We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Treated like royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #13 of 5,940 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The staff here went out of their way to make our stay very pleasant. The Chief Concierge, Leon, personally walked me to the bakery my first morning, obtained dinner reservations for the best Peking Duck restaurant, researched the cooking class and made the arrangements for us. Jenny, Guest Relations Officer, greeted us by name each evening, knew where we had been, and offered her advice. Dirk made sure the cab driver knew exactly where to take us in the hutong. They explained how to take the Metro, which was a great accomplishment, but so valuable as traffic here in the worst I have experienced anywhere, ever. Cherry, in-house Grayline Tour consultant, set us up with a private tour that covered everything we wanted to see in one day, which we really enjoyed. Ask for Alice for your guide.

In Beijing, we were Americans with no Chinese language skills. English is the exception, and if spoken it is often not fluent. I hate organized tours, and the staff here helped us get around to gain the full experience, keeping us safe. Really funny when we left on our subway trip-proffering no less than 4 cards to be given to a cab driver in Chinese that said "please take me to the China World Hotel". Just in case.

Housekeeping very courteous, in spite of our later room departures. Rooms were immaculate, beds very comfortable, really great shower.

Sara (#18) gave a fabulous Chinese massage.

Annie in the lobby saved us a pastry tray for a later high tea. Lovely service.

Highly recommend this haven in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProvoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ProvoChicago, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially Leon, Dirk, Jenny and Cherry. I will share your comments with them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    433
    80
    18
    18
See reviews for
149
129
58
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Four Seasons
at Beijing before and was a little worried by TA reviews of China World. It was older but clean and quiet. It was really hot and humid the week I was there but room cool. Breakfast very nice. When my car did not show up to take me to the airport, the valet was extremely concerned and they were working to get a replacement. I would stay there again for business.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spartanmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Spartanmom2012, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular breakfast in Scene A Cafe. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Beijing and deserves the 4-star rating. The hotel is luxurious, well-maintained and includes elegant and pleasant public areas.

The rooms are most comfortable, well-appointed and have all the comfort expected of an international quality hotel. There was not a hint of any cigarette smoke throughout the hotel, including in the rooms.

The staff are to be commended. Their English is perfect, their attention is outstanding and they are pleasant and welcoming. For business particularly, the hotel is very well positioned in the financial district and within easy reach of all the major financial firms and banks.

A lovely hotel. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveEmma09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear DaveEmma09, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our hotels facilities. Our team try their best to ensure of our guests have a delightful stay experience. I will share your comments with our team and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing.Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my stay at this hotel was a good experience. I don't have any thing to complain about. the staff was warm, friendly, flexible, taking very personal interest in making me comfortable. The room was neat, cleaned regularly at reasonable intervals. the amenities were functioning. The hotel location was just right and at the heart of town. the food nice. I invite all visiting Beijing to try this hotel. I bet you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Eze N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Eze N, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the China World Hotel for 8 days. It was a very luxurious hotel that was well priced. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a great range of food to choose from.
The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were very well equipped with everything you needed. They provided a bowl of complimentary fresh fruit in the room, which was a nice touch.
All the staff were friendly and helpful in every way. They provided you with a little business card with places to visit written in Chinese, so that you could give that to the taxi drivers who usually didn't speak very much English at all, and they would know where you wanted to go. This was very useful. They were also able to recommend tours, which again proved to be very useful. The location of the hotel was also excellent and there was a subway station very close by.
We really had a wonderful stay in this luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hokeypokeysue, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel. The Scene A Cafe breakfast and nice room amenities are always enjoyed by our guests. We are delighted to hear that our team had made an impression on you. I will share your comments with all the departments and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel has a great location, a grand lobby and excellent facilities. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the China World Hotel for four nights and it was a wonderful experience! The hotel is beautiful (especially the lobby), our room was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was incredible! Everyone who works there from the bell men, the receptionists, elevator men, maids, restaurant staff and especially the concierge staff made our stay at this hotel fantastic! There is a concierge named Dirk who went out of his way to make sure that we had a wonderful time in Beijing. Dirk was so helpful, so kind and so genuine! I highly recommend staying at the China World Hotel for any type of Beijing visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 626sarahkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear 626sarahkim, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially Dirk Zhang of Concierge, he will be happy with your recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent luxury hotel integrated with all the seminars & exhibition facilities. Excellent services, spacy room, good facilities & provides excellent amenities. The breakfast is awesome. Really worth for the price :-)

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Octovianus G, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. As we are truly committed to consistently high standards of service and facilities, and creating memorable experiences for our guests and happy that it has been achieved on this occasion. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#12 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,940 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#8 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#18 of 5,940 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,566 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 5,940 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 5,940 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#134 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing