We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and staff. A most excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great hotel. Great staff and service. The put some lovely treats in the room for my 6 year old daughter. The concierge was phenomenal, as were all the staff. The beds are great. The garden is lovely. The breakfast is very good, almost excellent. It may be a bit older than some hotels, it is not worn out by any stretch. The room had a nice desk and sofa. The location could be a little better but no place is near everything. Being an upscale 5 star place, dining and drinks are pricey but that is to be expected. There is a market in the basement of the building next door if you need to save a few bucks. The hotel location is very good for getting to the Summer Palace. The pool and jacuzzi are a great treat after a long day of walking the Great Wall and all the other places in town.

Room Tip: I loved my garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinjack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's a a nice and very clean hotel. Some staff are very helpful and welcoming. Housekeeper was very pilot and efficient. Some staff are just doing their jobs because they have to, not because they want to. You can easily tell the difference.
I went to Nishimura restaurant on the second floor for a quick lunch. Just ordered some sushi rolls. When the first roll was delivered to me, I was surprised. Dining in a restaurant inside Shangri-La and paying for a higher price, I expect to see something with better presentation. The sushi pieces were not cut in the same size. Few rice were hanging on the edge of seaweed. It looks like something I could buy from food court. A restaurant in Shangri-La should do better than that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank fifi_sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Area General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. While we are delighted you found that our staff to be helpful and welcoming but we also note your comment about our food presentation in our Japanese restaurant.
We thank you for helping us be better by pointing out our temporary shortcomings. Indeed we can do better and this matter has been immediately addressed with our culinary staff.

Christopher Chia
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having been to Beijing many times I have been aware of the Shangri-La hotel for many years but had not stayed at the hotel until this trip which will last nearly two weeks. With a week at the hotel as of tomorrow I must say I am very impressed as a staying guest. The rooms and restaurants are comparable to other top rated hotels but the staff is really Five Star. For example, after using my laptop computer on a desk top which has a little glare I was delighted to find a mouse pad by my laptop after returning from a meeting aware from the hotel. The note with it essentially said: "I noticed you have been using your laptop and thought this mouse pad might be helpful in the use of your computer." Having taught business courses at Utah Valley University including segments on customer relations I now have a new good example to share.

Room Tip: Unable to distinguish a particular room location but am enjoying my room which is well appointed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is wonderful. All staff was extremely courteous and helpful. They spoke good english and understood us easily. The restaurant had a wide choice of cuisine which included Chinese, Western, Japanese and Indian. Buffet lunch and dinner were rather expensive. Beef, lamb and chicken, we were told was halal, which improved meal options for Muslims. There is a nice garden by the restaurant which makes the ambience very pleasant. Location was not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arshadsiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Shangri La Beijing was the first hotel we stayed in on a two week tour of China.

The breakfast is amazing - great choice, fresh food, fab egg station and a good mix of Asian and western choices. The view from the breakfast room is so pretty.

The room was clean and spacious; the bathroom was lovely; front desk staff spoke good English and it was easy to change travellers cheques. There is a little parade of restaurants next door, including Pizza Hut and KFC, as well as a super hand supermarket.

The only down side is that it took at least 25 mins to get to any of the sights from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We needed to add a couple of days before starting a holiday from the Shangri La with friends and got a god deal for the extra days and no need to change rooms. Whopee their was a kettle and tea in the room, also free wifi. The buffet breakfast was so good it was difficult to choose. We had a reception in the traditional garden which was so peaceful. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the metro and there is a great eat all you want restaurant just opposite. Driving in to the car park is a bit fraught with roads everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Traveling with my husband to China on business sounds more glamorous than it is. China is an incredible place but so very different. It was so nice to stay at a Shangri-la hotel where I could enjoy some of the more western comforts. The Shangri-la in Beijing is unique as it is really two hotels connected. There is the "old" wing called the garden wing which was built probably about 5-10 years ago and the Valley wing which was newly built. Both wings are nice but only the Valley wing has a special concierge room called the Valley Wing Room. My husband chose to pay a little extra for us to get a room in this part of the hotel since it gives us a bigger room (like a junior suite) plus access to the Valley Wing Room. This room hosts a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning and a very nice happy hour in the late afternoon. Both the breakfast and the happy hour are included in the rate and are wonderful. Tons of food options and the alcoholic beverages are high quality. I thought the quality of our room was high. Nicely appointed and spacious. In addition it was well equipped for business travel with everything you would need while abroad on business including stocking the desk with extras like paperclips and tape.

One last thing, there is a spa in the hotel but it appears to be the standard type of spa with the "same ole same ole" type of great massages for a high price. Well, we found a very authentic massage place about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It is a little adventurous but definitely an authentic Chinese massage experience. The price is much better than the hotel as well. I don't know the name since it is in Chinese characters but here are the simple directions to get there. Exit the hotel from the new hotel lobby. Turn right out the door and walk along the road until you see a Pizza Hut (a block or two). Turn right on the road immediately after passing the Pizza Hut. Walk past a building or two and on the left you will see a big building with "massage" written somewhere on it. It is inset a little with a parking lot. My husband has been there several times on business and we went a couple of times on our trip as well. The staff is very sweet, they have an electronic menu of offerings including one in English and boy do they have some strong hands!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#20 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Family Hotel in Beijing
#68 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $122 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is ideally locally located on the West Third-Ring Road which is the gateway to your historical exploration of the capital city such as Great Wall, Summer Palace, Fragrance Mountain, Tiananmen Square, Lama Temple, Hutongs, Houhai Bar Street and many more. The hotel is also in the heart of financial and technological district and within close proximity to renowned universities like Tsing Hua University, Peking University, Renmin University, etc. Access to and from the international airport is approximately 30 minutes by car and two subway stations are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing