We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Shangri La: the best in Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,165 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
“Shangri La: the best in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful hotel with great service. The room is very large, nice view over the city. Breakfeast is huge and the french restaurant is top of the top. If you have some money, try this great experience.
I fyou want to relax in peace, go to the swimming pool. One of the greatest indoor pool I have experienced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel94130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    650
    126
    18
    14
See reviews for
75
120
58
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri-La in Beijing during May2012. It was my frst trip to China. The hotel was fantastic and the service impeccable. Chinese people have such a willingness to serve and assist people, we really felt like royalty during our stay. It was very easy to find taxis from the hotel to the tourist spots in Beijing. I would have loved to be a little closer to the Tiannemen square area, but other than that our stay was perfect. Be sure to try out the spa at the hotel as it is pure indulgence! The breakfast buffet was huge but because we only eat halaal the choice was a bit limited - I did however do justice to the pastries! The hotel has a lovely garden which you must take a walk around. This is one of the things that I found so appealing in China - the gardens and parks, its all so beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nazneenaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The service is great! The rooms are big and comfortable. The lounge of the west wing is very nice. Has a very nice fitness facility. The SPA is great! The pick up and drop off service at the airport is one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed in the hotel only for one week-end, but it was simply great. The room (Premier Valley Wing) was nice, comfortable and well-equiped. The staff was very polite and attentive to our needs, always smiling. We had the chance to eat in the three restaurants of the hotel: STAY, Shang Palace and Nishimura. Food was of high-quaity in all of them and atmosphere very adapted to each food's style. The breakfast at CHA Cafe was impressing. Also, CHI Spa is the perfect place to relax with professional massage.
During this week-end, the hotel organized different acitivties for us (it was a special offer) like dim-sum cooking class, tea ceremony and Beijing breakfast in a Beijing food institution. All these activities were very interesting and enriching. Even if we've been leaving in Beijing for four years, we learnt many things. This week-end recharges our batteries for the whole-year!
I really recommend the Shangri la to people who live in Beijing or China and want a week-end of peace to relax, also to businessmen who want to work quietly and to tourists who want to learn more about Beijing and its culture.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melaniemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Arrival in Beijing was made all that much easier by having arranged a meet and greet at the air bridge with the Hotel who then escorted us through Customs right up to the waiting hotel car. Arrival could not have been more welcoming nor efficient. Personally escorted to a Diplomat Suite in the Valley Wing (celebrating a significant wedding anniversary) which was magnificent to say the least. Check in was completed in the rooms and the bags had arrived within a few minutes of arriving in the room. Most of the facilities were used and on each occasion, the staff were incredibly friendly, professional and attentive. Would recommend again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Valley Wing is newer and the Valley Wing Lounge along with its staff and amenities is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Room was spacious and highly comfortable. Food was nice (the quality perfect but I prefer more seafood than China inland cuisine). Stuff was maximally friendly and fulfilled all my needs. Spa – just perfect (especially massage. They have an apartment with private bath and shower for every visitor). Transport – taxi can take you around the city with no problems (excluding traffic jams which are really huge).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

No surprise there that this 5-star hotel provides excellent service -- for the price, it better does, even though I bet many people are not paying out of pocket anyway.

The porters were extremely helpful and saved my day after I forgot my passport on the taxi -- because I was so tired after being stuck in the traffic for 3+ hours from the airport! They radioed the front gate and the taxi driver quickly came back with my passport. Thank god!

Nothing to comment on the room, which was perfect. The old-fashioned desk chair was not very comfortable for work though. The maid left a mouse pad for me on the next day after seeing me using a piece of paper on the glass desk as a replacement. Nice little touch.

As is everywhere else in China, food was just wonderful. Service at the restaurant was excellent, for both breakfast and dinner. Again, I can't comment on the price since I didn't pay for it but the menu looked reasonable for the price from what I can recall.

I actually have no idea about the location because we were taken to all business by car service. However, I guess this isn't in a very central location based on the street scenes to and from the hotel. For starter, it is at the corner of to freeways. However, my room up in the 14th floor was absolutely quiet despite the proximity to busy traffic.

I probably would not stay at this hotel were it not for business, not because of the price but more for the location. Unless you drive, there doesn't seem anything to see around the hotel ground. You have to take taxi everywhere and the taxi line in the morning was very long for the week I stayed there. They dispatchers were very efficient and helpful though, as was almost every young man and woman in China. My take of China is that as long as money is on the table, everyone works super hard and the service is simply perfect. The same can't be said for other big cities in Europe and the US.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutrasimilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,165 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#20 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#32 of 6,165 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#119 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing