We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“More than homely comfort in this monster of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“More than homely comfort in this monster of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is world class! Despite its huge size, you get a very personalised service. Almost all the hotel staff spoke English, which could be a big challenge elsewhere. The hotel has good restaurants and a very noisy bar. My room was very spacious and had a good view. It also has a luxury mall attached to the hotel, but is quiet accessible to some economical shopping places, like the silk mall. I attended an international conference at this hotel that was superbly organized by the hotel staff. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay - good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VK2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear VK2006, thank you for your review. We are glad your conference was a success and you enjoyed all of the facilities at China World Hotel. China World Hotel is very well located in the CBD and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    430
    80
    18
    18
See reviews for
142
128
54
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the China World for a 4 day conference in late May. The Reception staff were excellent dealing with hundreds of weary delegates checking in for the conference. Our room was well appointed and access to WIFi was simple. The food prepared and presented at the conference was oustanding, my compliments to the chefs who prepared the most amazing meals always on time and without error. I would defintely recommend this venue to host my conference or event. The mall attached to the hotel is huge but beware its very pricey and full of the top brands. I would stay again, even if only to experience the magic creations of the chefs!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Grant W, thank you for your review, and we are glad your conference was a success. China World Hotel has great conference and meeting facilities, supported by capable service peoples and dedicated Food and Beverage and Culinary teams. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

China World is my most favourite hotel in Beijing. Its one of the highest quality of services and the comfortableness you have in China World is different from others, where you would have both excellent hardware (hotel environment, room hygiene, quality of bed etc) and software (services, prompt response). Comparing with many five star hotels they are having excellent hardware but not pay good attention to software, you dont have that problem in China World. China World demonstrates the professionalism of Shang-la chain, being the first and flagship hotel of the group in China, it used to be the top choices of senior diplomats and visitors to China. I have seem many presidents of various countries, stars, sports stars etc. during my stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsejerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear tsejerry, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. As we are truly committed to consistently high standards of service and facilities, we are all doing our utmost to create a memorable experience for guests and we are happy that it has been achieved on this occasion. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently on business while in Beijing. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived at the door. We were greeted by the reception staff and taken up to our room for check in. Housekeeping turned around pressing very quickly and the room was appointed quite nicely with amenities and technology.

The lobby is large with lots of space for business conversations/meetings. The Fitness Center and Spa facilities are extensive and well suited for a business traveler who wants to keep their exercise regime going. The location of the hotel is very good for meetings with government officials and the proximity to major tourist sites is good.

So, you won't go wrong with the hotel or the experienced staff. It's a "yes"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear CGCx, thank you for your review. Our colleagues truly make every effort to ensure our guests needs are anticipated. China World Hotel has a well equipped Health Club. Comprehensive facilities and an excellent choice of dining options. We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were on business trip to Beijing, and have booked into this hotel for 7 days. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in the hotel; warmth, friendly and attentive staff. Their service is awesome particularly the Housekeeping team and Concierge. Thumbs up !

The entrance and lobby of this hotel......grand ! Lifts are aplenty, and as though there is no waiting time for lift. The room is spacious, clean and bright. Sufficient supply of drinking water ( bottled water ) throughout our stay. Bed is comfortable. Spacious bathroom and big shower cubicle. There is mini bar/bench in the room.

Location of this hotel is superb. Guomao subway station is just 2 minutes walking distance, literally right in front of the hotel. A bit of walking to Silk Street, about 15 minutes. From Guomao station to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City is just 4 stops away, using Line 1 subway.

Negative about this hotel ? No. Highly recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Our room was 1740, we had not a bad view of part of the city. Air pollution index was quite bad dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear mmnnn, thank you for your review and for sharing pictures of the hotel. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comforting.
We are so glad that you were impressed by the hospitality and the exceptional service from our team, especially the Housekeeping and Concierge. I will share the comments with them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed with this hotel for 4 nights and really pleasure to enjoyed with my stay. I got very warm welcome from staffs and management upon checking in. They provided welcome drink and very good cool towel for us. The lobby very good designed and keep cold all time, so lovely. The breakfast was great too much chose for you. The room was great as well, the air con working well, provided bathroom amenities everyday, the bed comfy, room size big. Very hotel I loved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Lee R, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The comfortable room and Scene A Cafe breakfast are hallmarks of China World Hotel and the stunning lobby creates a grand ambience. I will share your positive comments with the team. I’m sure our colleagues will appreciate you comments very much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newyork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2nights and really enjoyed . The service was excellent. Nice warm welcome and swift check in. Danica at the front desk has demonstrates how elite China World hospitality is through her service to excellent hospitality personality. My room was spacious and very comfortable. Fresh fruit and good toiletries were a nice touch. Concierge service made first time visit to beijing very easy. I loved relaxing with drinks in the lobby area. Massive chandeliers, large artistic flower arrangements and live music all add to a very pleasantly decadent holiday! In fact I love the musical offerings. I saw a great chinese instrument ensemble in the lobby with my afternoon tea and my evening cocktails were accompanied by some smooth jazz. The hotel is very near the underground making getting out and about really easy. Great place. Only used the pool once. It was really good but too many other attractions in competition!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Cathy D, thank you for your review. It's pleasing to note you enjoyed your stay and Danica will be delighted she was able to contribute and assist. Our Lobby ambience is grand, with chandeliers, a Lounge with Beijing's best high tea and musical ensembles playing throughout the day and evening; it's a place you can spend the whole day. On Sunday's we feature our Sunday concert, something to be experienced. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#141 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing