We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great service but outdated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
New york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service but outdated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

First of all, the hotel has two buildings, one newer and the other look much older. We stayed here three nights with the travel agency and obviously we were placed in the older building. The rooms are just average at best and very outdated. But the staff were awesome and very caring. The breakfast was very very good. It is located outside second ring close to the zoo, therefore it's a little far from the main attractions. Overall it's an ok hotel but for the price that were listed I'll rather stay at regent hotel which is much nicer and centrally located. (We didn't pay for the hotel as it was a package from the travel agency)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmhsu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    650
    126
    18
    14
See reviews for
75
120
58
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

As others comment the location of the hotel is a bit awkward, although it is easy to catch cabs to and from the hotel. Just make sure you actually take the taxis from the hotel and that you get dropped off at the hotel door. The staff write down the taxi numbers and watch the drivers as you pay - I had a shonky experience with a driver swapping my money for counterfeit money when he 'inadvertently' drove past the driveway and pulled up down the street and then kept giving me back my money saying it was torn or there was another problem. The staff were incredibly helpful and called the taxi companies to trace the driver (but it turned out the taxi also had fake number plates). The staff were also terrific in arranging a rushed, personal tour to the Great Wall (I didn't have much time with my work trip), and in advancing me money from my credit card when the ATMs kept declining my card. For other travellers who have this problem, there is an ATM in the basement of the hotel which worked fine! The restaurant was lovely and had a good vegetarian selection which was a real bonus for me. The bed was very comfortable and overlooked the hotel garden. The room was a little tired - not really five star but I would say the service is seven!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

hotel is old and service is poor related to Sangri-la standard. located in periferial area and not so close to any underground stations.no specific recomandation for spending night in the hotel. dinner quality poor and expensive

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Pino B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. We regret that our hotel facilities and dining experience did not live up to your expectation. I would like to further discuss the matter with you, kindly contact me at christopher.chia@shangri-la.com.

Thank you.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Things have sharpened up for the better since my last visit and I was grateful to all the staff for their attentive service. Room cleaning seems to be high standard and bathroom smells abated. Room service was fast and effective. I like staying here as the hotel is spacious and good swimming pool....and for me its in exactly the right part of the city. Congratulations to the staff for a nice visit.

Room Tip: For business and meetings the Valley Wing rooms are good providing access to Horizon Club . I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have no doubt that Shangri la Hotel offer great services among a lot of Hotels Chain in the world. However, if the location desired to be close to attraction do not go for it. Otherwise, everything is great and perfect. I have got even complimentary shuttle serves to airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a week as it wasn't too far from Beijing exhibition centre. I was in a room in the valley wing and it was fantastic. Everthing you could possibly need or want for a home from home was supplied in the room. All the staff were fantastic and helpful and I would certainly go back. The only disappointment was the STAY restaurant, but I have left a separate review on that experience!

Room Tip: Valley wing is newer and has a great club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnJampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at this 'idyllic beauty' after a long flight from the east coast of the U.S. What a pleasure to be welcomed by pleasant staff and inviting accommodations. Large, non-smoking room with a breathtaking view. Every traveler's need was thought and accommodated. The breakfast buffet is commensurate with the best luxury hotels in the U.S. offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vabeachteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,165 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#20 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#32 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#118 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing