We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #22 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed March 19, 2013

It is a nice hotel, l like the lobby. Staff very professionally and friendly. There is a big gym & pool in this hotel.
I stay two night with my colleague. He thought this is the best hotel in beijing. Hotel facilities a little old, but staff service very warm. We went to business center & gym. These staff very helpful and hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,102 - 1,108 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Beijing. I can say that the service was really excellent! We were met at the airport by the hotel staff, promptly escorted to the booked car, we felt like VIPs. But it did not stop there, what really spoiled us was that we were greeted at the hotel lobby by the guest relations staff and brought directly to our room for check-in. We didn't have to queue at all and the staff who checked us in was helpful with many suggestions for places to go to. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best in Beijing. The best in China. The best in... You get the idea. Restaurants, buffet, all terrific. Outstanding, friendly, very well-trained staff in all departments. Horizon Club well staffed all day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisG-Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is strategically located. Great service for rooms and food. Food and drinks are really nice to have. Very traditional Chinese all over.

Health club staff specially the lady at reception and the lady manager is very very rude both should not be there and not working the hotel or hospitality industry. My husband and I came to use the pool and since it's out first time we are not familiar with the health club. No one is assisting in the health club and when I stepped out to ask from the locker room both lady manager and staff literally shouted at me and said "go inside!!!" i just found it very embarrassing and rude without any assistance. The staff will look at you from head to toe and can make you feel you are a disturbance to whatever they are doing. Did not offer any help at all.

Hotel management should look into this. But apart from that the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diesel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Diesel19,

Thank you for your review and I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay.

I was concerned to note your disappointment with our Health Club people. I am sorry you experienced this level of service.

If convenient, please contact me at john.rice@shangri-la.com, with further details, so I can follow-up and ensure this does not recur.

Regards,
John Rice
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel every time I went to Beijing. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food at Summer Palace is great with reasonable price. The bed is very comfortable and I always could have a good night sleep after a long working day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Main drawback is its unstable Internet access both wifi and Broadband. For business purposes this is a huge negative. Rooms are clean but looks very dated. Breakfast spread is acceptable but nothing exceptional. Located in heart of city which is convenient. There's also a train station at doorstep of hotel which is good. Aria restaurant food is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CodyKow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear CodyKow,
Thank you for the feedback. Could you please contact me on email john.rice@shangri-la.com with some more details. WiFi is very important and we want to be able to solve this issue.
Regards. John Rice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The price was not expensive and definitely fitting for a high classed hotel like this one. It was very convenient living here to pay a visit to large shopping malls and to choose to eat in a diversity of restaurants.

The accommodation was very pleasant and the Horizon floor was very convenient and nice. The supplies provided in the room was high quality.

However, I would like to take a moment to compliment the staffs at your hotel. From booking the rooms - your staff provided precise information about the rooms according to my preferences – to the day of execution, was outstanding. Till now, my business partner and I still reminisce about the warm hospitality and cordiality by the staff members.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#16 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,567 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#7 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,961 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#33 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#21 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#124 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $139 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing