We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service and Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #36 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
2 reviews
“Excellent Service and Amenities”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 days for my business trip in Beijing and it was as great experience. Hotel staff had little limitation in their English language but were always willing to help. I highly recommend and would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    666
    127
    18
    14
See reviews for
81
123
59
465
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights on business. Room was great, Very spacious and comfortable. A nice desk area for work. Bathroom was large and stocked with nice products.

Service was excellent. I felt like there were always two people to help me whenever I needed it. Staff was very helpful in helping me get a taxi and let drive know where I needed to go.

I used the shuttle service to take me to my office location. A nice amenity. Shuttle was clean and comfortable.

Internet is generally slow in China compared to the USA, but it seemed especially slow on the hotel wireless depending on the time of day.

My only real complain was the restaurants. Very pricey and the food was not good. Avoid the buffet! There are plenty of great places to eat in Beijing at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank dmbtr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here 3 times for business trips. Great efficient hotel with nice amenities. Good gym with a sauna and steam room, good breakfast with freshly prepared eggs, nice restaurants for business meetings. Will be back in November.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hi,

I stayed there 2 nights, for business, the location was close to the summer palace, and other landmarks like the Great Wall, but Beijing is big, so....

Wonderful staff, lounge, and room.

An extra star for the SPA, with skill full staff and luxurious surroundings ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great hotel. Great staff and service. The put some lovely treats in the room for my 6 year old daughter. The concierge was phenomenal, as were all the staff. The beds are great. The garden is lovely. The breakfast is very good, almost excellent. It may be a bit older than some hotels, it is not worn out by any stretch. The room had a nice desk and sofa. The location could be a little better but no place is near everything. Being an upscale 5 star place, dining and drinks are pricey but that is to be expected. There is a market in the basement of the building next door if you need to save a few bucks. The hotel location is very good for getting to the Summer Palace. The pool and jacuzzi are a great treat after a long day of walking the Great Wall and all the other places in town.

Room Tip: I loved my garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's a a nice and very clean hotel. Some staff are very helpful and welcoming. Housekeeper was very pilot and efficient. Some staff are just doing their jobs because they have to, not because they want to. You can easily tell the difference.
I went to Nishimura restaurant on the second floor for a quick lunch. Just ordered some sushi rolls. When the first roll was delivered to me, I was surprised. Dining in a restaurant inside Shangri-La and paying for a higher price, I expect to see something with better presentation. The sushi pieces were not cut in the same size. Few rice were hanging on the edge of seaweed. It looks like something I could buy from food court. A restaurant in Shangri-La should do better than that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank fifi_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. While we are delighted you found that our staff to be helpful and welcoming but we also note your comment about our food presentation in our Japanese restaurant.
We thank you for helping us be better by pointing out our temporary shortcomings. Indeed we can do better and this matter has been immediately addressed with our culinary staff.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having been to Beijing many times I have been aware of the Shangri-La hotel for many years but had not stayed at the hotel until this trip which will last nearly two weeks. With a week at the hotel as of tomorrow I must say I am very impressed as a staying guest. The rooms and restaurants are comparable to other top rated hotels but the staff is really Five Star. For example, after using my laptop computer on a desk top which has a little glare I was delighted to find a mouse pad by my laptop after returning from a meeting aware from the hotel. The note with it essentially said: "I noticed you have been using your laptop and thought this mouse pad might be helpful in the use of your computer." Having taught business courses at Utah Valley University including segments on customer relations I now have a new good example to share.

Room Tip: Unable to distinguish a particular room location but am enjoying my room which is well appointed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,448 in Beijing
279 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,662 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#35 of 6,448 in Beijing
2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#34 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#105 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing