We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Shangri-La offers enjoyable hospitality, you will love it
The hosts are friendly. It was a pleasure to have English speaking hosts in China. The service is excellent. they have many options for food choices

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    664
    127
    18
    14
See reviews for
82
122
58
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

i stayed several times in this hotel and always the service surprise to me by the top quality, lovely staff very profesional, premier rooms incredible quality, oone defect i wish always to be longer at the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Joselauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our trip to Beijing was absolutely fantastic and it is due to our stay at the Shangri-la. More specifically two concierge's of the hotel named Michael and Royce. Words cannot express the immense gratitude we have for these two young gentlemen. We first met Michael upon check in and his professionalism, huge smile and positive attitude wowed us from the first moment the car door opened. We went up to our room to arrive to a beautiful view on the 20th floor and a lovely designer cake from their pastry chef was there to welcome us as honeymooners.

Later that evening while trying to determine an artsy area to visit, we decided to pop by the desk and we were introduced to Royce by Michael. Royce is very much like Michael he's professional, helpful and dedicated he was so eager to help us. These two worked in unison so well, it felt like family after about ten minutes of questioning them about touristy places to go and eat. They were so extremely knowledgable, made suggestions and helped us with mapping things out and advising good and not so good times to attend certain places.

They helped with translations using their version of google translations which was an informative and accurate way of communicating. I must add though that their english was the best we had experienced throughout our 14 days in China. We then decided to ask them an odd but very important request...prior to coming to Beijing I was diagnosed with cancer and I was there in search of Chinese Medicine professionals to assist with my recent diagnosis and when we asked the concierge desk staff if they knew of anything they instantaneously started searching for places and Royce knew of a place and said he would check into it first thing the next morning ( even though it was his day off) he later directed us to finding the Chinese naturopath university hospital and both Michael and Royce assisted every step of the way with this request. We were absolutely inspired and delighted by the overly compassionate concern and care we received from both Royce and Michael in finding a Chinese Naturopath Hospital, its hard to believe that moments before we were strangers.

They went above and beyond the job description, calling and informing the clinic what my diagnosis was in their language, arranging the appointment time, arranging a taxi to drive us directly there and make sure we were taken care of and so much more I can't explain in detail. Its the little things like making sure we had umbrellas on days it would rain, carrying our bags whenever the opportunity was presented and always greeting us with enthusiasm and professionalism.

During our trip, they suggested very cool local venues, places to eat, best places to shop and the BEST ever place for Karaoke! my husband and I had a blast and it was all because these two gentlemen helped us immensely with anything and everything we needed.

At the end of the trip, the last morning we really wanted to see the zoo and summer palace so we arranged it with them to have the taxi hold our luggage and pick us up at the zoo. We were a little hesitant at first, but with full trust because they always guided us in the right direction we trusted and you know what it was a fabulous morning, we climbed to the top of temple at the summer palace, enjoyed ride on the river and the taxi picked us up at the zoo, so we got to see the panda bears!! All luggage in tact and a super professional taxi driver to boot.

Superior Service, Dedicated people, compassionate beings and inspiring young men helped us to forget about the diagnosis and enjoy LIFE to its fullest while staying at the Shangri-La Hotel in Beijing.

These two should both be managers by the time we return and if they are not...someones not watching very closely.

Please if you meet them, tell them you heard about them on Trip Advisor and tip them well and treat them well because they totally deserve it!

Great Gratitude

The married couple from Canada stayed June 4 to June 8 2014

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be grand. If you could get a view of the garden, its incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in early June. We were on a Wendy Wu tour & on check-in asked to upgrade to an Executive Suite at our expense. This seemed to throw the chap at Reception and it took him some time to understand that we were offering to pay not seeking a complimentary upgrade. Once this was sorted out the quality of service improved. Our Executive Suite was excellent with lots of room to relax in after the hot days touring. Facilities in the room were very good. The service in the Executive Lounge was excellent with breakfasts very good and evening drinks fine. The only trouble we encountered was because the hotel is so big some staff are not aware of the facilities available in the hotel. Would recommend the Shangri-La if you are going to Beijing.

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a suite in the Garden Wing, which was very large and nicely appointed. The housekeeping staff was very nice, although we had some trouble communicating as we don't know Mandarin and most staff members know only a few words of English

Food is *very* pricey by local standard. The breakfast buffet is $35 if you don't have a corporate rate that includes it. Dinner at the Shang Palace will cost what you would pay for a good meal in Europe or a major U.S. city, and room service is similarly pricey.

The Garden Wing is well kept up but is a bit tired. The lobby and bar areas are very nice and luxurious.

The hotel is at the intersection of busy roads, so it's not overly inviting to walk around the area. The hotel itself does have a nice formal Chinese garden, and if you walk a couple of blocks south there is a river with a walk along the bank.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the garden wing, get a room facing north on the east end of the building to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajm80031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Staff all very helpful and courteous. Breakfast had lots of choices and the location was not too bad as we could take a taxi to the town centre for the mandatory shopping trip. Check-out was fast as there were lots of staff on duty even though it was very early - 5.30am.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here in the Valley Tower for 4 days, and had a one bedroom suite. It was fabulous in every way: the room, amenities, hotel gym, restaurants and buffets, were at the highest end.

Service was beyond praise, especially from the Concierges in the Valley Wing, Michael and Marvin. The Vally Wing is definitely worth the extra price.

Major tourist attractions in the center of the City are a 20 minute cab ride, or a shorter subway ride. All is in English, so it is navigable.

What I really liked about the location of the hotel is its proximity to a canal system with lovely park walks and tranquility, directly behind the hotel.

I've stayed in five stars around the world, this one is at the top of the list.

Room Tip: Pay the bucks for the Valley Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#34 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#36 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#109 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing