We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think of anywhere else in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #24 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at China World Hotel over 30 times during the past 10 years and have never had an experience there which was less than perfect. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make each day a better day than yesterday. I left a bag at the airport on one occasion and the concierge and his staff left no stone unturned to have it found and sent to the hotel for me. All reception staff are very helpful, same with dining rooms and my bedroom has always been spotless. For any visitor with time to spare, try the activities in the gym area. The swimming pool is large and has steam room, showers and rest area. But most of all try the Tai Chi, yoga and dance classes even if you have never done any of these activities before, every one of them is run by the most amazing teachers you will find anywhere in the world! What a pleasure, this is one fine hotel and a great credit to all members of the Shangri la group.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear hughmason, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. And thank you for highlighting our concierge. China World Hotel has excellent facilities, a nice shopping mall, access to the MTR and our concierge know the city well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great experience at the truly 5-star rated hotel. Everything is first rate. Careful on check-in because they will precharge entire stay plus $1000 per day incidentals which can cause some cards to decline. The breakfast is spectacular, the staff the best on the planet. The subway connection below takes you anywhere in Beijing for $0.30. Meeting facilities are first-rate too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank DrWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear William S, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular breakfast in Scene A Cafe. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR with lots of shops and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Super nice and helpful stuff, the CI and CO service is efficient and friendly. Bathroom is big. And the location is very convenience, there is a shopping mall directly connect to the lobby and metro station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Lee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Lee X, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at China World Hotel and in particular the reception service on you arrival and departure. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel this March while on a business trip and was greatly impressed by the Hotel . Connected to a big mall where you can shop for all the major brands and have some nice restaurants as well. The hotel is also connected with Metro line as well. About 500 mtrs away from the hotel is the famous Pearl Shopping center (Shop for Replica Designer goods).

The hotel staff is very courteous and they even had a very impressive live cultral performance wherein the musicians were playing ancient chinese musical instruments. The rooms are quite spacious and tastefully decorated to the point of it being luxiourious. The breakfast was awesome and you had plenty of options to choose from the lavish buffet spread.

I am again going next month to Beijing and would definitely stay in this hotel yet again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Tarun1971, thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and lobby entertainment are always enjoyed by our guests. I will also share your comments on our team with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World Hotel has an excellent location fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were pampered and spoiled totally during our stay at Shangri-La in Beijing, it is very well appointed and the staff seem to anticipate your every need. Highly recommend this hotel! Location is perfect for touring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Art M, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your positive comments with the team. Our colleagues will appreciate your comments very much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

With the reception and the departure experience, I would never want to use this hotel again, however, I have been visiting this property since early 90's, the hotel is still worth visiting I hope once they have fixed these management problems.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Tang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Tang S, thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with our Reception service on your arrival and departure. I was made aware of your experience by our Resident Manager and rest assured we have addressed the issues concerned. If I can be of further assistance please contact me directly on john.rice@shangri-la.com, We appreciate your support of China World Hotel. Regards,John Rice,Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, and it was delightful, beautiful foyer, great breakfast choices, lovely atmosphere, for a chinese 5 star hotel it is pretty much as expected however, good service, and clean, rooms were as expected average size but that is what you expect

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Frequenttravels33, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our hotels facilities. Our team always try their utmost to ensure our guests have a delightful stay experience. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World Hotel has a central location has fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,621 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#17 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,576 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,599 in Beijing
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,977 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#28 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#118 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $138 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing