We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valley Wing is a must.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #37 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Valley Wing is a must.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in a room in the new valley wing. The room was excellent with all the amenities you could need and more. Service in the lounge was flawless. Really I cannot recommend any more the valley wing. It's worth the money. Breakfast was quick and delicious with a great selection. Amazing coffee and the inclusive drinks in the evening make this the best value room. I was so shocked to find that perrier jouet was included in the price.
Finally the new S.T.A.Y restaurant was without a doubt the best restaurant we visited in our 7 day stay. The dessert library is just amazing even if you don't stay this restaurant is a must.

I must admit that the location isnt the best but cabs are cheap I always got the hotel to ask the driver the rough price before setting off to minimise the driver driving in circles.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    664
    127
    18
    14
See reviews for
82
122
59
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

After a long flight from UK, Shangri-la was as its name suggests. Excellent service and rooms. Beautifully presented at all times. Evening buffet was excellent.
We stayed in four more 5star hotels in different cities in China after Shangri-la but none quite approached its overall quality.
Every member of staff was attentive and made us feel valued guests. Of particular note were the waiters and waitresses compared with other hotels. In the lounge/lobby they were extremely attentive and well-mannered, yet not "pushy". They all seemed to speak very good English.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have some great views of the cityscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liathach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Everything was really goos during my stay, just the room carpet needed some care, it had several stains.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Criscoterua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

I came here as a refugee from the poor service at the Marriott. I should have been here all along. OK it is slightly more expensive but the facilities and service are so much better.
Room was large and comfortable. Buffet restaurant outstanding but a little pricey. French / steak restaurant excellent. Lobby bar OK. I cheated and stayed in the Valley Wing.
Simply superb. I am a veteran of the old Taj Hotels and this is how it used to be. Like coming home.

Room Tip: Stretch to a room in the Valley Wing if you can. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was in China for a business trip, and I stayed at the Shangri-La Beijing Hotel for two nights (23-Sept to 25-Sept). My room was so beautiful - very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff greeted me as soon as I arrived to the hotel and assisted me with my bags immediately. They wanted to make my stay as relaxing as possible. Check-in actually took place in my room! Housekeeping came at least once a day. In-Room dining and hotel restaurants were great, regarding service and food. My airport transfers both ways were very relaxing. The Concierge was incredibly helpful with finding directions and calling taxis for me. Overall my stay was amazing - I don't have any suggestions for improvement. Will definitely stay there the next time I'm in town again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremelo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

As Trade lane manager for an European forwarder I spend app 3 month a year in China . I always go for Shangri-La hotels where available . Pudong has the best buffet, Hong Kong has a super staff,... but when syaing at their Beijing affiliate ,... this combines the best of it all !!! The staff is soooo helpful , friendly and extremely well in speaking English ... You cannot go wrong here . 5 stars is actually underrated , Try the lounge service ... One turns from a simple traveller into a real KING A++++++

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walterliekens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were in Beijing for a short business meeting, and arriving with a morning plane we had asked for an early checkin. "Sure, we'll try and do our best". When we arrived we were received impeccably, and offered the early room availability -- no mention of extra charges.

When we checked out the day after at 6:30 AM, we were billed for two nights, i.e. the early checkin was actually an extra night... With a taxi waiting outside there was no time to negotiate. Our subsequent complain was complacently met with "sorry, it was a mistake, we will reimburse it immediately". Well, the reimbursement never arrived. For me this is a predatory attitude that will prevent us to ever consider going back to the hotel. Stay away from it if you can.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,437 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#35 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#35 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#104 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing