We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's China World Hotel to your Saves list
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China (Guomao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Name/address in local language
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

It is a wonderful hotel, one of the best you will find right in the city center. Everything indicates a top-class facility: service, location, rooms and so on. Don't be surprised to find extra security once in a while due to the visit of some head of state.
Nothing to complain for, only praises.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ov M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    430
    80
    18
    18
See reviews for
142
128
54
846
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed in China World Hotel in May 2012. The hotel is part of the Shangril-la group. This hotel has been around for awhile. The decoration in the lobby is grand. Servcies provided by the staff are excellent.

Room: decoration in the hotel room is abit dated. But it serves its purpose. Bed is comfortable. Everything in the bedroom is funcational. Bathroom is large and have sufficient space.

Location: it is centrally located with Subway station underneath the hotel (Line 1 and 10). You can also get a taxi easily at the hotel or on the side street. The lower level of the hotel is conencted to the underground shopping area - may I say, high-end luxury shops like Prada, LV, Gucci, etc. There is a western-style supermarket there as well. You can take the subway to Wangfujing street or Forbidden City easily.

Restaurants: only tried the Chinese restaurant there. It is a bit pricey and the food is okay. But servcies are very good. I would recommend you go outside and try the local restaurant as you can get more out of it for the same amount of money. Plus you can experience the local food and eating cutlure. If you long for Starbucks coffee, there is one in the undergound shopping plaza. There is also a food court with multiple restaurants (both western and Chinese) for your choosing.

Gym: it is a well equipped gym with all the basic equipment. Recommend go there early or later in the evening to avoid crowd.

Overall, it is a deserving 4-star hotel which is centrally located in Beijing.

Room Tip: Ask for the City View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxEatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a stay with the Hotel for vacation. My wife was with me. The facility's not bad, maybe not worth the rate yet still is a five-star place to stay with.

However, the service was terrible when I was there at the Concierge. 1 June morning we had our luggage stored in the concierge. When in the 1600 pm in the afternoon my wife came back to reclaim but the ticket was with me. I went somewhere else but I understood they want to have the sight of the ticket so I running back. This is all fine but the girl and a guy at the concierge was so rude to my wife. This is unreasonably unhappy that we were just a customer in the morning! At least someone come you should smile, say hi and explain, rather than having a cold face and being rude.

Cannot believe it is managed by Shangrila - I had much better stay in Fairmont, Continental and Sheraton hotels. Would have a second think if I would choose Shangrila again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huijie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Overall an outstanding hotel, just a couple minor nitpicks. The service at this hotel is outstanding, the rooms are comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean and most everything about the hotel is top notch.

I did find the fitness center cardio equipment while functional, was not as updated as one might expect at a hotel of this caliber. Nothing wrong with it, just not as new as I found at other top hotels. The carpets in my room could have used a refresh. Again, nothing horrible and the room was spotless, just some wear.

The staff was very helpful arranging tours and as I had just 1 day for sightseeing since this was a business trip, it was nice to be able to maximize it. Grey Line tours has a presence right in the hotel making the whole process simple.

The hotel connects to a shopping mall that winds and interconnects through several different complexes making it a bit of a maze. Lots of high end shops, some restaurants, and a nice high end Supermarket Ole - so if you want to pick up some food for snacks, make a meal, etc. this place is great. Little difficult to find as it is a level below what seems to be the lowest level of the mall. But it is there with a great selection of high quality food.
http://www.thebeijinger.com/directory/Ole-Supermarket.

I would stay at China World again without hesitation and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert-not-home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
620 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Quick summary: very comfortable room; very extensive breakfast spread; nice firness facilities; excellent location for many reasons.

I stayed 5 nights in room 506, a standard. The room has 2 double beds, but was still spacious enough although not as wonderful as a Horizon Club Room (my host booked the room.) The bed and pillows were very comfortable, with easy to adjust A/C. The view is out the front, overlooking yet more luxury boutiques like Armani and Cartier.

The room has 4 good-sized drawers and pretty good closet space. All the expected amenities of a good business-plus class hotel: robes/slippers; safe that can fit a laptop; big screen on the TV; good work space with a few office supplies; coffee/tea maker; minibar with space for your own stuff; iron/board. Good lighting options throughout the room.

Separate tub/shower in a roomy bathroom. Nice toiletries and other items to keep you looking good. Nice thick towerls.

Spotless housekeeping. Service throughout the hotel was helpful, professional and friendly. Many service workers speak English well.

Free wifi in the public areas. Free internet connection in the room works well.

Very extensive breakfast buffet that has plenty to satify both Western and Asian food preferences preferences. There is a good omlette man at the helm.

Beautiful, luxe public areas with sitting areas, lovely floral arrrangemetns, etc. The lobby lounge serves drinks, formal tea, and light meals. A 3-piece jazz combo plays in the late afternoon and evening. We celebrated two colleagues' burthdays with a bottle of champagne here, and the waitress took it upon herself to ask the combo the play "Happy Birthday" -- very thoughtful.

I debated giving this hotel a 5* rating, but downgraded it because of a few flaws that irritate me. The Aria bar/lounge was too smoky to be enjoyable (hence the champagne in the lounge.) The housekeeping was spotless, but missed replacing items like body lotion or envelopes (I use for some tip situations) on some days. The lobby was a little too perfume-y some days (and I usually love perfume!) No scale in the bathroom. The fitness center is nice, but the equipment looks dated.

Nice lap pool with 5-6 lanes, lounge chairs.

This is a very good location for the subway, shopping, New World Center, etc. The attached shopping center has a lot of luxury brands, but also a grocery store and moderately-priced restaurants and cafes; a Cold Stone Creamery, if you must. There is also an ice rink!

The multi-story Silk Market is a short walk down the street if you are into shopping for knock-offs that requires being almost assaulted by vendors, and spending half an hour arguing about a price. It's worth seeing, but not really my thing.

To sum: it's likely that I would have rated this 5* if I stayed in a Horizon Room, but my stay was at least a 4* experience in a standard room. I'd be happy to return.

Room Tip: The Horizon Club level is a really enhanced experience with many extras like afternoon drinks and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed at the China World Hotel on a number of occasions, and it is generally a wonderful experience. Right in the center of Beijing, walking distance to a number of things, and easy to get around. Metro in the basement, and if you are looking to shop Kenzo, Todds, Louis Vuotton, etc. this is the place to be. If you are looking to buy fake t-shirts, it is just down the road from the famous Silk Market.

The hotel has peaked, however, and there are a number of alternative options that are "newer and shinier". It is really the small details that are making the difference, the paint peeling off a bit in the corners of the bathrooms, but you have to look closely.

The gym is of good quality, but nowhere near the levels of upscale hotels in Beijing. The Life Fitness equipment is around 10 years old. Still in perfect working order, but this is not the latest stuff. The pool is amazing. Not quite Olympic size, but it has nice lanes and you can get in a good workout. Remember your swimming goggles - they sell them there for US$45 (the same that would sell on Amazon for US$19.95). There is a steam, but no sauna (?).

Unless you are on an expense account, pack enough shirts, or pay US$8.75 to have the hotel clean them.

Beds are heavenly, with great pillows to boot.

Breakfast is also lovely - huge spread.

All in all a great hotel with a few blemishes and a rather expensive array of services.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qualitychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I always find it difficult to review a top 5-star hotel. To get right to the point - this is an expensive hotel and as a guest, I expect to get the great service and overall experience that I pay for. I was initially quite sceptical about this hotel as I am not a fan of very large hotels. However, the staff and service met my every expectation and more on more than one occassion over my rather lengthy 9 night stay.

There is a small but - as one of the older 5-star hotels in Beijing, the property is starting to show its age. Some wear and tear in the rooms are starting to show. My biggest issue was the size of the cupboards. For any-one who is spending more than a few days and is not a light traveller (I am not!) may find the cupboard space a bit small. The standard room is also a bit small, so if you can shell out a little more, then go for the Premier room. It is actually better than their suites - fantastic space!

Overall, a great experience and great service. My second favourite hotel in Beijing.

Room Tip: Standard room a bit small. I rated excellent based on the Premier room, which is better than their s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masood_Abdulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
New World Beijing Hotel
#10 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#7 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,542 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 5,937 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Location: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#8 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#142 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing