We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China World and National Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #22 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Beijing. Hotel is very central - easy to get a cab and can also walk to the metro if you want a taste of local life. Lobby is indeed gorgeous, room was in good condition and very comfortable, everything worked. Room service menu just OK quality (goes for both Asian and European dishes). They messed up my order one day and I decided to try going downstairs to the food court in the huge underground shopping mall. I was happier eating in the food court (especially as I could see the dish before choosing) and various restaurants in the mall with the locals than at the hotel. Caution that its very easy to get lost in the mall. The mall has a good English-language bookstore with a wide selection.

Was there in January (cold) when smog/coal fumes covered the city. So I tried the National Museum (opposite Tiananmen square) which is one of the best I have ever been to - including Louvre, Hermitage, Met. I was the only non-Chinese in there I think. Its huge - apparently the world's largest. The "Ancient China" section is the key attraction, it would take days to see it all. The hall across the entrance with contemporary Chinese painting is fascinating. Has a large gift shop area with translated (non-Western) books on Chinese history and the best gifts to bring back from Beijing. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,329 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I were on a cruise for 17 days from Hong Kong to Beijing this March, 2013. We were booked into the Shangra-La China World by the Regent Sevens Sea's. We were absolutely awestruck when we walked into the gorgeous lobby of the Shangra-La. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, although there was a bit of a language barrier as many of the staff did not speak English and we did not speak Mandarin. Even with this slight problem, the staff at the front desk and the concierge desk could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Our suite was fabulous, with more room and comfort than one could imagine. After being on a cruise ship for 17 days, this suite was a treasure of pure bliss.

We had breakfast in Scene A restaurant for the three days of our stay and dinner one of the three nights. The food was incredibly delicious with so many choices from different cuisine's throughout Asia, as well as American choices. Again the staff could not have been more accommodating in making our meals as enjoyable as possible.Our only concern was that they did not bus the tables and we had to ask for the dishes to be cleared. Being American, we are used to having this done perhaps too quickly a times. A small complaint when all else was sheer perfection.

We were so impressed with our stay at this property in Beijing, that where ever our travels take us in the future we will look first for a Shangra-La hotel for our accommodations. What a wonderful three days worth of memories to end our vacation.

Neal & Karen Snydman

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be perfect. We had a junior suite and could not have been happi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Neal S, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our grand lobby and the delicious food selection on the Scene a Cafe buffet. I appreciate your comments on the English level of our associates and we will work on improvements in this important area. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Obviously this is a hotel for busy people. We got a laugh out of a small shelf by the toilet with a picture of a cellphone engraved on it. I guess not everyone would know what it was for (I didn't). Our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Of course there was free wi-fi everywhere.

The lobby was graced with lovely floral arrangements and the usual inviting bar area with excellent service. Because it was Saturday a string trio composed of Chinese instruments backed up with a piano added to the atmosphere. The lobby itself was decorated with heavy pressed glass sculptures in Chinese designs and the usual decorative assistants always ready to assist.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear baggagecarrier, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The classical lobby, floral arragements and live musical entertainment are hallmarks of China World and create a grand ambience. The florists and musicians will delighted with the recognition. Regards. John Rice, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Bearing in mind the Shangri-La brand, the stylish and beautifully appointed lobby with the glorious scent and beautiful floral arrangements comes as no surprise when one steps in from the dusty Beijing street. What did surprise us was the shabby and outmoded decor of our room (818) which was at odds with everything else.

The room is of decent size with a large comfortable bed and desk layout, an easy chair to one side by the window. But the dark wood was oppressive and the velour upholstery had been visibly repaired; the room felt tired and had a stuffy atmosphere. Though it was on the non-smoking floor, it smelled stale and slightly smoky as if it had been closed up for a while.

The bathroom was well appointed and had a large shower, but we were unable to use it because the tap was broken. Too late to call maintenance or housekeeping, I simply used the over bath shower, but this was unsatisfactory and not what I'd expect of a Shangri-La hotel.

But is this a Shangri-La? Or is it merely branded as such? Anyone arriving from one of the other Asian Shangri-La hotels might be similarly disappointed, for this is not in the same league, sadly.

One saving grace. The attached Mall has a subway station which, in just five or six stops and around ten minutes, took us to Tiananmen Square. With just a few hours to spare in Beijing, such a facility was priceless and for that short time, we were pleased with our decision to overnight at the China World.

We'd stay somewhere else next time, though - or request a refurbished room, for sure.

Room Tip: Check if your room has been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear elegantraveller, thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed to note your stay was not to expectations. I apologize for the maintenence issues you experienced and we will certainly adress this. All of our guest rooms are going to be progressively refreshed creating a new look. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to China World during your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Local friend booked this hotel for my trip. Hotel lobby is magnificent and room is clean and well-appointed.The exercise facilities in the basement are good, especially the water temperature of pool is very comfortable. Great service with friendly staff here. I would stay at this hotel again when next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is a nice hotel, l like the lobby. Staff very professionally and friendly. There is a big gym & pool in this hotel.
I stay two night with my colleague. He thought this is the best hotel in beijing. Hotel facilities a little old, but staff service very warm. We went to business center & gym. These staff very helpful and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Beijing. I can say that the service was really excellent! We were met at the airport by the hotel staff, promptly escorted to the booked car, we felt like VIPs. But it did not stop there, what really spoiled us was that we were greeted at the hotel lobby by the guest relations staff and brought directly to our room for check-in. We didn't have to queue at all and the staff who checked us in was helpful with many suggestions for places to go to. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#12 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,508 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#17 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,564 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#15 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,564 in Beijing
1,867 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#99 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $127 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing