We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Ranked #66 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A short stay in Beijing”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is in a good condition! Flat-Screen TV and regular modernisation were made. The outlets and public areas fulfill requirements of all guest types. Especially the bar is a very nice place to spend evening hours with colleagues and friends.
I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PatrDro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear PatrDro,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback on Tripadvisor! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon!

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    419
    109
    30
    14
See reviews for
45
60
57
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you need to use the services of the New Zealand, Australian, Canadian, French or German Embassies in Beijing, then the Kempinski is good option. Rooms were spacious and all worked well. Breakfast was great and their are good restaurant/bar options. It is literally over the road from the fantastic new French Embassy and the German Embassy.

Room Tip: Warning, this hotel still allows smokers to smoke in some room. Non-smokers should book non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Chucky111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us and fellow travelers on Tripadvisor. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center in the near future!

With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Kempinski in Beijing has a great work-day yum cha (dim sum) deal. Most times I have been there it has been great, with excellent service.

The trattoria la gondola, on the other hand, is a typically overpriced and under-done hotel restaurant. I can make better pasta myself and not have to pay more than 120 kuai a plate. Of all the wonderful places to eat in Beijing, I can't see why one would eat at such a generic venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Richard F, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is important to us and will help us to further improve our services in the hotel and restaurants. We regret to hear that the food quality in our restaurant "La Gondola" did not live up to your expectations during your last visit. May we ask you to contact the Hotel Management prior to your next visit to one of our restaurants, we would like to learn more about your recent experience and at the same time ensure your next visit is a most enjoyable one. Kindly refer to this review when doing so.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Beijing!
With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We can always expect excellent service from the Kempinski chain. At least that's my experience after staying in the hotel in Beijing and Jakarta. I am glad their service staff have my my stay in Beijing more than pleasant. The concierge are helpful. When they see you are going out of the hotel entrance, they quickly hail a cab for you. The staff at the breakfast are warm and friendly. Efficient, they also make good coffee to go. This is my first time experiencing such service. Usually hotels are very particular about guests eating in the restaurants. No take-away are allowed. Here in Kempinski, you can ask for take-away boxes. This is important for me since I had to leave the hotel very early for a few mornings. I had a great time sipping coffee and eating the delicious croissant on the bus. The housekeeping staff are fast in their reaction. The staff at Hotel Kempinski are extremely well-trained.

The location of the hotel is definitely less than desirable. You need to take some time to get to the city centre. Nevertheless,there is a mrt station near the hotel. Alternatively, you can take a cab which isn't expensive at all. Jus avoid the peak hours. The traffic can be crazy! If you need some groceries, you can take a one-minute walk to the supermarket next door. The supermarket sells quality imported products.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintangkechil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear nurwono, thank you so much for your positive comments on Tripadvisor! We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with us and fellow travellers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stays with Kempinski Beijing & Jakarta and thank you for the high rating of our service and staff! Although we are appr. 20 minute taxi ride away from the main sights of Beijing, we are benefitting from the proximinity to the Airport Express way as well as the Sanlitun Shopping & Bar area which allows guests easy access to entertainment as well as a short travel time to Capital airport.
Once again thank you for your time and loyalty and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Beijing or any other Kempinski Hotel Worldwide!
With best regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Kempinski Beijing for a three day sales conference.
In general I thought that the hotel was an OK venue for our event and for the most part was satisfied with the overall experience.
The lobby lounge/bar, breakfast cafe, outdoor beer pub, club lounge, proximity to the upscale department store next door (with it's many restaurants) and techno friendly conference facilities were all up to par.
My one bedroom (2 room) suite however was not up to par in terms of design and maintenance.
The room needed a facelift and when my guest bathroom had an "unpleasant" leak caused by a broken pipe from the bathroom above the hotel's housekeeping/maintenance did not handle the matter particularly well (as would be expected at a 5 star hotel). When I called the front desk manager the next day to "bring the matter to his attention", I received an apology and a little bit of attitude when I complained that I felt that the small amount of compensation offered did not properly appease the level of inconvenience.
I agree with some of the other TA contributor's comments that the hotel needs a bit of updating (especially since the Four Seasons is moving in next door) but it appears that they are in fact improving the hotel in phases.
Regardless of my poorly handled maintenance experience, I would still recommend the Kempinski if you are looking for a hotel to accomodate large groups (ie conference or weddings etc).
If you are looking for an intimate 5 star experience, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I believe that all views are decent. The Club floors are worth it just for the access to the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear jordanlipson, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feeback on your recent stay with us with fellow travellers on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is most valuable to us and helps us to continously improve our services. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our restaurants, event venues and conference facilities. It is with regret that we read that our room product was not able to live up to your expectations. We will pass on your comments to the related departments and apologize for any inconvenience caused through the leak as well as the lack in handling your complaint. We hope this will not deter you from returning to stay with us in future and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center!
With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel, one of the first modern luxury western hotels in Beijing, has now been in business for 20 years, and it's beginning to show. I was last there in 2005, and it really needs a makeover. The main restaurant (used for breakfast) looks a bit dull, and the buffet served there was slightly disappointing.

That said, the breakfasts are still sensational, the rooms are fine, the service impeccable and they seem to have chased out the hookers that were such a pest last time I was there. Very good pianist in the bar, too.

Real problem is its location - it's now stuck by a flyover interchange, and there's not much else within walking distance. To be fair, the nearby Kunlun and Westin hotels have the same problem.

Pet hate is the touch pad by the pads that are employed to control all the lighting, the aircon, etc etc. Really hard to use and and impossible to navigate in the dark.

Very, very good tours and guides offered.

All it needs is a little tweak and it'll be back up there, but I do get the impression that the way Beijing has grown up around it in recent years has been to the detriment of the place. Not its fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiameseDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear SiameseDuke, thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words. We regret to hear that the buffet at Kranzler's Restaurant & Bar was not able to live up to your expectations. We will pass on your comments to the respective departments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center once again during your next trip to Beijing!
With warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've probably spent over 200 nights here in the last 12 years, perhaps other hotels have passed it by but it still sets a standard for accommodation in Beijing.

Hotel staff is well trained and attentive.

Breakfast, good. Deli is also good for light breakfast with the flight crews.

Spa and pool are good, fitness room is a bit small, but clean. Pool could be cooler.

Room Tip: River View (back side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KempinskiBeijing, Manager at Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sinodean, Thank you for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays in our hotel and thank you for your loyal patronage over the years. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Hotel Beijing in the near future and if you wish, please contact us upon making your next arrangements and refer to this review! It would be a pleasure to meeting you personally upon arrival!

Warm regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#48 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Kunlun
Hotel Kunlun
#75 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#31 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#29 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center

Property: Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Address: No.50 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100125, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#38 Business Hotel in Beijing
#45 Family Hotel in Beijing
#46 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#59 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#124 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortlessly blending European service excellence and China’s rich cultural heritage, the Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center represents the ideal five-star hotel with it's unique location in the hub of Beijing. A landmark in China's capital city, with facilities and services of extraordinary scope, the hotel sets the standard for luxury service with 526 five Star contemporary guestrooms and suites, extensive meeting space and vibrant entertainment venues. Easily accessible from Beijing Capital Airport, the Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center is nestled in the center of Beijing’s diplomatic district of Chaoyang, the perfect starting point for your leisure activities and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing