Sterling) from the airport so, for me at least, it represented good value.
Upon arrival I was greeted courteously and escorted through the enclosed garden to a well appointed, clean, quiet and nicely decorated room with a garden view. The bed was extremely comfortable, the silk filled pillows sumptuous and the shower in the en-suite bathroom was plenty strong enough and always endowed with plentiful hot water. There is also a bath which is essential for soothing aching muscles after a hike up the Great Wall.
I had only flown from Ulaanbaatar in Mongolia so was fresh enough to go exploring before bed. The locality is very relaxed and I felt extremely safe walking around Jiugulou Street after dark where I tracked down beer and pizza with ease. I was advised by others I met on my evening walks that this area is one of the most relaxed in Beijing and I for one felt very much at ease in the district.
Breakfast in the Bamboo Garden is taken overlooking the pretty garden and is adequate but the cost is not included in the room price, this however still makes the all up cost of a stay here well under the better known chains and is a much more interesting and personal experience.
Guloudajie subway station is a short walk from the hotel on line 2 which will take you anywhere in the city for 2 Yuan. When I checked out I took the train from this station to terminal 3 for my return flight to UB, this cost 27 Yuan and was a lot less fuss than a taxi.
I would recommend this hotel highly and would certainly book it again on any future trips to Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WordOfGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    115
    27
    14
    4
See reviews for
49
78
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The traditional Chinese garden setting of this hotel makes it a really beautiful place to stay. The location, due north of the Forbidden City near Gulou Dajie subway station, is also convenient. Unfortunately it's a bit overpriced — and they charge extra for an undistinguished breakfast — and the staff apparently feel they are doing you a enormous favour by letting you stay there. Sooner or later they will get new management and the place will realise its true potential. Until that happens it will remain a 'third choice' hotel, to be used when friendlier, more reasonably priced, places are booked up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Originally the residence of a postal minister during the QIng dynasty. Aptly described on their website as a classical Chinese courtyard-style structure in a quiet lane west of the Drum Tower in Beijing. The halls and pavillions in the building are linked by long corridors and the internal bamboo garden creates a tranquil environment. For families, a quiet oasis in a busy city.

Comprises traditional Hutong style rooms in the periphery of the courtyard and modern rooms in the hotel section.

Traditional deluxe suite: Although we booked a Standard suite, the staff kindly upgraded us to a deluxe suite without our knowledge. This was great because the deluxe suite (approx 50 sq m) comfortably accommodated 2 bunk beds for my two teenagers. The bunk beds had good support unlike some sinking springbeds we have encountered at other hotels. The king bed is typical Asian comfort. Down quilts were very comfortable in the cold weather. Furnished in traditional chinese style, there was still ample room so stowaway or layout our luggage/jackets etc. Shower was ok with ample hot water although not if you like super shower flow. No long bath. Our room had a big window but it opened to the side road and it was also wintery weather so we didn't open it except to air the room. Heating and bedding was fine. Best of all, although facing the side street, it was quiet throughout the day and night. In room electric kettle, safe and fridge (although it wasn't very cold).

Service: No complaints. Rooms were tidied everyday. I think the Reception speak English fluently although I'm Chinese to I didn't really test them.

Price: can probably get better prices elsewhere. But not many hotels in big Asian cities accommodate 4 persons in 1 room.

Food: we didn't eat at the hotel. Many eating places within minutes from the hotel and some are very good. On the way to Subway line 2 station, there's a small shop called 京城一锅 along Jiuguloudajie which serves delicious lamb hotpot at dinner time (very popular with locals) and serves up incredibly cheap dumplings and wonton at breakfast time. A basket of 10 small dumplings costs 3 Yuan!

Convenience: < 5 mins on foot to Guloudajie Line 2 Subway station. Direct buses to Forbidden City (82), Wangfujin (82, 60), Pearl Market (60) from the main road. Convenience store just at the entrance to the side street and if you must, a McDonald's / McCafe as well.

Neighbourhood: In the Hutongs. Felt safe. About 15 mins stroll to Houhai and Qianhai lakes with lots of nice eating places by the lakeside. Strolling by the lake is lovely as it's very pretty both by day and by night. Kaorouji is a moderately priced restaurant near Yindingqiao which serves up delicious lamb/beef hotplate and lamb kebabs. If in the vicinity, don't miss Yandaxie Street (pedestrian shopping street).

BTW: No lifts in the hotel building which has 3 floors.

Overall: I would definitely consider this hotel if I visit Beijing for leisure again although I guess there may be other similar properties the give better value.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites if you like a traditional Hutong experience and lots of extra room or have 2 kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mum912846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Sort of a good location: quiet street away from Beijing's noise. Close to a great strip of eateries and food sellers. Close enough to a subway station. But much of the surrounding area has little to recommend it either for the business traveller or tourist and although Guloudajie (the nearest subway) is on Line 2 (the circle line), it's a long journey to get anywhere you probably want to go. So in terms of location it is almost good, but not quite.

The property is similar. It's quite large; an old rich man's house around a large meandering garden which makes for a pleasant oasis away from the harshness of the city. But the room I had (a two room suite: one bedroom, one sitting area, no doors between them) had only a pretense of a window so there was no natural light, no fresh air and no enjoyment of the oasis. So again, almost good, but not quite.

Inside to room, pretty much the same story. The room was furnished with traditional Chinese furniture--hard and upright wooden pieces--which look elegant but are tortuous to sit in. Not conducive to working at your laptop or even watching telly. Again, almost good, but not quite.

The staff, however, did live up to, even exceed expectations. They were as friendly as you could ever expect famously dour Beijingers to be and very helpful. My wing had a couple of caretakers who at first I was not sure why they were hanging around, but after a day or two felt good that they were always around keeping an eye on things.

Breakfast on the other hand was back to the almost-but-not quite that I think characterizes the hotel. There was an espresso machine, but do you think they'd make you a decent coffee with it? No. Instead they insisted you to drink some awful brewed-and-stewed rubbish. At 60 yuan for stale bread and pastry, and limited choice of everything else, you're much better off walking outside and having traditional Beijing breakfast of dumplings and fruit from the street vendors for 10-15 yuan. And you can grab a decent coffee from the cafe near Le Little Saigon restaurant. My favorite pastry vendor was the guy selling fresh hot Huo Shao as you head towards the subway station. On the left, about halfway to Guloudajie street, he's the one in the glassed in booth on the corner of the side street. The pastries are crispy, flaky and golden pastry flavoured with miced pork, shallot and sichuan pepper. A terrific way to start the day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you want to stay in the hutongs I don't think there is a better place. The service is OK, a bit better than the usually poor chinese standard, but it really is all about the location. I would not want to live anywhere else besides the hutongs when visiting Beijing and in a week of staying in this hotel and travelling around, I didn't come across another one that looked appealing. The quality of rooms in this hotel varies dramatically. I stayed in a single room that was depressing - dark and no windows! Then I moved to a garden view, double room which was significantly better, but not great. Thankfully cleanliness is not an issue and the bathrooms are done to a decent standard as well. The hotel is not great value for money however but one is paying for this location. We needed to arrange for a call to the Great Wall and they did get us a very good driver for this but again, it wasn't cheap. I didn't eat in the restaurant on any day out of 7 days here and given the number of places to eat in the area, I wouldn't recommend anyone to get a breakfast deal here. The metro is very easy and safe to use so I would recommend that strongly. The hutongs are great to walk around and explore on foot which is the key selling point for this hotel. The only time I took a taxi was to go to Bei Hai Park. One day I even walked all the way to the Forbidden Palace - its not a short walk but a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuderia_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
484 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The quiet peaceful location is wonderful in this vibrant city. Also great for the underground which is cheaper than taxis and easy to follow.
The rooms are furnished traditionally and are immaculate.
Our wifi worked fine. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Good comfortable beds.
Breakfast is not the greatest but that aside for the price this is a great place to stay.
You can walk out through the hutons and find excellent food in the evenings and stroll along the nearby lakeside.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Hotel was fine, just fairly expensive for what we got. 1200 RMB for three persons. First floor room with window towards the street (Hutong). Staff polite but not super friendly. English knowledge was so so. Okay...

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the back garden on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#130 of 6,473 in Beijing
173 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#93 of 6,473 in Beijing
419 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,473 in Beijing
485 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#112 of 6,473 in Beijing
127 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Drum Tower Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Garden Hotel

Property: Bamboo Garden Hotel
Address: No.24 Xiaoshiqiao Alley, Jiugulou Street Xicheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Garden Beijing
Hotel Bamboo Garden
Bamboo Garden Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing