We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China trip 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel Beijing to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China (Yuanda Road)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Chinese New Year Special
Ranked #41 of 5,545 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“China trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a friendly hotel. I travelled with my family and we were pleased with the service and facilities at this hotel. We enjoyed the breakfasts and had a nice buffet tea at the restaurant. Nice touches included changing the carpet in the lifts to reflect the days of the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nj
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really loved this hotel. Although some people may feel this location is not convenient- Beijing is so large I am unsure any other spot would have been more convenient. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. We liked all of the great space to put away or toiletries in the bathroom an the amenities in the room.Our only pet peeves were that we wish they had an outlet with a mirror so that multiple people could blow dry their hair instead of just one with the hook up in the desk and that there was no chocolate at turn down. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast served overlooking the very lovely garden area. Especially appreciated the made to order Beijing pancakes and smoothies. All of the staff was very nice and tried to be helpful despite our language barriers. We found the doormen and gym/pool attendants extremely attentive. Taxis no problem from the hotel but a little difficult trying to return to this location.

I cannot say enough about he gym/pool area. The gym was well appointed with towels, water, antibacterial wipes,etc. The pool was also maintained well and easily accommodated 4 lap swimmers. The nicest feature was the locker room which was a spa like oasis, containing steam, sauna, slate bottomed whirlpool, showers and rubber sandals, robes, towels and toiletries. It was so nice that I chose to get ready in the morning in that area leaving my friend to our room to herself. The staff was also very kind an helpful.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drivinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

brilliant hotel! clean with good amenities. staff warm and friendly.
restaurant food excellent - good choice at breakfast and also at dinner. one of best hotels in Beijing.
staff helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great hotel, poor location. Expensive meals. Hard to get taxis in the morning. Very friendly staff. Buffet diner was very good, with lobster and other sea food. I checked in they day of my birthday and was very pleased with the complementary birthday cake they put in my room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

1. good service
2. can improve by providing more travel information about Beijing in hotel room such as map and travel guide.
3. welcome fruits can have more variety, not just apple as I stayed from 20 to 22 April
4. plant more trees and flowers in the garden
5. garden should be renovated so as to improve the overall image of the hotel and more relaxing feeling to the guests

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 9 days in April 2013. We had two rooms in the valley wing. And had free access to a really nice lounge with everything complimentary even nice champagne. The breakfast was served in the lounge as well, and was very good. The rooms where above normal Shangri-La standard and very large. The staff was friendly and help full though a bit hard to understand at times. From the moment we where off the plane from EU we where grated by a staff member at the gate who helped us through everything, a very nice touch. We where traveling with our 2 year old, and she felt like a star at the hotel where all staff seemed to fall for her. We even got some cute welcome presents for her. All in all i would like to recommend this hotel deeply

Room Tip: I can only recommend the Valley wing, every one kept telling us the old wing is not nearly as nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JokkeDeFrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for a short weekend getaway with my family during the chinese vacation of tomb sweaping day. We were taken to the 12th floor for check in the club floor. It was very smooth and done by very polite people as well.

Hotel set up: It has two towers, garden wing and valley wing, the new one, which I stayed in with my family. both wings are connected with a long and wide walkway that includes some shops and the main entrance of the evnts hall of the hotel. the old wing is facing a chinese garden that is greatly landscped. it works great for an afternoon tea.


Location: The hotel is located in the western part of the city. Not a lot of business located near the hotel. For that I would rate it for leisure more than a business hotel. nothing much around it on foot. you need to take a cab to reach anywhere interesting. all in all, not one of the best spots in the city.

Room: rooms of the new tower are simply amazing; the standard room which I tool was really spacious with a seating area. The TV is awkwardly positioned in the middle so you can actually pull out of its hole in the wall and tilt it wither way to watch, the bed or the seating area. Great toiletries and mini bar selection.

Food: hands down, Shangri-la is the best hotel company when it comes to food catering. Any Shangri-la I go you can’t go wrong with the food, be it room service or the varieties of the restaurant they have. I have to say, their food quality don’t come cheap. It’s too expensive to the point that you have to count it in the budget if you want to eat in the hotel. I tried room service, breakfast buffet, lounge snacks and the Japanese restaurant. All top class with no issue at all.

SPA: I tried Shangri-la’s signature spa, chi, in other location. It’s simply superb. My wife tried this hotel’s and did not have any complaints. The prices are high I would say.

Sports: swimming pool and gym are very nice, heated water and very high quality equipment. Changing room is very clean and well taken care of.

Over all, we had a very lovely two night stay at the hotel. It was not cheap at all, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go to the new tower, the Valley Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suntop80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
New World Beijing Hotel
#11 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 5,545 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#16 of 5,545 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing Region > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#219 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing