We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #38 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bay area, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a great hotel”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great service - the staff genuinely cares and all speak good English.

A couple things that I like in particular
-There's a free shuttle to Zhongguancun Software Park, which is where I need to go. Many taxi drivers don't know about this place, so it avoids the confusion of finding it. It's also difficult to find a shuttle from the software park due to its remoteness. It's a small thing, but makes a difference.
- If you want good western food for breakfast, the buffet is excellent. (The Chinese food is good too, but that's to be expected). It's a little expensive, about 200 RMB.
- Rooms are spacious. Internet is reliable, both wired and Wifi. Don't make you login after the first time, unlike other hotels where you log in every day.

Location is okay. If you want to walk to restaurants, there are some within walking distance. There's not a lot of life in the area though after dark. But, it's the closest good hotel to our office.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    668
    129
    18
    14
See reviews for
82
125
59
469
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This being my first visit to Beijing, I was thrilled to find the Shangri-La Beijing met the standards I've come to expect after multiple stays at Shangri-La resorts worldwide. The usual trimmings are all there, with the service tipping the scales as soon as you walk through the door. The staff in all departments I interacted with were excellent.
Overall, the rooms are staple Shangri-La: all the features I've come to expect for my business traveller needs (comfy bed, good workdesk set-up, plenty of wardrobe space). On the downside, tea/coffee facilities were limited to a single black tea tea-bag (no coffee, milk or sugar to be seen) and the bathroom was looking a little tired and in need of some elbow-grease cleaning. It wasn't dirty by any stretch of the imagination, but it needed a bit more effort on the housekeeping front.
Do make the effort to sample the breakfast offerings in the buffet or via room service, and make the time to try high tea or a sumptuous (and very well priced) cocktail at the Cloud Nine Bar during your stay,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorsportM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Amazing expeience. Many example of attentive and personal services. Let's share one - while it takes 30 minutes to wait for taxi in the morning, the staff issue me a ticket and encourage me to hang around in the a/c'ed lobby, while they hailed cab from the street. Truly considerate. Wil recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

it would be Shangri-La Beijing.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about this hote. Service is brilliant, Food is good. They would accomodate your every request. I always feel that this is my home away from home. The staff are genuinely caring and that is not a request they would deny their guest.

I must say that for a while I was so spoilt by the excellent service they have rendered to me that I had expected the same of other hotels only to be disappointed.

It is such a shame that these days I rarely stay at this hotel but I do feel that the staff are like my friends in Beijing.

Well done everyone and please keep up the great work you are doing

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing are superb. Try to get the higher floors as you can get to see smog and ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel seems to run a very interesting business model - they allot you the worst and oldest room available in the property when you check-in and when you complain about the room conditions, they try to upsell you a 'valley' wing room at double the rate. The scheme possibly works for Shangri la patrons willing to indulge since they throw in lounge access, etc for the valley rooms.
I stayed here with my husband for 1 night. We'd orignally booked for longer but decided to check out and move to a different hotel after 1 night. I've stayed at their property in Hong Kong before and the room/service provided in Beijing wasn't even close. It can possibly pass off for a basic sleep over property but you expect more from Shangri la for the price you pay.
The staff are pretentious and put on a good show of showing concern for your issues with the room as they try to upsell the newer wing.
Location is fine, lounge is alright, service is poor, rooms are depressing, room service is cold (freezing!).

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay a premium, choose a room in the valley wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SalzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Value Guest: thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Beijing and for taking the time to share your negative comments about the hotel and our offerings. We would like to further discuss the matter with you. Kindly contact our Resident Manager at hakan.ozel@shangri-la.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hotel is located well in the business district. I was on personal holiday, but it still served well. Staff is friendly and competent in English. Rooms are spacious and even the view from the front of the hotel was wonderful. Concierge staff especially helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtw2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Book a holiday Inn Express instead at half the price at a better location. Old rooms, BnB type filthy bathrooms and cold room service with indifferent staff attitude.
Mind you, the website photos and features mentioined are highly deceptive and perhaps belong to the era of the Ming dynasty.

I spend over 30 nights a year in Shangri la properties across asia and have rarely been dissappointed - but this one is a sham. Very old rooms, furniture and upholsery almost like a Bangkok massage parlor. I asked for a diiferent room and was promptly taken to another identical room on the same floor! Chose to stay in the same room instead, spend the night and check out the next morning instead of the 3 nights I had originally planned.
When I complained about the room, I was curtly told that they could upgrade me to the 'Valley' wing at double the cost.
Decided to pay 200 CNY extra instead and moved to the Ritz Carlton the next day. Much better rooms and felt like a luxury property.

Stay here only if you are willing to pay a premium to stay in the 'Valley' wing, or pay 60% of the rate and stay at the Ritz Carlton instead.

This hotel in an embarassment to the Shangri la chain and possibly the worst they have.

Btw, I ordered the curry of the day in room service for dinner. Most above avergae hotels have moved on to the concept of 'hot boxes' to transfer room service. Got a bowl of cold curry that would perhaps have been edible when warm - seemed like leftovers from the dinner buffet.

Having said all of this, I am a Golden Circle diamond loyalty member and a regular corporate patron of the group - and if I can't get average satisfaction, if you are a regular guest - you have no hope in hell!!!

Room Tip: Yes, don't choose one here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devsarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaBeijingMgmt, Digital Marketing Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Value Guest: thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Beijing and for taking the time to share your comments. We are very concerned about your negative experience on this visit with us and would very much like to further discuss the matter with you. Kindly contact our Resident Manager at hakan.ozel@shangri-la.com, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#36 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#102 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing