We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,599 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First of all, the hotel has two buildings, one newer and the other look much older. We stayed here three nights with the travel agency and obviously we were placed in the older building. The rooms are just average at best and very outdated. But the staff were awesome and very caring. The breakfast was very very good. It is located outside second ring close to the zoo, therefore it's a little far from the main attractions. Overall it's an ok hotel but for the price that were listed I'll rather stay at regent hotel which is much nicer and centrally located. (We didn't pay for the hotel as it was a package from the travel agency)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmhsu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

As others comment the location of the hotel is a bit awkward, although it is easy to catch cabs to and from the hotel. Just make sure you actually take the taxis from the hotel and that you get dropped off at the hotel door. The staff write down the taxi numbers and watch the drivers as you pay - I had a shonky experience with a driver swapping my money for counterfeit money when he 'inadvertently' drove past the driveway and pulled up down the street and then kept giving me back my money saying it was torn or there was another problem. The staff were incredibly helpful and called the taxi companies to trace the driver (but it turned out the taxi also had fake number plates). The staff were also terrific in arranging a rushed, personal tour to the Great Wall (I didn't have much time with my work trip), and in advancing me money from my credit card when the ATMs kept declining my card. For other travellers who have this problem, there is an ATM in the basement of the hotel which worked fine! The restaurant was lovely and had a good vegetarian selection which was a real bonus for me. The bed was very comfortable and overlooked the hotel garden. The room was a little tired - not really five star but I would say the service is seven!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live2travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

hotel is old and service is poor related to Sangri-la standard. located in periferial area and not so close to any underground stations.no specific recomandation for spending night in the hotel. dinner quality poor and expensive

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Pino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. We regret that our hotel facilities and dining experience did not live up to your expectation. I would like to further discuss the matter with you, kindly contact me at christopher.chia@shangri-la.com.

Thank you.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Things have sharpened up for the better since my last visit and I was grateful to all the staff for their attentive service. Room cleaning seems to be high standard and bathroom smells abated. Room service was fast and effective. I like staying here as the hotel is spacious and good swimming pool....and for me its in exactly the right part of the city. Congratulations to the staff for a nice visit.

Room Tip: For business and meetings the Valley Wing rooms are good providing access to Horizon Club . I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have no doubt that Shangri la Hotel offer great services among a lot of Hotels Chain in the world. However, if the location desired to be close to attraction do not go for it. Otherwise, everything is great and perfect. I have got even complimentary shuttle serves to airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week as it wasn't too far from Beijing exhibition centre. I was in a room in the valley wing and it was fantastic. Everthing you could possibly need or want for a home from home was supplied in the room. All the staff were fantastic and helpful and I would certainly go back. The only disappointment was the STAY restaurant, but I have left a separate review on that experience!

Room Tip: Valley wing is newer and has a great club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnJampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at this 'idyllic beauty' after a long flight from the east coast of the U.S. What a pleasure to be welcomed by pleasant staff and inviting accommodations. Large, non-smoking room with a breathtaking view. Every traveler's need was thought and accommodated. The breakfast buffet is commensurate with the best luxury hotels in the U.S. offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vabeachteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,621 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,262 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#17 of 6,599 in Beijing
1,576 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Family Hotel in Beijing
#62 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $131 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is ideally locally located on the West Third-Ring Road which is the gateway to your historical exploration of the capital city such as Great Wall, Summer Palace, Fragrance Mountain, Tiananmen Square, Lama Temple, Hutongs, Houhai Bar Street and many more. The hotel is also in the heart of financial and technological district and within close proximity to renowned universities like Tsing Hua University, Peking University, Renmin University, etc. Access to and from the international airport is approximately 30 minutes by car and two subway stations are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing