We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury, service and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Luxury, service and convenience”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Being my first visit to Beijing I chose this hotel because friends who do business in China recommended. It has a spectacular lobby, excellent service and beautiful suites. I stayed on the Horizon Club level which includes an all day lounge with full breakfast and a nice happy hour. If you eat breakfast this is a great place with cooked to order Western style food as well as local foods. You get what you pay for. At $400 per night I thought I received a good value for my room and I had a wonderful experience you wont get in an American hotel On Sunday afternoon there is a chamber concert in the lobby. Every evening there is some entertainment in the lobby. The hotel has several restaurants but I didn't eat there choosing to take the recommendation of my guide as we travelled about town. If you can I also recommend a car and driver. Hotel offers an airport pick up where a representative meets you as you get off the plane and whisks you through customs and in my case chauffeurs you into the city right to your room. Invaluable after flying for 15 hours.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you are staying more than a few days. Its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHarleyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear smarttoddy, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our Horizon Club room and lounge facilities. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. Our Horizon Lounge team strive to continuously provide the best service in the city to all of our guests. And thank you for highlighting our airport and Sunday concert in the lobby, it is definitely one of Beijing’s experiences. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    460
    92
    21
    20
See reviews for
218
169
72
1,108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Awesome hote. we will always stay here in the future and will look for the other shangri la properties on future trips as we.. for an american couple travelling to china for the first time, food was our major concern...no worries here, the food is simply outstanding. fresh, variety, great service. we will always stay at this hotel. also, location is excellent for walking when the beijing city streets are packed with traffic which is every day no matter where you are in beijing. Also, the world class shopping located within the property is simply amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Todd S, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the dining options at China World Hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Was totally blown away by this hotel.
The entrance into the lobby was fantastic.
The rooms are very spacious along with great views.
Staff are friendly and English was spoken very well.
Below the hotel there is a shopping mall with all the top designer brands along with a subway station making it easy to travel around Beijing.
Had a fantastic stay at this hotel and the breakfast buffet was the best I've seen - so much to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Barry M, thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and lobby ambience are always enjoyed by our guests. I will also share your comments on our team with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The China World Hotel is a wonderful choice for those visiting Beijing. The hotel is top notch and rooms are spacious and very comfortable. All of the hotel restaurants were excellent and the lobby lounge is a great place for meetings over drinks. The location is perfect as well and it is only a few blocks walk to the Silk Market.

Room Tip: I highly recommend having a foot massage in the spa. It's a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCarlos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear JohnCarlos2000, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay at China World Hotel, and were able to enjoy the hotels restaurants, particularly the lobby lounge. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel has a great location, a grand lobby and excellent facilities. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fantastic stay, staff attentive, beautiful view out window, excellent restaurant, best of four 5 star hotels we stayed at in China. Convenient mall downstairs, with top of the line (expensive) stores.
The lobby and flower displays were great.

Room Tip: As for window looking out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdb5327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear kdb5327, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a fantastic stay here while exploring Beijing again. The lobby is breathtaking, opulent Chinese decoration & fantastic flower displays. The place has a relaxing, calm vibe to it which is much appreciated after long flights & busy days. The staff are ever ready to help & gracious about it too, house keeping deserves a special mention. The rooms were fabulously clean & well stocked, never before has turndown service actually placed the slippers on my feet!
Decent selection of hotel restaurants, we mainly used the buffet & I had no complaints about food selection, diversity & quality.
All in all a great stay, can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenA1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Helen P, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable. And thank you for highlighting our Housekeeping. Our Lobby ambience is grand but warm and comfortable, it's a place you can spend the whole day. The lobby has daily high tea, and on Sundays we feature our Sunday concert, something rated as a “Must Experience” for visitors to Beijing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent 5 days in this superb hotel and I had a wonderful time. The lobby is impressive, and I was escorted to my suite where I was registered. The staff is wonderful and very attentive. My room had a beautiful view. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the service is impeccable. The location is great for business and leisure activities. China World Mall is on site at the bottom, it is not even necessary to venture out. The bar and restaurant area is fantastic and I particularly enjoyed the cocktails prepared by Bruce Johnson. I would choose this hotel again if I will visit again Beijing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianPhel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear MarianPhel212, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular Aria Bar and Restaurant. Our Aria is one of Beijing’s best, and many of our guests enjoy the bar and restaurant. I will let Bruce and Johnson know, they will be delighted; and thank you for highlighting your check in experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,421 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,785 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,406 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#102 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing