We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 5* Hotel - Haidian Business District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Chinese New Year Special
Ranked #41 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good 5* Hotel - Haidian Business District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last 3 years and I am always welcomed "home" on arrival.
The rooms are very spacious and clean and the hotel has some great leasure facilities, including Gym, Pool and the wonderful "Chi" Spa (although Spa treatments are quite expensive).
The prices in the lobby bar are a bit steep (for Coffee etc) but the In-room dining prices are very good value in my opinion. The only downside of this hotel if you are not doing business in Haidian, or are a tourist, is that it is between 30-60 minutes from the main tourist areas such as Tianamen Sq and Sanliton by Taxi depending on traffic. The upside, when you finally get a taxi, is that it will only cost you about £4 each way!
I am due to return to Beijing soon and shall be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "Valley Wing" are larger and more modern but quite a lot more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Exceptional hotel - staff attention, lobby, rooms, spa, restaurant (with garden view).
Restaurant has an outstanding (but expensive) buffet.
Spa has sauna, hot tub, relaxation chairs, etc.
Fitness center has plenty of equipment all in excellent working condition.
Free shuttle bus to certain locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank AGibToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there 4 days in September of 2013. The place is a palace, super clean, with a staff that tries its very best to please. The rooms were spacious, all suites in this hotel, and overlooked a park. The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. It was like a las vegas buffet. Truly mind blowing with every type of food you can imagine. And all of it was fresh with great flavor. The dining room was spectaclular, with a view of the interior gardens. In all one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and I travel quite a bit. I reccomend this hotel withour any reservation. The business center was fully equpiped and was useful. The indoor pool and spa was first rate and a great place to go after a hectic day. Super clean and the excersize facility was first rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the park and traffic circle. Just watching traffic in Bejing is a spor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Overall this hotel is very good but I was unreasonably charge for 2 bottle of Evan water which I didn't consume at all. .
Beside, this hotel is far from the tourist attraction.
Hard to get a taxi back to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank sgChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr.Chua
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. While we are delighted
that your experience has been generally very good, we also note your dissppointment about a mini bar late charge. We regret and apologize for this mistake and have already reversed the charge when we received a separate notice about this from you.

Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 days for my business trip in Beijing and it was as great experience. Hotel staff had little limitation in their English language but were always willing to help. I highly recommend and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights on business. Room was great, Very spacious and comfortable. A nice desk area for work. Bathroom was large and stocked with nice products.

Service was excellent. I felt like there were always two people to help me whenever I needed it. Staff was very helpful in helping me get a taxi and let drive know where I needed to go.

I used the shuttle service to take me to my office location. A nice amenity. Shuttle was clean and comfortable.

Internet is generally slow in China compared to the USA, but it seemed especially slow on the hotel wireless depending on the time of day.

My only real complain was the restaurants. Very pricey and the food was not good. Avoid the buffet! There are plenty of great places to eat in Beijing at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank dmbtr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here 3 times for business trips. Great efficient hotel with nice amenities. Good gym with a sauna and steam room, good breakfast with freshly prepared eggs, nice restaurants for business meetings. Will be back in November.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#218 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing