We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't even think of anywhere else in Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #9 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't even think of anywhere else in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at China World Hotel over 30 times during the past 10 years and have never had an experience there which was less than perfect. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make each day a better day than yesterday. I left a bag at the airport on one occasion and the concierge and his staff left no stone unturned to have it found and sent to the hotel for me. All reception staff are very helpful, same with dining rooms and my bedroom has always been spotless. For any visitor with time to spare, try the activities in the gym area. The swimming pool is large and has steam room, showers and rest area. But most of all try the Tai Chi, yoga and dance classes even if you have never done any of these activities before, every one of them is run by the most amazing teachers you will find anywhere in the world! What a pleasure, this is one fine hotel and a great credit to all members of the Shangri la group.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear hughmason, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. And thank you for highlighting our concierge. China World Hotel has excellent facilities, a nice shopping mall, access to the MTR and our concierge know the city well. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    439
    84
    21
    18
See reviews for
170
140
63
983
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great experience at the truly 5-star rated hotel. Everything is first rate. Careful on check-in because they will precharge entire stay plus $1000 per day incidentals which can cause some cards to decline. The breakfast is spectacular, the staff the best on the planet. The subway connection below takes you anywhere in Beijing for $0.30. Meeting facilities are first-rate too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank DrWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear William S, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular breakfast in Scene A Cafe. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR with lots of shops and restaurants. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Super nice and helpful stuff, the CI and CO service is efficient and friendly. Bathroom is big. And the location is very convenience, there is a shopping mall directly connect to the lobby and metro station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Lee X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Lee X, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at China World Hotel and in particular the reception service on you arrival and departure. I will share your positive comments with the team. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall and is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel this March while on a business trip and was greatly impressed by the Hotel . Connected to a big mall where you can shop for all the major brands and have some nice restaurants as well. The hotel is also connected with Metro line as well. About 500 mtrs away from the hotel is the famous Pearl Shopping center (Shop for Replica Designer goods).

The hotel staff is very courteous and they even had a very impressive live cultral performance wherein the musicians were playing ancient chinese musical instruments. The rooms are quite spacious and tastefully decorated to the point of it being luxiourious. The breakfast was awesome and you had plenty of options to choose from the lavish buffet spread.

I am again going next month to Beijing and would definitely stay in this hotel yet again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Tarun1971, thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and lobby entertainment are always enjoyed by our guests. I will also share your comments on our team with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World Hotel has an excellent location fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were pampered and spoiled totally during our stay at Shangri-La in Beijing, it is very well appointed and the staff seem to anticipate your every need. Highly recommend this hotel! Location is perfect for touring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Art M, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your positive comments with the team. Our colleagues will appreciate your comments very much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. China World Hotel is located above a very nice shopping mall is easily accessible to the MTR and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

With the reception and the departure experience, I would never want to use this hotel again, however, I have been visiting this property since early 90's, the hotel is still worth visiting I hope once they have fixed these management problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Tang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Tang S, thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with our Reception service on your arrival and departure. I was made aware of your experience by our Resident Manager and rest assured we have addressed the issues concerned. If I can be of further assistance please contact me directly on john.rice@shangri-la.com, We appreciate your support of China World Hotel. Regards,John Rice,Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights, and it was delightful, beautiful foyer, great breakfast choices, lovely atmosphere, for a chinese 5 star hotel it is pretty much as expected however, good service, and clean, rooms were as expected average size but that is what you expect

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequenttravels3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Frequenttravels33, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our hotels facilities. Our team always try their utmost to ensure our guests have a delightful stay experience. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World Hotel has a central location has fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,165 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,165 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 6,165 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#5 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#9 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#124 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing