We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit to a Shangri-la hotel. The first impression, entering the lobby, was spectacular. The lobby is stunning, the best place for a drink (albeit overpriced) and people watching.
This was unfortunately a 5 star facade for a rather average hotel for our 3 nights in Beijing. The accommodation is nice, not special, but the housekeeping not adequate. Our carpet needed a vacuum.
We had a very poor experience in the Scene a Cafe restaurant where we were seated at 8.30pm for dinner. The restaurant features a buffet and has an a la carte menu as well (which we were not given, they definitely wanted us to take the buffet). The buffet costs $ 50 per person. We were expecting a pleasant and fresh selection. The offering, presentation and quality were very poor. The experience started with being given a dirty napkin, not offered any ice water nor a wet towel (which other guests had, so we knew it was standard). Received ice water, clean napkin and wet towel after calling a server over and asking.
The buffet we found was a picked over, unappetising display that was clearly not refreshed during the course of the evening. The 'salad buffet' consisted of lettuce only, no other fresh garden vegetables! There were signs for balsamic and other dressings but only 1000 island was still available. Cold meats on the trays looked like they had been out all evening and picked over. 1 piece of sushi left on a tray. The warm fish dish was so mushy (warmed over all evening) that it could only be spooned out and was not identifiable. The warm vegetable offering was empty. I could not believe this presentation of a dinner buffet in a 5 star hotel!

We did have a spectacular chinese and western lunch buffet at the Peninsula which I highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Carolyn S, thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry some aspects of your stay were not up to expectation, your points on the Scene a Cafe buffet and housekeeping services were noted. I will look into these issues - it is always helpful to get this type of feedback. Please contact me on john.rice@shangri-la.com if I can be of further assistance with the issues you experienced. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    460
    92
    21
    20
See reviews for
218
169
72
1,108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have stayed on the China World Hotel many times. And we have never rescived an service as we do in the Horizon Club on this very special hotel. The service is fantastic, the location is superb, the room we stayed in (room 2112) was very, very nice. I can only recomand you to stay there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with access to Horizon Club. You will not regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Mia F, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the hospitality and service from our team and in particular the Horizon Club. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

China World Hotel, Beijing, of the Shangri-la Group has been my preferred favourite hotel for many years, and not without very good reasons. My previous stay was soon after the Chinese New Year holidays earlier this year, and the hotel lobby was still well decorated for the Spring Festival. Out of curiosity, I asked the front desk whether the flower arrangement at the centre of the lobby carried any special meaning. To my surprise and appreciation, the receptionist readily pulled out an A4 sheet explaining what the various floras and arrangement meant - naturally around the theme of Chinese New Year. Indeed, when one steps into the lobby, she/he would certainly be impressed with its pleasant atmosphere, enriched by the live western/Chinese classical music performance. But what I like most are still its rooms - clean, comfortable, well equipped and serviced; and the friendly services provided by its well trained staff. The location of the hotel is also a major attraction. One can travel easily from here by the mass transit/underground trains, buses, or taxis. In addition to the hotel restaurants, there are many restaurants and eateries within the Guo Mao or World Trade Centre complex where the hotel is located. Highly commendable.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room facing the Jianguomen Outer Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Ng_Mel_and_HKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Paul_NG_HK, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable, and enjoyed the hospitality and great service from our team. I will share your comments with all of them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. Thank you for highlighting our lobby ambience and music. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is a reflection of China's rising power and nothing is spared to give you an idea of what that's like. The hotel is lovely. It's got a terrific restaurant...truly amazing buffet for breakfast. And, the hotel is attached to an incredible mall. So, great rooms, great views (through the fog of Beijing's pollution), a fabulous property,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear LeeMTucson_Arizona, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular the breakfast selection in the Scene a Cafe, and thank you for highlighting our Lobby Lounge. We have a great location in the heart of the CBD,with excellent shopping and accessible transportation/MTR. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Rooms not to 5 star standard.
Getting a taxi at the hotel is time consuming and difficult.
Beware the upsell to "club" - worthless.
Concierge guys are fantastic.
Right now there is a major building being demolished next door which is unsightly.
So many quality hotel choices in this great City - this is not one of them.


Room Tip: Dont upgrade to the Club offer they try and sell you on check in. Waste of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank DmacSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear DmacSydney, thank you for your review, and sorry your stay was not to expectations. The demolished works on the next door building will be completed soon. I am concerned you did not enjoy our Horizon Club, and if you send me your details to john.rice@shangri-la.com. I would be happy to contact you to see how we can improve our services. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards. John Rice. Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My first comment is be very wary of when you book. There is major construction going on in the front of the hotel and it just goes on and one from early morning til late at night and it's going to go on for many months as they start to build (it's presently destruction o the old building) its like a war zone. Book a room at the back of the hotel and DO NOT request a view over the front. Other than this the hotel is good. As a Shangri La hotel its very 'Shangri La' - ie oldie worldie. Close to shops underneath and next door, and has some nice restaurants. The Aria Restaurant is v nice. A reasonable location to Tianamen and Forbidden palace.

Room Tip: at the present time ask about the noise and book a room at the back of the hotel where I imagine wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Kuta53, thank you for your review. I am sorry about the outside construction noise, and I hope you were still able to have a successful stay. The good news is the heavy construction works will be completed by next week. Thanks for highlighting our facilities and location, both big pluses for business and leisure travelers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our cruise ship selected this hotel and we were very happy with location, room, service and a remarkably fabulous buffet restaurant . My husband and I ate at the Chinese restaurant our first night and we were not impressed by either the service or the food, very mediocre . The concierge recommendations for private tour guide ( grey line tour guides) and pvt. driver were excellent as well as reasonable. Much better than the exorbitant prices quoted by some of the recommended tour guides on trip advisor. The hotel is well located , but considering traffic in Beijing nothing is truly well located these days. There is a fabulous gourmet grocery in the underground shopping mall- worth a look at all the beautiful produce and packaging! Walking distance to Silk market .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ataman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear ataman2, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable and enjoyed buffet in Scene a Cafe. Appreciate the points on Summer Palace – we will look into these issues. Thank you for highlighting a cake and bread shop in the mall located near the subway entrance, that’s the “Sweet Spot” it is famous in Beijing. We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Beijing. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,433 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,793 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,522 in Beijing
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,522 in Beijing
1,411 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,522 in Beijing
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#109 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing