We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel close to the subway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Ranked #142 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good business hotel close to the subway”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed at the Nikko New Century Beijing because it was the "overflow" hotel for the conference I attended. So for an attractive rate I got a room on one of the business floors.

The room was large and, given the high floor, had a very nice view towards the city center to the east. Overall the room was in very good condition and worthy of a good business hotel.

The breakfast buffet was OK. I had dinner twice at the restaurant. The food was very average. I didn't need any assistance so I cannot comment on the service.

The hotel is close to a subway station. This is very handy to avoid the heavy traffic jams during peak hour.

So overall a good business hotel close to the subway and not so far from the city center.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    223
    120
    26
    12
See reviews for
54
54
34
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Stayed at Nikko New Century for business/vacation. Proximity to meetings only real plus. Rooms were average (23rd floor) - clean but nothing special. Bathroom could have been cleaner. TV was old and didn't work properly. Room was hot - fortunately the window opened ... A/C was turned off at source which was unfortunate as it was unseasonably warm in November. Food in restaurants was poor and extremely expensive. Lobby was opulent but not indicative of the quality of the rest of the hotel. NO WI FI - (ethernet cable) which we found odd after staying at the Double Happiness in a hutong where we had excellent Wi FI. Business center was very price-y. We had the feeling the New Century does not get or care about repeat business.

Location is not convenient to any major tourism sights although the Beijing Zoo was about a 10 minute walk away.

Would give New Century 2 /12 stars. Not poor but barely average.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Churt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This is a high quality hotel with large rooms. We satyed twice during the tour. The first room was in better condition than the second but both were very comfortable with king size beds.
The evening buffet was extensive in both chinese and european dishes. However there was a tendency for the food to be warm rather than hot and also somewhat overcooked for my palate. Breakfasts were extensive and kept at a better temperature. The cooked to order eggs (especially the omlettes) were very good.

The staff had typical chinese courtesy and generally seemed to be very efficient.

One tip. Cross the busy road in front of the hotel via a pedestrian footbridge straight into the Carrefour supermarket. The food section is downstairs (enterance at far side of ground floor from enterance). This is a great experience and worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrekTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We just returned from a few days at the Hotel Nikko New Century in Beijing. The hotel is superb!! We entered the lobby through glass sliding doors and were greeted with smiles from the front door staff. The flowers in the lobby were breathtaking--genuine orchids and palm leaves in a lovely vase.

We stayed on the 6th floor in a medium-sized very clean room with a beautiful entertainment center. After returning from shopping at the silk market (within walking distance), it was great to return to the room and relax by watching television.
We ate in the restaurant which offered both eastern and western foods. We were pleasantly surprised with the delicious breads, cheeses, soups, asian food, and fresh pomegranates.
Following touring the city during the day, in the late afternoon we were able to purchase inexpensive souvenirs for family and friends in the souvenir shop!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loppy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

My visit to Beijing was my first ever travel outside the borders of my country. I wanted to enjoy my first ever stay at a five star hotel. Since it was my first ever visit, I requested our business partners from Beijing to reserve rooms for me at a good hotel. The partners thought it would be a better idea to accommodate me at a good hotel very near to their office so that I do not have to roam around helplessly during my first foreign trip.

On check in at the hotel, I observed that the hotel is nicely reachable from Beijing Zoo, Summer Palace, etc. the hotel has a great & hugely spacious lobby, pretty well maintained restaurants, swimming pool, business centers etc. Department stores like Carrefour etc are extremely close to this hotel.

The hotel rooms are spick & span, nicely maintained & the staff is pretty helpful. I was overwhelmed with my stay at this great hotel.

I would not hesitate to suggest this hotel to other tourists or travelers.

  • Liked — Rooms & Lobby
  • Disliked — Pretty far from Beijing Capital Airport
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kamran_kharbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Overall: Not too expensive by Beijing standards. Decent clean rooms but showing its age everywhere. Can probably find better places to stay that are more central.

Location/Access: About 5 minutes and RMB10 by taxi west of Xizhimen station. Note that you can't realistically walk to the hotel from the subway. There isn't much immediately around the hotel although as others said, Carrefour is right across the main street. Taxi directly from the airport would likely cost about RMB80-90 and take about 40 minutes.

Lobby: Huge marbled lobby although the reception is not immediately obvious. The public areas really need to be renovated. Many places, such as the elevator area, have chipped paint or chrome. The deco, especially the light colored wood panels, is like a rewind to the early 90's.

Rooms: Decent size and comfortable colors. Lighting is too dim overall even with all the lights on. Beds are firm and comfortable. Old style TV with mostly Chinese channels for selection. Two small bottles of free water provided although the ones at the mini bar were a whopping RMB36. A/C never got cool and felt more like a fan. Very small built-in alarm clock. Overall, could use renovation as well. Requested non-smoking but could only get smoking room. Smell was faint though so ok.

Food: Tried the cafe at the ground level and the food was expensive and very average. Breakfast is served at the function room on the 4th floor with huge round tables covered by old pink/orange tablecloth so you sit with people you don't know. The entire breakfast room setting seemed very out-of-date although the food is halfway decent. However, if you have had buffets in Hong Kong or Thailand hotels, this one pales by comparison. Breakfast simply didn't feel comfortable due to the setting.

Service: Ok but not particularly friendly. They seemed to frown a bit when they couldn't understand you or vice versa.

Value for money: The rate was around USD130 for a single with breakfast. Double occupancy would have given me the same room except breakfast would have cost another USD10. The rate is reasonable by Beijing standards although you can stay more central at a similar price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Old and needs renovation
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyF1oyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed at the New Century with my wife who was on business. When the job ended, we stayed in Beijing for an extra week but moved to a much cheaper, three-star hotel (Beijing Shatan) that we liked better (particularly its location).

Our New Century room was spacious by Beijing standards, though a bit shabby in spots (smudges on the wall, frayed spots on the carpet, etc.). Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, and many spoke fairly good English. The breakfast buffet was quite amazingly comprehensive (Western, Japanese and Chinese choices). I used the gym a couple of times -- it was well equipped and almost completely empty.

Don't even touch the New Century's outrageously overpriced minibar goods, which are expensive even by Western standards (including $7 Tibetan bottled water). Make a trip across the expressway (using the pedestrian walkway) and visit the Carrefour -- a French-owned department/grocery store for snacks and supplies. It's one of the most useful shopping spots in Beijing. A double-sized bottle of beer at the Carrefour will set you back less than 50 cents.

If you're travelling on a five-star budget, you might check out other alternatives. If you're at all careful of your money, you can do better. But there's no particular reason to avoid the New Century.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Price, location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank srollans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
#38 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Beijing Zoo
Xiyuan Hotel
Xiyuan Hotel
#184 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Xidan
Presidential Beijing
Presidential Beijing
#165 of 6,462 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
#40 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Yuanda Road
Four Points by Sheraton Beijing, Haidian Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Xizhimen
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
Grand Metropark Yuantong Hotel
#190 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing

Property: Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing
Address: No.6 Southern Road Capital Gym,, Beijing 100044, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#107 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#116 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko New Century Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko New Century Beijing
Nikko New Century Hotel Beijing
Beijing New Century Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing