We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at a Shangri-la hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Traveling with my husband to China on business sounds more glamorous than it is. China is an incredible place but so very different. It was so nice to stay at a Shangri-la hotel where I could enjoy some of the more western comforts. The Shangri-la in Beijing is unique as it is really two hotels connected. There is the "old" wing called the garden wing which was built probably about 5-10 years ago and the Valley wing which was newly built. Both wings are nice but only the Valley wing has a special concierge room called the Valley Wing Room. My husband chose to pay a little extra for us to get a room in this part of the hotel since it gives us a bigger room (like a junior suite) plus access to the Valley Wing Room. This room hosts a lovely breakfast buffet in the morning and a very nice happy hour in the late afternoon. Both the breakfast and the happy hour are included in the rate and are wonderful. Tons of food options and the alcoholic beverages are high quality. I thought the quality of our room was high. Nicely appointed and spacious. In addition it was well equipped for business travel with everything you would need while abroad on business including stocking the desk with extras like paperclips and tape.

One last thing, there is a spa in the hotel but it appears to be the standard type of spa with the "same ole same ole" type of great massages for a high price. Well, we found a very authentic massage place about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It is a little adventurous but definitely an authentic Chinese massage experience. The price is much better than the hotel as well. I don't know the name since it is in Chinese characters but here are the simple directions to get there. Exit the hotel from the new hotel lobby. Turn right out the door and walk along the road until you see a Pizza Hut (a block or two). Turn right on the road immediately after passing the Pizza Hut. Walk past a building or two and on the left you will see a big building with "massage" written somewhere on it. It is inset a little with a parking lot. My husband has been there several times on business and we went a couple of times on our trip as well. The staff is very sweet, they have an electronic menu of offerings including one in English and boy do they have some strong hands!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

373 - 379 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really look forward to staying in Shangri-La hotels because they are consistently excellent and this is no exception.

Location:

I was slightly concerned before I arrived at this hotel because some of the reviews had mentioned the location wasn't great. I am pleased to report this is not the case. The location is as good as anywhere in Beijing. The city is very spread out and it would be difficult to pinpoint an ideal location for a hotel.

There are many shops / convenience stores close by and also several places to eat within walking distance.

Getting taxis at the hotel is very easy because there are plenty in the area. By taxi into the Tianamen Square area takes about 25 minutes depending on traffic, which isn't bad.

The highly efficient and easy to use Beijing subway is also easily accessible with the nearest station being about a 10 minute walk. It then takes about 20 minutes into the centre of town.

Service:

As expected, the service was extremely professional. All members of staff were eager to please and were able to assist with most requests. We booked a tour to the Great Wall via the Concierge (Justin) who gave us very good advice and we were very pleased with the company he put booked us with.

Room:

We went for a rooms in the Valley Wing, which were extremely spacious and very well appointed. Bed comfort was excellent and the room was very quiet, despite the hotel being adjacent to a busy road.

Air con efficiency was superb. I was able to keep the room lovely and cool, just the way I like it.

The bathroom was very nice. Very spacious with 2 sinks. Shower pressure was good.

Bars / Restaurants:

We used the Valley Wing Lounge for breakfast, which was good without being great. However, the food arrived promptly and there was a good selection of buffet items to choose from. Good coffee too!

The Valley Lounge also offers complimentary refreshments all day, including wine, beer and champagne, which I have not come across in other SL hotels I have stayed in - normally it's only for a couple of hours in the evening. This really impressed me. Additionally, from 6 - 8pm in the evenings, the hotel provides a small but interesting selection of hot items which were substantial enough to be considered an evening meal, so top marks for that.

We also had drinks in the lobby bar, which was also very nice and fairly reasonably priced.

Overall:

Superb hotel, good location and great service. I thought it was very good value for money and I would certainly be very happy to visit again.

Room Tip: The Valley Wing rooms are very nice. The views are about equal on both sides of the hotel but The So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endofcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice enough. I don't think it's as nice as they're branding makes it seem.
And I found that the service is hit or miss. I had some wonderful waitresses and the concierge was great but other hotel employees weren't very nice or polite. That is what can kill a hotel for me. I'm big of customer service.
Other than that, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leafs_fan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for business, best value is to purchase package with breakfast included. Central location easy to walk around the city. The fragrance they use for the hotel was a little overbearing for my taste. The shops in the mall were conveniently located below the hotel with all kinds of dining and shopping options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Luxury hotel with such magnificent service.

Large and spacious rooms. We stayed in Horizon Club Deluxe room, so we we lucky to enjoy individual breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Club with champagne Moet.

SPA is very professional!

Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a special place for those who love sunbathing.
But, there is a small meadow next to the swimming pool.
We were taking sun lounges from the swimmingpool and enjoyed sunbathing without any problems :)

I do highly recommend this hotel for those who appreciate quality and high level of service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekaterina_Tallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday while in Beijing. Wow, the service is unmatched from the moment you exit the taxi to sitting on your bed! Well deserving of it's 5 star status & more! Everything you think you need is catered for. The spa & pool facilities are luxurious. The staff were so attentive, it was noticeable. Surprisingly on my birthday, they presented me with a cake & card completely free of charge and to the surprise of my partner as well! It made the stay even more amazing, loved it. Free wifi in the rooms with no login required, views of the city in a free upgraded room on the 21st floor was a wow!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KvpKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a BIG hotel. There are many people around during day time. If you are looking for quietness, you can only experience that early in the morning or late at night - the best time to appreciate the artistic paintings and flower arrangements in the lobby and lounge. I stayed in the Garden Wing. The facilities in the room were a bit dated comparing with other modern hotels in Beijing. Despite of which, the bed was very comfortable and I had a good sleep. The hotel provided excellent service which has made up for everything. the staff at the reception counter, health centre and restaurants were all polite and genuinely caring. They would do extra miles to make guests feel at home. The Chi-spa was good but about 50% more expensive than similar spas in other Beijing top hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOAL_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,295 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#20 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $123 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is ideally locally located on the West Third-Ring Road which is the gateway to your historical exploration of the capital city such as Great Wall, Summer Palace, Fragrance Mountain, Tiananmen Square, Lama Temple, Hutongs, Houhai Bar Street and many more. The hotel is also in the heart of financial and technological district and within close proximity to renowned universities like Tsing Hua University, Peking University, Renmin University, etc. Access to and from the international airport is approximately 30 minutes by car and two subway stations are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing