We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is stunning, we really enjoyed our first ever visit to Beijing and this hotel made a very memorable. The staff were outstanding nothing was too much trouble, English speaking very polite and knowledgeable. I wouldn't say this is the best hotel for family bookings due to the size of rooms.
Our tour of Beijing was booked by the hotel with a very professional polite and trustworthy tour guide and driver, Who accommodated as with our personal tour preferences and timings.
The cloud nine bar and cafe was excellent.
Valentine's Day could not have been spent at a better place.
The lobby is outstanding along with a Michelin star restaurant.
The chef accommodated is very well with our vegetarian diet including a takeaway breakfast for the children at the early hours of the morning.
Nik

Room Tip: They were very accommodating for you to view the room before you moved in and happy to change to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    664
    127
    18
    14
See reviews for
82
122
58
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was please to stay at the Shangri-La Hotel Beijing. It is the second time I visited Beijing and the second time I decided to stay at that hotel which I personally consider as a very good and worth recommending hotel.

Room Tip: Very good comfortable and spacious rooms. I like having space and comfort in every five star hotel I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank PeterJany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Not in the heart of the business district but close enough. I was there for business and pleasure as families were on this trip. Hotel had many amenities , pool, spa, restaurant, bar/lounge, and many function/banquet rooms and ATM in lobby. Rooms were good size, comfortable beds large bathrooms with all toiletries. Beware all rooms in CHINA are HOT...difficult to control therostat. I would recommend this for etither business or pleasure

Room Tip: Our room was 19th floor facing the city ...great to see the smog
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank degabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of the best luxury business hotels I have ever stayed in. Excellent service and friendly staffs. I especially like the garden that they are offering. And also the gym and swimming pool are excellent facilities that they offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

While not necessarily central to the business district, it was close to where I was working - superb service, amazing breakfast, and an awesome hotel. There are closer high end hotels to the office, but everyone chooses to stay at the Shangri-La. It's definitely worth it for a good nights sleep and the great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great luxury hotel. The service is superb- efficient, helpful and personal. I even did the hotel check-in at the room, and not at the desk. The location is about 20 min drive from the tourist attractions. Highly recommended for business, and non-touristic visits to Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsraelAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel has been around for many years, especially the old one. They have built a new one besides the old one. The old one has been remodeled few years back, however, the in room air conditioner can not really control the temperature as it is central controlled.

Despite the hardware is not as fancy as new hotels, I enjoy to stay every time I travel to Beijing due to personal touch. The working staffs especially at dinning places do provide great service which we normally do not feel while staying at other hotel.The staffs are very polite and can recognize customers by name, what a great feeling of personal touch !

Room Tip: New building has more modern design, but cost more !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidYangHIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#34 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#36 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#109 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing